Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Hi - just upgraded- now need to tweak Cablenut

  1. #1
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16

    Hi - just upgraded- now need to tweak Cablenut

    I just upgraded to Adelphia premier!

    I have about 560 up and 4000 down.

    Now I was wondering since I use cablenut- and there isn't a corresponding tweak file for that speed- what should I use?

    I'd like to tweak it for those speeds. Right now closest for pre-config tweak files is-

    3500 384.css

    I'd like to get one closer to my speed.. 560 up in actual tests- up to 4000 in actual tests..

    I will put the values in manually if I have to-
    Also I have a Motorola SB5100 and an RP614v2 router with one PC (ethernet)

    Thanks.


    Edit-
    also is there a certain way I should apply the settings?
    do I have to do it with modem off and unplugged? Also what temp files should I delete directly before applying tweak??


    EDIT2
    I just realized there is a newer version of cablenut out- I am using 4.02 now and 4.08 is available- so I am gong to download and install that. If there isn't a .css file for my speed, maybe a tweaking guru here can help me out a little.
    Last edited by BWX232; 02-13-05 at 12:30 AM.

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    DefaultReceiveWindow 512000
    DefaultSendWindow = 98304
    DisableAddressSharing = 1
    InitialLargeBufferCount = 100
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 240
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 320
    LargeBufferSize = 81920
    MaxFastTransmit = 64000
    MediumBufferSize = 15040
    PriorityBoost = 0
    SmallBufferSize = 1280
    TransmitWorker = 32
    FastSendDatagramThreshold = 4096
    EnableFastRouteLookup = 1
    EnablePMTUDiscovery = 1
    IgnorePushBitOnReceives = 0
    GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize = 32768
    MaxFreeTcbs = 8000
    MaxHashTableSize = 16384
    MaxNormLookupMemory = 5000000
    SackOpts = 1
    SynAttackProtect = 1
    Tcp1323Opts =0
    TcpLogLevel = 1
    TcpMaxDupAcks = 3
    TcpMaxHalfOpen = 100
    TcpMaxHalfOpenRetried = 80
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1452
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1452
    TcpTimedWaitDelay = 30
    TcpUseRFC1122UrgentPointer = 0
    TcpWindowSize =32768
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server = 20
    MaxConnectionsPerServer = 10
    DefaultTTL = 64
    DisableUserTOSSetting = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 6
    DefaultTOSValue = 92




    1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need.



    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections -

    LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.



    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer. Set your NIC duplex mode to 10mb half duplex for Cable, for DSL it is ISP dependent unless you are using a router, if so then set it to 100mb full duplex for both Cable & DSL (the instructions are in my Help & Tips link). If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.



    4. Clear your temporary internet files.



    5. Power cycle your modem, unplug it for atleast 15 seconds.



    6. Download and update then do a scan with SpyBot 1.2 http://beam.to/spybotsd & Ad Aware 6.0 http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster to stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES.



    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in Read1st link.



    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it then visit Zonelabs.com for further instructions on removing it's left over junk.



    9. Install Outpost Firewall http://www.agnitum.com\ or Sygate Firewall http://www.sygate.com/ , both have FREE and Pro versions and are heads above ZA.



    10. Scan for viruses with your antivirus app, if you do not have one get one IMMEDIATELY, AVG 6.0 http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_dwnl_free.php is an excellent FREE AV app.



    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    Cool, all the other things are already taken care of : )


    I just did some more testing (haven't applied the above cablenut tweaks yet)and realize I can achieve about
    --563 Kbps-- --(about 0.6 Mbps)-- --69 KB/s-- UP....
    I am thinking it might even go faster..


    Thanks for the tips- I will adjust the settings and see what happens!



    :::.. Upload Stats ..:::
    Connection is:: 568 Kbps about 0.6 Mbps (tested with 579 KB)
    Upload Speed is:: 69 KB/s
    Tested From:: http://www.testmy.net/
    Test Time:: Sun Feb 13 00:56:49 EST 2005
    Bottom Line:: 10X faster than 56K 1MB upload in 14.84 sec
    Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/id-TQ3I1YU4B


    Now I am going to do the tweaks........
    Last edited by BWX232; 02-13-05 at 12:58 AM.

  4. #4
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    After tweak my upload is slower- repeatedly... not much but still slower.

    :::.. Upload Stats ..:::
    Connection is:: 551 Kbps about 0.6 Mbps (tested with 579 KB)
    Upload Speed is:: 67 KB/s
    Tested From:: http://www.testmy.net/
    Test Time:: Sun Feb 13 01:26:40 EST 2005
    Bottom Line:: 10X faster than 56K 1MB upload in 15.28 sec
    Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/id-QSYJ0RKGZ



    Before I had the 3500/384 .css file loaded.. I can't remember- are the values in your post the same as those? Hmmmm...
    I am wondering if the values that deal with upload somehow made my connection slower?

    I'll keep testing, but it seems slower. Doesn't seem right.

    Remember my upload bandwidth is capable of about 570Kbps...




    edit-

    strange, before tweak I was consistently around 565 to 569Kbps up..
    now I am consistently 550 to 555 Kbps up.. Not sure what's going on..

    :::.. Upload Stats ..:::
    Connection is:: 552 Kbps about 0.6 Mbps (tested with 579 KB)
    Upload Speed is:: 67 KB/s
    Tested From:: http://www.testmy.net/
    Test Time:: Sun Feb 13 01:39:00 EST 2005
    Bottom Line:: 10X faster than 56K 1MB upload in 15.28 sec
    Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/id-DU0V523JA
    Last edited by BWX232; 02-13-05 at 01:41 AM.

  5. #5
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    you can't really tweak the upload those settings have very it could be debated no effect on it
    change thease i had typeo doh
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1460
    Comptia a+ n+

  6. #6
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by mccoffee
    you can't really tweak the upload those settings have very it could be debated no effect on it
    change thease i had typeo doh
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1460

    Actually I noticed some really horrible download speeds too- so I knew something was very wrong.
    My download speeds after the tweak was about 300Kbps (slower than upload) so I started looking through the adjustments in Cablenut - I noticed those typos- but that wasn't the main problem.

    I reverted to the old cablenut settings just to test- and still the download was horrible.

    I also did this tweak the first time:
    if u are using a router at set network card 100 full
    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthr...863#post929863


    Um, for me- that is not a good setting. I set to full auto-negotiate and my speeds instantly went back to normal... (upload and download)


    So anyway- now I am going to try your cable-nut values and fix those two typos and retry.. I think it will be good.

  7. #7
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    After tweaks-
    Bigger upload speed test-

    :::.. Upload Stats ..:::
    Connection is:: 569 Kbps about 0.6 Mbps (tested with 2992 KB)
    Upload Speed is:: 69 KB/s
    Tested From:: http://www.testmy.net/
    Test Time:: Sun Feb 13 03:09:00 EST 2005
    Bottom Line:: 10X faster than 56K 1MB upload in 14.84 sec
    Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/id-UIO6GYPWE



    Seems good- the download speed tests vary, but don't seem to have the mini-pauses that they did before your cablenut values, so it seems more consistent.

    :::.. Download Stats ..:::
    Connection is:: 3581 Kbps about 3.6 Mbps (tested with 2992 KB)
    Download Speed is:: 437 KB/s
    Tested From:: http://www.testmy.net/
    Test Time:: Sun Feb 13 03:12:14 EST 2005
    Bottom Line:: 64X faster than 56K 1MB download in 2.34 sec
    Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/id-J5X2KW6L4


    Looks like it helped. Thanks!



    edit- I just tested some real world download speeds form known good servers and I get around 472KB/s or 3.6875 Mbps .... So I think that is acceptable for an advertised 4Mbps download/ 512Kbps upload speed..
    Obviously I would like to get more out of my download speed, but I think that is due to my ISP, not any tweaks I can make.
    Last edited by BWX232; 02-13-05 at 03:23 AM.

  8. #8
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Now i rember why i just used those at top just to show you what you need to change from the ccs file to the new speed from adelphia rofl all this studying for school
    Comptia a+ n+

  9. #9
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by mccoffee
    Now i rember why i just used those at top just to show you what you need to change from the ccs file to the new speed from adelphia rofl all this studying for school
    So knowing that my upload speed is around 570 instead of 512, should I change anything or leave it as you had it? Or are all of the tweaks mainly for download speed?




    Also- I always wondered about something for the past 5 years or so (since I have had cable internet connection)

    When I follow the Speedguide tweaks- it seems that it has always told me to use a Receive Window (RWIN) of somewhere around -- 32768....

    But when I run the tweak test ar BBR (DSLR) it always says that is too low:
    Choose RWIN between 37960 and 100740 (FAQ #586)
    like this:
    http://ttester.broadbandreports.com/...nXP&via=normal


    From what I remember if this is higher then you have to turn Window Scaling on (or windows does it automatically) - I haven't messed around with this stuff in a couple years, so I kind of forget exactly.

    But I do wonder about that setting.

  10. #10
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    Also after I tweaked I never posted this- so I guess I should.. to make sure all is good.



    TCP properties for IP = xx.xx.xx.xxx ()
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)



    TCP options string = 020405b401010402
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.
    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 32768
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 32768

    For optimum performance, consider changing RWIN to a multiple of MSS.
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 1310.72 kbps (163.84 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 524.288 kbps (65.536 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 51 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000




    I have been searching around for clues and saw you say this:
    http://forums.speedguide.net/showpos...46&postcount=4

    I was wondering what you meant by that- my RP614v2 routeris very easy to configure- maybe I need to change something in there?
    Also the guy in that thread has some different settings, but the same connection as me and you said his settings were good. Just making sure I am all set here.
    My download speed is ok, but could be better I suppose.

    Thanks again.
    Last edited by BWX232; 02-13-05 at 05:49 AM.

  11. #11
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Try thease your rwin isn't a mutiple of mss which is my faught i should've explained something better, there is many ways to calculate rwin, so they belive in lower values, sg uses a higher set of values i try to use low and medium more, which is way is the best or better that could be debated.


    DefaultReceiveWindow 512000
    DefaultSendWindow = 98304
    DisableAddressSharing = 1
    InitialLargeBufferCount = 100
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 240
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 320
    LargeBufferSize = 81920
    MaxFastTransmit = 64000
    MediumBufferSize = 15040
    PriorityBoost = 0
    SmallBufferSize = 1280
    TransmitWorker = 32
    FastSendDatagramThreshold = 4096
    EnableFastRouteLookup = 1
    EnablePMTUDiscovery = 1
    IgnorePushBitOnReceives = 0
    GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize = 64240
    MaxFreeTcbs = 8000
    MaxHashTableSize = 16384
    MaxNormLookupMemory = 5000000
    SackOpts = 1
    SynAttackProtect = 1
    Tcp1323Opts =0
    TcpLogLevel = 1
    TcpMaxDupAcks = 3
    TcpMaxHalfOpen = 100
    TcpMaxHalfOpenRetried = 80
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpTimedWaitDelay = 30
    TcpUseRFC1122UrgentPointer = 0
    TcpWindowSize =64240
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server = 20
    MaxConnectionsPerServer = 10
    DefaultTTL = 64
    DisableUserTOSSetting = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 6
    DefaultTOSValue = 240
    Comptia a+ n+

  12. #12
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    ok cool I will try those.

  13. #13
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    :::.. Upload Stats ..:::
    Connection is:: 572 Kbps about 0.6 Mbps (tested with 579 KB)
    Upload Speed is:: 70 KB/s
    Tested From:: http://www.testmy.net/
    Test Time:: Mon Feb 14 06:12:13 EST 2005
    Bottom Line:: 10X faster than 56K 1MB upload in 14.63 sec
    Diagnosis: Awesome! 20% + : 95.22 % faster than the average for host (adelphia.net)
    Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/id-5X27L4GVD



    :::.. Upload Stats ..:::
    Connection is:: 571 Kbps about 0.6 Mbps (tested with 2992 KB)
    Upload Speed is:: 70 KB/s
    Tested From:: http://www.testmy.net/
    Test Time:: Mon Feb 14 06:17:05 EST 2005
    Bottom Line:: 10X faster than 56K 1MB upload in 14.63 sec
    Diagnosis: Awesome! 20% + : 94.88 % faster than the average for host (adelphia.net)
    Validation Link:: http://testmy.net/id-WYR1Q903V

    nice
    Last edited by BWX232; 02-14-05 at 06:28 AM.

  14. #14
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    Hi, I had a question... I fI wanted to optimize my connection for hosting a server with about 12 people connected sending about 560kb/s (maxing out upload) and receiving less than that, while trying to maintain a good ping, are my current setting ok or could I tweak them a little?

    People from all over the world connect, and latency is more important than overall speed..

    I'm not sure which settings to adjust for trying to optimize this situation.


    The program I am using is

    RBnet http://toca.game-editing.net/dl?f=rbrnet2.1.zip
    http://toca.game-editing.net/files

    from http://toca.game-editing.net/index.php



    Any help would be greatly appreciated.. Even pointing me in the right direction to start experimenting to try to optimize for this situation..


    Soon I think I will be upgraded to 6Mbit/ 768kb - *crossing fingers*


    Thanks a bunch for your time

  15. #15
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    OMG I just got upgraded to 6MBit down - 768kbit/s UP!!!
    http://www.broadbandreports.com/spee...m/1109668452/1

    guess I need some new Cablenut entries!!


    Take your time, but any and all suggestions very much appreciated!

    I can't wait to get the correct parameters in there to see the full benefit!

  16. #16
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    DefaultReceiveWindow 512000
    DefaultSendWindow = 98304
    DisableAddressSharing = 1
    InitialLargeBufferCount = 100
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 240
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 320
    LargeBufferSize = 81920
    MaxFastTransmit = 64000
    MediumBufferSize = 15040
    PriorityBoost = 0
    SmallBufferSize = 1280
    TransmitWorker = 32
    FastSendDatagramThreshold = 4096
    EnableFastRouteLookup = 1
    EnablePMTUDiscovery = 1
    IgnorePushBitOnReceives = 0
    GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize = 64240
    MaxFreeTcbs = 8000
    MaxHashTableSize = 16384
    MaxNormLookupMemory = 5000000
    SackOpts = 1
    SynAttackProtect = 1
    Tcp1323Opts =0
    TcpLogLevel = 1
    TcpMaxDupAcks = 3
    TcpMaxHalfOpen = 100
    TcpMaxHalfOpenRetried = 80
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpTimedWaitDelay = 30
    TcpUseRFC1122UrgentPointer = 0
    TcpWindowSize =64240
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server = 20
    MaxConnectionsPerServer = 10
    DefaultTTL = 64
    DisableUserTOSSetting = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 6
    DefaultTOSValue = 240
    Comptia a+ n+

  17. #17
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by mccoffee
    DefaultReceiveWindow 512000
    DefaultSendWindow = 98304
    DisableAddressSharing = 1
    InitialLargeBufferCount = 100
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 240
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 320
    LargeBufferSize = 81920
    MaxFastTransmit = 64000
    MediumBufferSize = 15040
    PriorityBoost = 0
    SmallBufferSize = 1280
    TransmitWorker = 32
    FastSendDatagramThreshold = 4096
    EnableFastRouteLookup = 1
    EnablePMTUDiscovery = 1
    IgnorePushBitOnReceives = 0
    GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize = 64240
    MaxFreeTcbs = 8000
    MaxHashTableSize = 16384
    MaxNormLookupMemory = 5000000
    SackOpts = 1
    SynAttackProtect = 1
    Tcp1323Opts =0
    TcpLogLevel = 1
    TcpMaxDupAcks = 3
    TcpMaxHalfOpen = 100
    TcpMaxHalfOpenRetried = 80
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpTimedWaitDelay = 30
    TcpUseRFC1122UrgentPointer = 0
    TcpWindowSize =64240
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server = 20
    MaxConnectionsPerServer = 10
    DefaultTTL = 64
    DisableUserTOSSetting = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 6
    DefaultTOSValue = 240



    Thanks.... but....

    That is exactly the same as before?? My service was upgraded-
    the actual cap I believe is between 6000/926 and 7235/926


    I'm just not sure exactly what to change to optimize for this speed. Are there any pre-configured Cablenut files for that? Maybe like 6000/768 or so? It seems like there should be but I don't see them....



    EDIT**
    I found this thread- http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=172736 and noticed he deals with uploading and higher pings.. although his speed is a little higher, I tried those settings. I'll see how it goes, I am sure I will need to readjust.

    EDIT- went back to original, LOL- the settings from above severely cripple upload speeds. Amazing what the wrong settings can do. Somewhere in between is probably what I need.
    Last edited by BWX232; 03-01-05 at 12:08 PM.

  18. #18
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,900
    Quote Originally Posted by BWX232

    I'm just not sure exactly what to change to optimize for this speed. Are there any pre-configured Cablenut files for that? Maybe like 6000/768 or so?
    If there are, their own website might have them, http://www.cablenut.com/ as it's their utility, not Speedguides, we have our own, the Speedguide TCP Optimizer.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  19. #19
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    If there are, their own website might have them, http://www.cablenut.com/ as it's their utility, not Speedguides, we have our own, the Speedguide TCP Optimizer.
    Yeah I know, this just happens to be what I am using. It seems to have more options than the speedguide utility.

    No luck on that specific file... :-/


    I am thinking I just need to adjust the first two entries in cablenut to adjust for 6000/ 800 - just not sure what to put in there.



    In the help file..... So... if that's all I need to do? I just don't know how that affects other settings.
    DefaultReceiveWindow = multiply your ISPs download caps in kilobytes by 1024
    DefaultSendWindow = multiply your ISPs upload caps in kilobytes by 1024
    Last edited by BWX232; 03-02-05 at 07:38 AM.

  20. #20
    Junior Member BWX232's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Western NY
    Posts
    16

    ccs file I made for 6000/900

    I calculated for 6000/900 and made this ccs file if anyone else with upgraded Adelphia premier wants to try it.

    http://driverheavenuploads.co.uk/BWX/6000-900.ccs

Similar Threads

  1. Tweak Me (cablenut)
    By hexfactor in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-29-02, 06:45 PM
  2. Tweak me please (cablenut)
    By phar_west in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-02, 03:08 AM
  3. SG tweak vs. Cablenut 4.02
    By fireices in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-26-01, 07:38 PM
  4. Looking for older versions of Cablenut tweak...
    By DDELFIERRO in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-01, 05:45 AM
  5. Tweak Experimental Observations (RR)
    By bonebyten in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-00, 10:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •