Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: built myself a new gamming rig.

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast Rings890's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Posts
    1,035

    built myself a new gamming rig.

    This has been my project for the last couple of weeks, money and spair time were in short supply.

    The NastySasky
    The NastySasky:
    Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 GHz| eVGA X58 SLI | 12gigs Dominator XMS3 1600 | 2 ASUS ENGTX 470's | Intel X25 120Gig SSD + 2 WD Black 500's | Pioneer DVD/RW | LG Blu-Ray Writer | Antec 1000Watt | WarMachine M1 Case

  2. #2
    Broke
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Northern AB, CA
    Posts
    13,506
    Looks good, tight squeeze. Hows the temps in the case?

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Rings890's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Posts
    1,035
    Under heavy load (during long stints of HL2) cpu=45 to 50 chipset=50ish vid=54 to 56 case=30 to 32ish all in Celcius.
    The NastySasky:
    Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 GHz| eVGA X58 SLI | 12gigs Dominator XMS3 1600 | 2 ASUS ENGTX 470's | Intel X25 120Gig SSD + 2 WD Black 500's | Pioneer DVD/RW | LG Blu-Ray Writer | Antec 1000Watt | WarMachine M1 Case

  4. #4
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Question which any builder may be able to answer here.. I'm building a comp now I haven't really fooled with any newer stuff for like years prob since 1997. So what I'm wondering is when I get everything installed and flip the power on what am I to expect at this point on the screen? The bios screen perhaps asking me to set certain things up? I'm just not sure since I've the last computer I've built was back years ago and I'm running the same mobo you used. Going to have Dual DVD+everything drives exactly the same,the same raptor you used, 2gigs of ballistix, etc etc.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    8,073
    Thats a great job Rings! Looks good too! Im wishing I woulda got a raptor for my recent build.
    Hey Butt man. Usually the first time you boot up you want to hit the del key to get in the bios and "Load setup defaults". Then Tweak the bios the way your hardware needs and how you like it then go from there.
    She's presenting like a mandrill!

  6. #6
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700
    Question which any builder may be able to answer here.. I'm building a comp now I haven't really fooled with any newer stuff for like years prob since 1997. So what I'm wondering is when I get everything installed and flip the power on what am I to expect at this point on the screen? The bios screen perhaps asking me to set certain things up? I'm just not sure since I've the last computer I've built was back years ago and I'm running the same mobo you used. Going to have Dual DVD+everything drives exactly the same,the same raptor you used, 2gigs of ballistix, etc etc.

    the first thing i do is go into the bios and check the temps and voltages, then go through every page and set what i need to, read the manual a few times first to get an idea on what to look for.

    Rings890, that sure does look like a tight squeeze, well done

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast Rings890's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Saskatchewan, CANADA
    Posts
    1,035
    Quote Originally Posted by Sava700
    So what I'm wondering is when I get everything installed and flip the power on what am I to expect at this point on the screen? The bios screen perhaps asking me to set certain things up? I'm just not sure since I've the last computer I've built was back years ago and I'm running the same mobo you used. Going to have Dual DVD+everything drives exactly the same,the same raptor you used, 2gigs of ballistix, etc etc.
    Thanks everyone, I had a lot of fun building this one, sometimes very frustrating though. worth it in the end.

    When you first fire that bad boy up you will get the standard post beep, the lanparty default screen will appear, hit the "Delete" key to enter the BIOS. as allready stated check your system temps and if everything looks good go with the default BIOS values. I am sure as you have noticed the manual that comes with the LanParty nf4 SLI-DR is very lacking, I guess the idea was that this was an enthusiests board and we would know what we wanted. I think the only things I set was the boot order and I turned off the DFI logo at boot up. everything else I left at defaut. I am gona let it run for a month before I start messing with settings. Also use the orange ram slots if you are using dual channel memory, something about T1 vs T2 settings in memory allocations or something like that.
    Good luck & enjoy. these mobos FLY!
    The NastySasky:
    Intel i7 930 @ 2.8 GHz| eVGA X58 SLI | 12gigs Dominator XMS3 1600 | 2 ASUS ENGTX 470's | Intel X25 120Gig SSD + 2 WD Black 500's | Pioneer DVD/RW | LG Blu-Ray Writer | Antec 1000Watt | WarMachine M1 Case

  8. #8
    Ohh Hell yeah.. Sava700's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    24,052
    Quote Originally Posted by Rings890
    Thanks everyone, I had a lot of fun building this one, sometimes very frustrating though. worth it in the end.

    When you first fire that bad boy up you will get the standard post beep, the lanparty default screen will appear, hit the "Delete" key to enter the BIOS. as allready stated check your system temps and if everything looks good go with the default BIOS values. I am sure as you have noticed the manual that comes with the LanParty nf4 SLI-DR is very lacking, I guess the idea was that this was an enthusiests board and we would know what we wanted. I think the only things I set was the boot order and I turned off the DFI logo at boot up. everything else I left at defaut. I am gona let it run for a month before I start messing with settings. Also use the orange ram slots if you are using dual channel memory, something about T1 vs T2 settings in memory allocations or something like that.
    Good luck & enjoy. these mobos FLY!
    Ok thanks yall two.. I may call upon ya for some issue suggestions if I run into them.

  9. #9
    TV Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,815
    To me that is a nicest custom computer I have ever seen.. its so beautiful!
    .

  10. #10
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,230
    Very nice job, i'm always in awe when i see someone put so much effort and care when building a system, making sure things look nice along the way. makes me jealous b/c i just slap all my crap in any old case and try to fire it up as quickly as possbible. I really like the desktop case you chose too. I have been considering going back to a desktop case to save even more desk space and give me the added convienence of having everything right in front.

  11. #11
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,253
    Beautiful, looks great.

Similar Threads

  1. Computer I built for parents
    By Joel in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-22-04, 07:55 PM
  2. GAMMING tweaks please?
    By KnightPredator in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 03-01-03, 03:22 PM
  3. Gamming server question
    By gmcd33 in forum Gaming
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-10-01, 03:13 PM
  4. Cable Modem with Built in Firewall?
    By eirinmc in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-01, 11:37 PM
  5. New OS, Built for Gamers
    By Kagemushka in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-02-01, 05:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •