Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Using wired and wireless connections together

  1. #1
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003

    Using wired and wireless connections together

    if i have a pc connected to a ethernet cable at port1 should i not use a wireless key on key 1?

  2. #2
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    errr...u talking bout the encryption key?
    Will Work For FSB

  3. #3
    Administrator Philip's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida, United States
    Posts
    10,659
    Blog Entries
    6
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    if i have a pc connected to a ethernet cable at port1 should i not use a wireless key on key 1?
    You can use any of the keys, as long as all clients are using the same number key. It is not related to ports on the router/access point.

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003
    Quote Originally Posted by Philip
    You can use any of the keys, as long as all clients are using the same number key. It is not related to ports on the router/access point.
    DAMNIT!!!!


    WHY does my wireless box loose connection then.

    It connects at 48 or 54mbps and will be good or low like 80% of the time. Then it will jsut crap out every 5 minutes for the other 20%

    nothing changing in the house interferencewise.



    Thanks for the answer Philip

  5. #5
    Mad Overclocker m4a2t0t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    3,962
    what unit? I am using the wrt54g at my cousins house and I its a POS. I will sit right in front on the router and it will say there are no wireless networks, after a few minutes of trying I finally see the AP. Signal drops all the time, always calling me asking why the internet is down. I hate doing computer stuff for other peeps.
    Will Work For FSB

  6. #6
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003
    same router matt

  7. #7
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003
    Just hooked up the high gain antennas to the router. Looks like its doing much better now.

  8. #8
    Advanced Member Rouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    CAN
    Posts
    697
    I have the same kind of issue with that router too Yos. I just posted it in the wrong forum.

    Here>>>

  9. #9
    Advanced Member Rouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    CAN
    Posts
    697
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    Just hooked up the high gain antennas to the router. Looks like its doing much better now.
    Where did you get the High Gains?

  10. #10
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,003
    Quote Originally Posted by Rouse
    Where did you get the High Gains?

    CompUSA

Similar Threads

  1. Wired / Wireless Network
    By cmcl14 in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-04, 10:47 PM
  2. Wireless Router to a connected to a wired cable/dsl router
    By athalon in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-05-03, 02:50 PM
  3. wired vs wireless router
    By Rookie in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-27-03, 08:20 PM
  4. wired and wireless hookup help
    By Rookie in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-25-03, 08:19 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-01-03, 10:28 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •