Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: TCP Optimzier 2 - Final Version Released !

  1. #1
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6

    TCP Optimzier 2 - Final Version Released !

    We've just released the final version 2 of the TCP Optimizer. It includes a number of new features, as well as some bug fixes since version 1.

    We've worked out all known bugs in the program during the public beta testing. Here is a direct link to the final version:

    http://www.speedguide.net/files/TCPOptimizer.exe

    We've also added online documentation with this release, accessible from within the program, and directly from here: http://www.speedguide.net/tcpoptimizer.php




    P.S. You can view any past issues, and list of updates in the beta testing thread here: http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=176620

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2
    Hi,
    I'm having the same problem as a beta tester with an nVidia adapter - TCP Optimizer doesn't list my network card either. I'm running with versin 2.0.0. I have an onboard adapter.

    Entries under HKLM/Software/Microsoft/Windows NT/CurrentVersion/NetworkCards show one folder, named 2, which seems to be my 1394 adapter.

    System Info lists my network adapter as:
    Name [00000009] NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Adapter Type Ethernet 802.3
    Product Type NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Installed Yes
    PNP Device ID {1A3E09BE-1E45-494B-9174-D7385B45BBF5}\NVNET_DEV0057\4&349D6C1B&0&01
    Last Reset 06/05/2005 09:49
    Index 9
    Service Name NVENETFD
    IP Address XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX (modified for privacy)
    IP Subnet 255.255.255.0
    Default IP Gateway XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX (modified for privacy)
    DHCP Enabled No
    DHCP Server Not Available
    DHCP Lease Expires Not Available
    DHCP Lease Obtained Not Available
    MAC Address 00:04:61:8D:00:1C
    Driver c:\windows\system32\drivers\nvenetfd.sys (1.00.00.0475, 32.63 KB (33,408 bytes), 26/04/2005 00:23)

    Hope this helps.

    Quote Originally Posted by Virgo
    TCP Optimzier 2 Final Version doesn't list NIC.
    I have MSI 7125 Board, my network card NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller.

    Thanks!

  3. #3
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Thanks for the feedback bardcom, we'll look into it.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2

    problems

    im also having problems after i download your optimzier and do everything as i had done before and restart my comp i cannot connect to the internet at all it worked for me before just fine but i had to reformat my comp and now it wont work at all please help

  5. #5
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by krashin
    im also having problems after i download your optimzier and do everything as i had done before and restart my comp i cannot connect to the internet at all it worked for me before just fine but i had to reformat my comp and now it wont work at all please help
    It is unlikely for the Optimizer to have such an effect. The Optimizer makes an automatic backup of your current settings when you run in initially. Start the program again, navigate to "File > Restore backed up settings" and choose the backup (something like: sg_backup_2005-05-11-0903.spg). It will revert all the changed settings to their prior state/values.

  6. #6
    Junior Member ErikPaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    31
    I have seen it not work at all on WinME.. put the slide bar up to 4000 and reboot and then no connect. have to revert back to old settings.. might want to look into that. Working fine before changes... then change from 3000 to 4000 reboot and then no surf.
    Thanks

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    2
    I know you're busy and all. Just wondering if you've made any progress, or if you need me to send you any further info....

  8. #8

    Helppp !!!!!

    I have a huge problem. After installing and using TCP Optimizer on my computer, I reccommended it to a friend. I use XP and I was unaware that he uses ME. After he downloaded and started using the program, he set it to "optimal settings" and applied them by rebooting his computer. However, aftre the computer restarted, the internet connection was lost. He has a cable modem, Optimum Online service and I will try to get as many specs as possible as soon as I can. But for now, is there anything I can do to restore the internet ? It doesn't matter the speed, but the connection is all I need. I've tried to ping the modem, but there is no response. I also tried to revert back to all rprevious settings, but to no avail. I have no idea what is wrong and would like to fix this problem as soon as possible (especially because the internet is especially needed lately) and would appreciate any tips. Please e-mail me at muzicfreak2k3yahoo.com or respond to this post if you have ANY tips at all. Thank you.

  9. #9
    Junior Member ErikPaco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    31
    Yeah I tried it on a 98se machine and it did the same. So ME and 98se the optimizer is no good.. Muzic I used an older version of the optimizer and set it to optimal settings and rebooted and it was fine.
    Last edited by ErikPaco; 05-14-05 at 08:54 AM.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    17
    It seems like the "LAN Browsing speedup" always display "Default" on my PC.
    I've set it to "Optimized" but whenever I reopen the app it displays "Default".
    It got the other settings right.

    Is it possible to make the slider remember its last position?

    So TCP Optimizer 2 is only for Windows 2000 and above?

  11. #11
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by muzicfreak
    I have a huge problem. After installing and using TCP Optimizer on my computer, I reccommended it to a friend. I use XP and I was unaware that he uses ME. After he downloaded and started using the program, he set it to "optimal settings" and applied them by rebooting his computer. However, aftre the computer restarted, the internet connection was lost. He has a cable modem, Optimum Online service and I will try to get as many specs as possible as soon as I can. But for now, is there anything I can do to restore the internet ? It doesn't matter the speed, but the connection is all I need. I've tried to ping the modem, but there is no response. I also tried to revert back to all rprevious settings, but to no avail. I have no idea what is wrong and would like to fix this problem as soon as possible (especially because the internet is especially needed lately) and would appreciate any tips. Please e-mail me at muzicfreak2k3yahoo.com or respond to this post if you have ANY tips at all. Thank you.
    In the Optimizer, please try: File Menu > Restore Backed up settings > choose the .spg file that was created by the Optimizer originally with all his settings. Please let me know if that restores the connection.

    If not, please try the Optimal settings in the Optimizer version 1, and let me know if that fixes it. Your help with this is greatly appreciated and will help troubleshoot the issue. Here is a link to the Optimizer v1 as well.

  12. #12
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by iron2000
    It seems like the "LAN Browsing speedup" always display "Default" on my PC.
    I've set it to "Optimized" but whenever I reopen the app it displays "Default".
    It got the other settings right.

    Is it possible to make the slider remember its last position?

    So TCP Optimizer 2 is only for Windows 2000 and above?
    Try the above. In the Optimizer: File Menu > Restore Backed up settings > choose the .spg file that was created by the Optimizer originally. Does that restore the connection ?

    If not, please try the Optimal settings in the Optimizer version 1, and let me know if that fixes it. Your help with this is greatly appreciated and will help troubleshoot the issue. Here is a link to the Optimizer v1 as well.

  13. #13
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by iron2000
    It seems like the "LAN Browsing speedup" always display "Default" on my PC.
    I've set it to "Optimized" but whenever I reopen the app it displays "Default".
    It got the other settings right.

    Is it possible to make the slider remember its last position?

    So TCP Optimizer 2 is only for Windows 2000 and above?
    We'll look into those with the next version (which might be soon, if people keep having issues with nForce NICs and Windows ME/9x).

    No, it is designed to work with all Windowx 9x + versions. We did some changes since version 1 to accomodate some issues in a Novell Netware environment, which might have affected some other users. We're looking into it, and all descriptive feedback and testing is appreciated.

  14. #14
    chaicka
    Guest

    Wink

    Hi SG,

    I would like to feedback on the TCPOptimizer v2.0 which has seen some good and promising improvements.

    However, the limit to set the "Connection Speed" to only 10000Kbps is falling short of how broadband scene has changed recently, esp. in Singapore.

    Over here, we have just seen the commercial launch of among the world's fastest cable broadband service available - 25,000Kbps...yes, it's 25MBit/s plan. Details can be found here -> http://www.starhub.com/online/maxonline/index.html

    As such, it would be great to see the next release of TCPOptimizer to extend to support such high speed broadband. I believe many users will benefit from it. Currently, users on such high speed broadband service is not able to maximize their connection due to the limitation of the Windows OS. Manual tweaking is not for every users, esp. those without IT knowledge/background, thus tools like TCPOptimizer is of great importance and usefulness to this group of users.

    Sincerely hope to see the next release out soon...Cheers.

  15. #15
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    If anyone is having problems with connectivity after using version 2 of the Optimizer. Please, from within the program File menu, "Export Current Settings" both before you apply any changes, and after applying the settings. Then email me both .spg files at philip at speedguide.net. Please also include your Windows version. Your assistance with tracking down such problems would be greatly appreciated. We don't have the resources to troubleshoot in all possible environments and hardware setups without your help.


    P.S. Also, please try to manually enter DefaultTTL=64 in "Custom settings" mode and let me know if that restores connectivity. Thanks in advance.

  16. #16
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    The executable has been patched to fix the Windows 98 bug we found. We will also release a new 2.0.1 version with some of the suggestions from this thread implemented, as well as a couple of bug fixes within the next few days.

  17. #17
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,363
    Blog Entries
    6
    Thread closed since there is a newer version of the program available with most of the issues fixed.

Similar Threads

  1. Win XP SP1 version 1105
    By Lobo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-14-02, 10:18 AM
  2. Wow.....L.A.M.E finally release's a final version...3.90
    By downhill in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-24-01, 10:47 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-01, 08:46 AM
  4. Being That This Is The Final Version Of The UBB.....
    By Prey521 in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-28-01, 03:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •