Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Server: Port Fowarding Port 80

  1. #1

    Server: Port Fowarding Port 80

    ok i have a Linksys BEFVP41 router and i am trying to forward porrt 80 so i can run a web server although i don't know how to forward, thanks?

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,894
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,337
    You would be better of configuring the web server to listen on another port than port 80, your isp likely filters port 80 incoming anyway because isps usually forbid residential web servers. Then port forward the desired requests to the server ip and port used. And then tell friends to connect as such: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080 (follow the ip address by a colon and number of the port the server listens on)
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  4. #4
    YeOlde: Sweet that taught me a couple things. So my router's DHCP range is: 192.168.1.100 to 192.168.1.149 , so i should make a static ip for my two computers as 192.168.1.10 & 192.168.1.11 for example? But here's the thing I tried making a static ip address before I read another tutorial, but I was never able to connect to 192.168.1.1 for my router's setup page so i can forward ports.

    TonyT: Well I soon want to get my own domain name would it make a difference if I forwarded a different port than port 80?

    Thanks guys for the help.

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    4,717
    You cannot point a domain to a non-standard port. You visitors would type http://www.yourdomain.com:8080 , for example.


    What is the ip address for your computer? It must be on the same network as your router's LAN interface, so that's 192.168.1.x (or use DHCP) to connect to the router admin. Make sure you aren't set to 192.168.168.x - which looks similar but is a different network block.

    Skye
    anything is possible - nothing is free


    Quote Originally Posted by Blisster
    It *would* be brokeback bay if I in fact went and hung out with Skye and co (did I mention he is teh hotness?)

  6. #6
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,894
    Quote Originally Posted by fl0b_enkrypted
    YeOlde: Sweet that taught me a couple things. So my router's DHCP range is: 192.168.1.100 to 192.168.1.149 , so i should make a static ip for my two computers as 192.168.1.10 & 192.168.1.11 for example? But here's the thing I tried making a static ip address before I read another tutorial, but I was never able to connect to 192.168.1.1 for my router's setup page so i can forward ports..
    Should have been able to. As long as your static range is the same that the router is in, and subnet mask...you should be all set. To connect to the routers web admin page, that's all you need, you don't need a gateway or DNS info to connect to the routers web admin. To connect to the internet, yes, you need to also specify a gateway and DNS.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast FunK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,721
    Once your site is working and your port is forwarded, I would suggest tzo.com for pointing a domain name to your box.

    I just happen to use one of their XXX.mynetwork.org subdomains and it has worked flawlessly for a few years. This is assuming that your IP from your ISP ins't static. If it changes, the tzo client will update the dns for you and send the traffic to your dynamic IP, no matter what port your server is running on.

    Maintaining your own DNS for a dynamic IP can be a real hassle..
    Simply run adaware, spybot, ZoneAlarm, HijackThis, AVG, update windows daily, have a router, don't open e-mail, turn off action scripting, don't use P2P networks, don't violate EULAs, and wear a condom to get Windows secured.

    People say Linux is alot of work!

  8. #8
    Senior Member Blisster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    9,668
    setting up a static IP on your router
    http://portforward.com/linksys/befvp41-dhcp.htm
    port forwarding on your router
    http://portforward.com/linksys/befvp...forwarding.htm


    Quote Originally Posted by Edward Abbey
    A patriot must always be ready to defend his country against his government.

  9. #9
    Senior Member Blisster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    9,668
    Quote Originally Posted by FunK
    Once your site is working and your port is forwarded, I would suggest tzo.com for pointing a domain name to your box.

    I just happen to use one of their XXX.mynetwork.org subdomains and it has worked flawlessly for a few years. This is assuming that your IP from your ISP ins't static. If it changes, the tzo client will update the dns for you and send the traffic to your dynamic IP, no matter what port your server is running on.

    Maintaining your own DNS for a dynamic IP can be a real hassle..

    i use no-ip.com, same thing really. My router has built in support for dynamic dns from both DynDNS.org and no-ip.

    I've been running a web server AND a game server for months with no issues.


    Quote Originally Posted by Edward Abbey
    A patriot must always be ready to defend his country against his government.

Similar Threads

  1. Freakin out a little here....SP2
    By Subsane in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-30-04, 08:18 PM
  2. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 02-05-04, 09:42 PM
  3. COX is now filtering port 135
    By TonyT in forum Network Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-10-03, 09:07 AM
  4. isb-soho and port opening (game server)
    By freakyboy in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-16-01, 01:22 PM
  5. How do set different server FTP port?
    By HalfLifer in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-15-01, 08:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •