Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Micron vs. Kingston PC3200 RAM - Any difference?

  1. #1
    Cabledude Avatar Fan purecomedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,354

    Micron vs. Kingston PC3200 RAM - Any difference?

    At my local store I can get 512 MB PC3200 Kingston RAM for $65 or 512 MB PC3200 of Micron RAM for $90. If I am not overclocking the machine or anything like that, will I see any difference at all if I buy the cheaper Kingston RAM? By the way, I count any difference of less than 2% as no difference.

  2. #2
    Forum Techie A_old's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    10,663
    both are fine manufacturers. simply check the cas latency on both and pickup whichever is lower (the goal is 2 at pc3200)

  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    check latency and make sure they have a lifetime warranty.

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,893
    Yeah...quality.

    I'd take Micron/Crucial any day...it's pretty much the only brand I'd pay for. If you want crazy overclocking...Crucials Ballistix line.

    Kingston...couldn't pay me to use it.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    Elite Member ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,599
    A small difference in latency will not be noticeable to the end user in a non-overclocked environment. From a technical standpoint, however, you guys are correct.

  6. #6
    Elite Member ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,599
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Yeah...quality.

    I'd take Micron/Crucial any day...it's pretty much the only brand I'd pay for. If you want crazy overclocking...Crucials Ballistix line.

    Kingston...couldn't pay me to use it.
    That's a pretty bold statement about Kingston, since they have a good reputation. What happened?

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    Quote Originally Posted by ghost
    That's a pretty bold statement about Kingston, since they have a good reputation. What happened?

    Kingston is like name brand generic LOL


    Same as PNY.

  8. #8
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,893
    Quote Originally Posted by ghost
    That's a pretty bold statement about Kingston, since they have a good reputation. What happened?
    IMO they never had a good reputation...always an entry level brand to me, right next to PNY and stuff like that. See them in bargain catalogs such as Tigersystems, etc. Can't tell you how many Kingston sticks I've tossed in the trash for being faulty. Same level as Maxtor HDs.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #9
    Cabledude Avatar Fan purecomedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,354
    Hehe 2 opposite answers. StonerCat seems to have a lot of experience so I trust him. I've also noticed from personal experience that Maxtor drives are crap. Maxtor drives are cheaper than other brands, so is Kingston. You get what you pay for is the lesson I guess.

    I'd be interested to know more about the CAS latency and it's effect on performance. I would have thought that only skipping 2 cycles instead of 3 would be huge for performance. Wouldn't it make the memory react 33% faster if it was CAS 2? If you were maxing out bandwidth I don't think it would matter though.

  10. #10
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,253
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    IMO they never had a good reputation...always an entry level brand to me, right next to PNY and stuff like that. See them in bargain catalogs such as Tigersystems, etc. Can't tell you how many Kingston sticks I've tossed in the trash for being faulty. Same level as Maxtor HDs.
    Yet you seem to love Linksys routers

  11. #11
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,893
    Quote Originally Posted by wee96
    Yet you seem to love Linksys routers
    For the "Under 100 dollar market"...yup. Not everyone can spend 400 bucks on a PIX501 or Sonicwall TZO. Ya know? Yet Crucial memory is usually equal in price to "off the shelf" brands, or even less expensive because you can purchase direct instead of padding the wallets of 2 tiers of wholesalers/retails, why not?

    How many hundreds of routers and sticks of RAM, including pretty much every brand, have gone through my hands to form that opinion?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  12. #12
    Cabledude Avatar Fan purecomedy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,354
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    For the "Under 100 dollar market"...yup. Not everyone can spend 400 bucks on a PIX501 or Sonicwall TZO. Ya know? Yet Crucial memory is usually equal in price to "off the shelf" brands, or even less expensive because you can purchase direct instead of padding the wallets of 2 tiers of wholesalers/retails, why not?

    How many hundreds of routers and sticks of RAM, including pretty much every brand, have gone through my hands to form that opinion?
    This is a somewhat narrow opinion in that Crucial only does the free shipping thing to the USA. So when I ask the question in the context of non-USA locations I think it's fair to say that PC3200 RAM prices for Micron/Crucial are different than some of the "entry level" brand names. The price to ship it is $13 U.S for a $50 stick of ram for christ sake it's ridiculous considering it's free in the USA. Give us the option to ship it for free and take 5 days, why only offer fast expensive shipping outside the US?

  13. #13

  14. #14
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,893
    Quote Originally Posted by purecomedy
    This is a somewhat narrow opinion in that Crucial only does the free shipping thing to the USA.
    And if you purchase it through other venders who do their own shipping? ///shrug/// 15 bucks for shipping something as important to memory wouldn't sway me. If some no-name memory was sold by the local mom and pop clone shop down the street for me at 39 dollars, or if I had to purchase quality memory for 139 dollars and spend 20 bucks to ship it to me...it's still a no brainer for me.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  15. #15
    I'm White wee96's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    9,253
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    For the "Under 100 dollar market"...yup. Not everyone can spend 400 bucks on a PIX501 or Sonicwall TZO. Ya know? Yet Crucial memory is usually equal in price to "off the shelf" brands, or even less expensive because you can purchase direct instead of padding the wallets of 2 tiers of wholesalers/retails, why not?

    How many hundreds of routers and sticks of RAM, including pretty much every brand, have gone through my hands to form that opinion?
    I was joking with you bud I always do that.

  16. #16
    Elite Member ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,599
    Quote Originally Posted by purecomedy
    Hehe 2 opposite answers. StonerCat seems to have a lot of experience so I trust him. I've also noticed from personal experience that Maxtor drives are crap. Maxtor drives are cheaper than other brands, so is Kingston. You get what you pay for is the lesson I guess.

    I'd be interested to know more about the CAS latency and it's effect on performance. I would have thought that only skipping 2 cycles instead of 3 would be huge for performance. Wouldn't it make the memory react 33% faster if it was CAS 2? If you were maxing out bandwidth I don't think it would matter though.
    I believe Cat myself, he has more experience than I. I was always under the impression that Kingston RAM was a notch above the generic stuff, never had a problem with it. Hell, I used to sell it, along side the generic stuff, and never had any come back. Not one.

    About the latency, look at it this way: 33% of x-number of nanoseconds in question is still undetectable to humans.

  17. #17
    Elite Member ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,599
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Crucial is still the best for non-overclocked comps, with this I do agree.

  18. #18
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,893
    Quote Originally Posted by ghost
    Crucial is still the best for non-overclocked comps, with this I do agree.
    Quite honestly I never had a problem overclocking with Crucial either. I have one rig with a P4 2.6 running at 3.38. That's not too shabby. Another rig, 3.0 running at 3.4...but I've found this particular 3.0 processor doesn't take to OC'ing much, because I slapped my 2.6 into this rig and got it to 3.38 no problems. All my rigs going back in time even to the classic Pentium days...always OC'd them quite high.

    I agree I guess I'll say Kingston is a notch above generic. I've just seen too many times when we determined the RAM was bad, and it's been Kingston RAM. I've never been burned by Crucial, and it's as problem free as I've ever seen.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  19. #19
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Quite honestly I never had a problem overclocking with Crucial either. I have one rig with a P4 2.6 running at 3.38. That's not too shabby. Another rig, 3.0 running at 3.4...but I've found this particular 3.0 processor doesn't take to OC'ing much, because I slapped my 2.6 into this rig and got it to 3.38 no problems. All my rigs going back in time even to the classic Pentium days...always OC'd them quite high.


    Ya i've seen a bunch of people oc with crucial ram, but its a risk cuz its not garanteed, i'd rather spend the extra cash on the ballistix line and know for sure its gonna fly up there.

  20. #20
    Elite Member ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,599
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Quite honestly I never had a problem overclocking with Crucial either. I have one rig with a P4 2.6 running at 3.38. That's not too shabby. Another rig, 3.0 running at 3.4...but I've found this particular 3.0 processor doesn't take to OC'ing much, because I slapped my 2.6 into this rig and got it to 3.38 no problems. All my rigs going back in time even to the classic Pentium days...always OC'd them quite high.

    I agree I guess I'll say Kingston is a notch above generic. I've just seen too many times when we determined the RAM was bad, and it's been Kingston RAM. I've never been burned by Crucial, and it's as problem free as I've ever seen.
    My main PC is using plain Jane PC3200 Crucial RAM, and it's 2.4 -> 3.0GHz. I would expect to get 3.2 out of some good Corsair, OCZ, etc.

Similar Threads

  1. difference between ddr ram and sd ram?
    By velvta in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-20-01, 11:18 AM
  2. anyone know the difference between Revision 1.5 and 2 mushkin ram?
    By Crimson in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-00, 06:42 PM
  3. Difference between CL=2 & CL=4 RAM?
    By magg in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-00, 04:47 PM
  4. Micron RAM
    By freckmoto in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-13-00, 02:51 PM
  5. whats difference between cas2 and cas3 latency ram?
    By Crimson in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-06-00, 07:26 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •