Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Odd New and Current CPU Problem...

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Regular Member powerfulsquid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    114

    Odd New and Current CPU Problem...

    Hi, well it all started with an AMD Athlon XP "Barton" 3000+ which I had a problem with as described here.

    So I returned that, and got this. Same FSB as current 2100+ so it should be all good. I put it in, and the computer spits out beeps...high pitched beep...then a low pitched beep...over and over and over again before I have to turn the computer off. The CPU fan and the system fan all stop working too...the only thing receiving power was the speaker from what it sounded like.

    I return that CPU assuming it was the CPU and ordered another from zipzoomfly.com. A 2400+ Athlon XP clocking at about 2 ghz which can be seen here .

    So I get this CPU and put it in, and same exact problem occurs so I go through clearing the CMOS, taking sticks of RAM out, etc and nothing works. So I take it out, and put my 2100+ back in and then I go to the BIOS, change the FSB settig to what it was, 166mhz, and then save and restart. Windows begins to load and at the Windows2k startup screen with the blue bar at the bottom loading...the computer shuts itself off, well the fans and HDs as far as I can hear, and the speaker begins its beeping again until I turn it off. I restart the computer, and it loads everthing again but same thing happens at the Windows screen. I go back into the BIOS, cahnge the FSB to 100 and now it seems to be working just fine, only at a lesser speed. It is clocked at 1.3ghz when it should be around 1.7-1.8ghz.

    I know this has to do with the FSB but why does it not allow 166mhz anymore? Did I fry something on my mobo?

    There are also no jumpers to be changed as I've been through my manual almost 40 times already.

  2. #2
    Regular Member powerfulsquid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    114
    Anyone? I really need this fixed if anyone could help. Thanks.

  3. #3
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,163
    what mobo is on, and what are the default ratings for the CPU, and what memory are you useing ?

    when you set the fsb manualy you need to set the multiplier to the right setting as well, also lock the AGP bus to 66MHz.

    also when you clear the cmos, i pull the battery for a few minutes, it seems to help.
    4930K@4.3~32GBGskill~asusX79deluxe~Vega64~240GB-SSD-OS drive~500GB-SSD-scratch~240GB-SSD-thrash~4TB storage~6.4TB-ioMemorycard~Windows 7 pro
    *~ SG stats

  4. #4
    Regular Member powerfulsquid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    114
    My mobo is MSI KT4AV series with 1 stick of 256mb PC2100, 1 stick PC21000 512mb and one stick 512mb PC4000. The FSB was and has always been on 133 before I needed to change it, and the multiplier, again, was and always hass been on Auto, so could that still be the problem?

    I didn't take the battery out, so maybe I might give that a shot tomorrow afternoon.

    I think I am also going to look into getting some thermal compound to make sure it's not a heat issue.

  5. #5
    single malt maroon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    Memphis
    Posts
    263
    PC2100 ain't gonna run at a 166 FSB! PC2100 runs at 133. For that processor you should be running it at 133 FSB x 15 mulitiplier.

    Take everything out but the 512mb stick of PC2100, go into the bios and set the FSB to 133 and the multi to 15, then boot up.

  6. #6
    Regular Member powerfulsquid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    114
    Oops, I wrote that it was at 166mhz, it was actually running at 133mhz, but now it won't even run at 133mhz.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •