Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: setting up a local domain in windows 2003

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    1

    setting up a local domain in windows 2003

    Helo,

    i have a slight problem. Im seeting up a win 2003 server and win xp clients.

    Im using the domain wizard to setup a local domain (AD, DNS, DHCP) automatically.

    the dhcp is on an external router not on win 2003.

    i am able to join the domain with the xp clients, but once i reboot, the xp clients do not see the domains any more. (lots of errors in the event logs on the clients, no errors on the server)

    ping on the server works. i have tried pointing gateway and dns on the xp clients to the win2003 server. no success.

    does anyone have an idea why its not working ? i have had this setup on win 2k server without problems.

    cheers
    busch09

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857
    Ideally you want DHCP to be running from your DC, not a router. If you did this same setup with a 2K server, you should have had the same problems back then also.

    Your errors are related to DNS. Back in the Win9X client days DNS was really only used for internet resolution...but with 2K Server with AD and DNS, and 2K or higher clients, DNS is now also used for name resolution within the network. If you have Win9X clients on the network you should add the WINS service to your server for proper Win9X name resolution.

    Lets assume the following network setup as an example.

    You have a router, lets say it's LAN IP is 192.168.1.1. That router is the gateway for your network, unless your running some proxy software on the server like ISA. But I'll assume you have a basic setup.

    Log onto your router, go to the status section, and write down the 2x DNS servers that your router obtains on the WAN port from your ISP.

    Your DC servers IP address is 192.168.1.11.

    First, you need to setup your servers TCP/IP properties correctly. Assuming the example,
    IP 192.168.1.11
    SNM 255.255.255.0
    GTWY 192.168.1.1
    DNS 192.168.1.11 (note you put it's own IP address in, so it looks up DNS to itself and reports in to itself...nothing else is put in here)
    WINS 192.168.1.11 (If you're running the WINS service, same reasoning as above)

    Now lets finish one more step on your DC...and that is to make sure the DNS service is setup with "forwarding". In your servers management console, drill down in the services...into your DNS service, right click your servers DNS object, properties, you'll see a Forwarding tab there. Remember when you looked at your routers status section, and wrote down the 2x DNS servers that your ISP was handing out? This is where you enter them.

    If you had another server on your network that is a member of this domain, it would have something like
    IP 192.168.1.12
    SNM 255.255.255.0
    GTWY 192.168.1.1
    DNS 192.168.1.11
    WINS 192.168.1.11

    Now your client workstations should be treated similarly, say your DHCP scope hands out addresses starting at .100 on up....they must use your DCs IP address as their one and only DNS server, and if you're running WINS for Win9X clients, the IP of the server running the WINS service.

    So a client workstations IP setup would look like the following,
    IP 192.168.1.100
    SNM 255.255.255.0
    GTWY 192.168.1.1
    DNS 192.168.1.11
    WINS 192.168.1.11

    Next workstation, 192.168.1.101....etc etc...

    Now since we setup the network this way, all requests are being made to your DC, it is the boss, it's answering everyone. And any requests for internet made that your DCs DNS service does not know, it will forward those requests onto your ISPs DNS servers and get the answer. Proper name resolution within the network should now occur.

    I have a feeling your clients were picking up the 2x ISP DNS servers from your routers DHCP service...which naturally don't know who/what your server/domain is. Hence lack of local name resolution.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1
    I would say : Thank very much!!! It might sound very dumb but I've been searching for weeks now and your answer solved the problem.
    The only prob I face now, is that my DHCP server does hand out the IP address as you specified but I cannot connect the internet. When I configure the gateway to be the DC it works like a charm.

    You have any explanation?

    Thank in advance and I'm not in a rush so take your time.

    Greetz
    STumpy

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,857
    Quote Originally Posted by Stumpy81 View Post
    I would say : Thank very much!!! It might sound very dumb but I've been searching for weeks now and your answer solved the problem.
    The only prob I face now, is that my DHCP server does hand out the IP address as you specified but I cannot connect the internet. When I configure the gateway to be the DC it works like a charm.

    You have any explanation?

    Thank in advance and I'm not in a rush so take your time.

    Greetz
    STumpy
    Sounds like you're running your server multi-homed? (dual NICs)
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Similar Threads

  1. Ping, but not connecting
    By dragon108 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-09-08, 10:41 AM
  2. Now here are some alarming stats on Windows 98 & 95
    By JawZ in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-13-03, 01:18 PM
  3. help a newbie pls?
    By curtcohbain in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-18-01, 09:54 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-20-01, 02:33 PM
  5. Cable modem nigtmares, connection loss
    By stevesc2 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 12-29-00, 11:11 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •