Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: I don't understand?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    I don't understand?

    I'm very new to this whole tweaking thing, infact this is the first time I've ever used an optimizer.
    The first day I used it I had great results. My net was flying along, everything was going smoothly. The next day my net had slowed down significantly, so I reset the optimizer using the basic settings and restarted my computer, didn't change anything. Over the past week and a half, I experience significant lag on webpages. (Images loading slow, slow refreshes, ect.) I check my bandwidth and it's usually running around 2mpbs to almost 4mbps, but there's this really annoying lag. I had changed Firefox to make multiple connection requests before I have downloaded the optimizer, but it didn't seem to be very effective anymore. So I followed the guide listed on the, "Tips on Tweaking" board to make web pages load faster, and took out the Firefox tweak last night. Still no change, still experiencing lag.
    Could anyone explain why bandwidth tests show my net is running faster than it was without the optimizer, but when I'm actually browsing webpages it's running slower with the optimizer?
    Any help is greatly appreciated.



    Using comcast cable.
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7.6) Gecko/20050225 Firefox/1.0.1
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.
    TCP options string = 020405b40103030201010402
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.
    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.
    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 256960
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 2 bits (scale factor of 4)
    Unscaled Receive Window = 64240

    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 10278.4 kbps (1284.8 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 4111.36 kbps (513.92 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 50 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000 (0)

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    your rwin looks high try thease

    Try thease in the sg optmizer below me to download and install

    check - custom settings
    network adapter selection -
    check modify all adapters
    maxmtu 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window 64240
    MTU Discovery - yes
    Black Hole Detect - no
    Selective Acks - yes
    Max Dup ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 windowsnothings checked
    Other Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    Lan Browsing Speedup - optimized
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect.

    1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need.

    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections -
    LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.

    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer. Set your NIC duplex mode to 10mb half duplex for Cable, for DSL it is ISP dependent unless you are using a router, if so then set it to 100mb full duplex for both Cable & DSL (the instructions are in my Help & Tips link). If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.

    4. Clear your temporary internet files.

    5. Power cycle your modem, unplug it for atleast 15 seconds.

    6. Download and update then do a scan with SpyBot http://beam.to/spybotsd & Ad Aware http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster to stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES.

    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in Read1st link.

    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it then visit Zonelabs.com for further instructions on removing it's left over junk.

    9. Install Outpost Firewall http://www.agnitum.com\ or Sygate Firewall http://www.sygate.com/ , both have FREE and Pro versions and are heads above ZA.

    10. Scan for viruses with your antivirus app, if you do not have one get one IMMEDIATELY, AVG 6.0 http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_dwnl_free.php is an excellent FREE AV app.

    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4
    Ok, so I changed my settings on the optimzier. Again, it worked for a little while, now I'm back to having lag while surfing the web. Today my cable connection is around 2.9 mpbs, but seem's to be running even slower than dsl, which was connecting around 1.5 mpbs.

    I've done everything you listed, except my cable is connected through usb. I have no idea how to even begin installing ethernet, but I know I don't have the correct jack in my computer to connect the ethernet line.

  4. #4
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    http://www.pcpitstop.com/internet/tracert.asp take this test and let me know if you see any other color then green and where you see that other color

    Installing a network card you need a ethernet card pci slot and a ethernet cat 5 cable you unscrew the case when the power is off on the computer put the network card in the pci slot usually is white not always then make sure the card is fully seated in the slot screw it in on the side of the case put case cover on trun the computer install the drivers for the network card put ethernet cable in network card to your computer your done.
    Comptia a+ n+

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4
    Took the test and I see two yellow/brown bars at Hop# 5 & 6, two yellow/brown bars at Hop# 8 & 9, and seven long red lines from Hop# 10 to 16.

    I take it I can pick up a network card at pretty much any computer related stores?

  6. #6
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    yep the card can be purchased anywhere however it appears that your isp is having promblems on there end not urs so the network card can wait it does help though
    Comptia a+ n+

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4
    Alright.
    Well hopefully they fix whatever is needing fixing soon. Thank you for all your help.

    Oh! BTW- could my problems with lag just be high traffic of Comcast subscribers in my area?

  8. #8
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    it's possable i doubt it since you had promblems from hop5 and lower
    Comptia a+ n+

Similar Threads

  1. I'll never understand women
    By blacklab in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-21-04, 04:04 PM
  2. Do animals understand eachother?
    By EvilAjax in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-04-03, 07:38 AM
  3. BF 1942 - don't understand the hype
    By reverse in forum Gaming
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 09-17-02, 02:53 PM
  4. OK, let's see if I understand this
    By mikemean in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-04-02, 05:13 PM
  5. I Don't Understand...Help Please
    By SnotRocket in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-26-01, 11:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •