Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: My connection is much slow after tweak

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4

    My connection is much slow after tweak

    Hello !

    I am french, sorry for my bad english.

    I have problems with my 56 k connection.
    After tweak with this file what i have found on :
    http://www.pc-boost.com/prog/base_re...dem56k_w2k.zip
    My connection is much slow than before !

    After search for connections tweaks, i have found your great website
    and i have follow step by step the post for 56k tweaks here :
    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=68127

    But my connection is always slow !

    I see you my connection details :

    My isp is Wanadoo France and i have a 56 k v92 connection

    My tcp/ip parameters :

    TCP options string = 020405b401010402
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.
    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.
    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 8760
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 8760

    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 350.4 kbps (43.8 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 140.16 kbps (17.52 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    Consider increasing your RWIN value to optimize TCP/IP for broadband.
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 116 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 01011100 (92)

    Precedence (priority) = 010 (immediate)
    Delay = 1 (low delay)
    Throughput = 1 (high throughput)
    Reliability = 1 (high reliability)
    Cost = 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit = 0 (correct, 8th checking bit must be zero)

    DiffServ (RFC 2474) = No valid DiffServ equivalent. See RFCs 2474, 2475, 2597, 2598, 2873.

    I am on Windows Xp Pro Sp2

    I have doing a connexion test on :
    http://www.60millions-mag.com/page/b...1_le_testeur./

    Before any tweaks = down : 38 - up : 30
    After last tweaks = down : 23 - up : 26

    I don't understand, what can i do ?

    Precision : with TCP Optimizer, i can't change my mtu because my modem PEABIRD V92 PCI is not recognized, is it normal ?

    Thanks by advance for your replies

    Josselin

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    with dial up there isn't whole alot you can do line quailty distance from the phone switching equipment form your house to them etc etc alot of factor try thease

    Try thease in the sg optmizer below me to download and install

    check - custom settings
    network adapter selection -
    check modify all adapters
    maxmtu 576
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window blank
    MTU Discovery - yes
    Black Hole Detect - no
    Selective Acks - yes
    Max Dup ACKs - 2
    TCP 1323 windows scailing is checked
    Other Settings tab:
    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    Lan Browsing Speedup - optimized
    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect.

    1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need.

    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections -
    LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.

    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer. Set your NIC duplex mode to 10mb half duplex for Cable, for DSL it is ISP dependent unless you are using a router, if so then set it to 100mb full duplex for both Cable & DSL (the instructions are in my Help & Tips link). If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.

    4. Clear your temporary internet files.

    5. Power cycle your modem, unplug it for atleast 15 seconds.

    6. Download and update then do a scan with SpyBot http://beam.to/spybotsd & Ad Aware http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster to stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES.

    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in Read1st link.

    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it then visit Zonelabs.com for further instructions on removing it's left over junk.

    9. Install Outpost Firewall http://www.agnitum.com\ or Sygate Firewall http://www.sygate.com/ , both have FREE and Pro versions and are heads above ZA.

    10. Scan for viruses with your antivirus app, if you do not have one get one IMMEDIATELY, AVG 6.0 http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_dwnl_free.php is an excellent FREE AV app.

    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks to you to try to help me !

    Here is my new tcp rapport :

    Browser/OS = Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; fr-FR; rv:1.7.8) Gecko/20050511 Firefox/1.0.4
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.
    TCP options string = 020405b40103030001010402
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.
    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.
    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 8760
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 8760

    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 350.4 kbps (43.8 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 140.16 kbps (17.52 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    Consider increasing your RWIN value to optimize TCP/IP for broadband.
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 52 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 01011100 (92)

    Precedence (priority) = 010 (immediate)
    Delay = 1 (low delay)
    Throughput = 1 (high throughput)
    Reliability = 1 (high reliability)
    Cost = 0 (normal cost)
    Check bit = 0 (correct, 8th checking bit must be zero)

    DiffServ (RFC 2474) = No valid DiffServ equivalent. See RFCs 2474, 2475, 2597, 2598, 2873.

    I have doing all what you say but the mtu wasn't change because my modem isn't recognized by tcp optimizer...

    My new connection test :
    down : 21 - up : 24

    It is depressing !

    How can i change the MTU manually in the registery base ?

    I precise my modem make 3 connections operations before connecting, it is enough irritating...

    Thanks for your help

    Josselin

  4. #4
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    did you reboot after apply changes just checking?? http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;826159 follow this to change 576
    Comptia a+ n+

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4
    Thanks for your reply mccoffee and yes, after any parameters i change, i reboot my pc too apply new changes.

    I finally succeeded to change my mtu to 576.

    But that don't change anything !

    I am lazzy of this connection, i think i will reinstall windows because original parameters of windows works good with my connection...

    Have you any last tips or suggestions before do that ?

    thanks josselin

  6. #6
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    i wouldn't reinstall windows that's kinda dreatic i would just remove the connection and create a new one should set everything back to defaults.
    Comptia a+ n+

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    4
    I have already tryed to make a new connection and reinstall my modem too.
    But no change...

    I think re install windows it is the only exit to have a good connection

Similar Threads

  1. slow internet connection
    By phreakFLiEr in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-18-03, 09:29 AM
  2. Very slow connection
    By phreakFLiEr in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-15-03, 10:57 AM
  3. Slow one-way connection between Laptop/Desktop (XP/Me)
    By kerjy in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-02, 02:25 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-27-01, 11:29 PM
  5. Slow upload over a shared connection
    By jailbird in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-26-00, 11:11 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •