Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Cable to Dial Up

  1. #1
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124

    Cable to Dial Up

    Currently I'm on cox cable. I have tweaked my settings and it works pretty good. I intend to move in the near future but I might have to settle for dial up.

    Do I need to delete cable nut? I'm uncertain what I really need to do.

    thanks, reeo

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124
    Eh? I asked a real question. Do I need to delete all cablenut settings on dial up? In other words go back to std Win XP settings?

    thanks, reeo

  4. #4
    Advanced Member chpalmer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Kitsap co. Wa
    Posts
    552
    If you read that link you will see the settings to use in Cablenut for your dialup connection should you have to get one.
    Never take any crap off an inanimate object!!

    Never send email to this address: spam@euclidian.com. This is a spam trap and everyone sending any email to this address will be blacklisted.

  5. #5
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124
    I see, thanks I completely missed that part. Doh

    reeo

  6. #6
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124
    One more question because it looks like I'll be going to dial up.

    Here is the text on part of the conversion.

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\PriorityControl (if PriorityControl is not there, make the value) - on the right hand side right click and select new DWORD value, name it IrqXPriority (X = Irq assigned to your modem), then right click it and select modify and give it a decimal value of 1.

    I have the key, HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\PriorityControl.

    Does that mean there is no change needed here? It's a little confusing to me.

    reeo

  7. #7
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    that means you have goto device manager and locate your modem's irq and add that in

    IrqXPriority (X = Irq assigned to your modem),
    Comptia a+ n+

  8. #8
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124
    Ok to be clear I would add, (Irq23Priority) to the right side, Yes? That is my IRQ #

    The statement above says, (if PriorityControl is not there, make the value) --------

    I have Priority control on the main key, this is what's confusing. Do I add another priority control on the right side? If so will you type out what should be added to the right side?

    Hexidecidecimals, D words and that stuff are real confusing to me. No one ever explained them so I don't know. A link with a simpleexplanation would be good. It may not be needed here, just a comment.

    Thanks,

    reeo

  9. #9
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    you navagate to that key on the left then click edit new dword value and click edit then new dword value you would see it on the right then click it once so you change the name and rename it to this rqXPriority then double click it and it would a gray box would pop up asking deciamal or hex you want decimal then enter 1 for the vaule.

    http://home.covad.net/~zeiler07/reg_tutorial.html
    Comptia a+ n+

  10. #10
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124
    Ok thanks, I appreciate the detail. I think I can handle it from here. fingers crossed

    reeo

Similar Threads

  1. digital cable
    By ryanj81 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-21-03, 06:14 AM
  2. A new editorial..get a drink before reading. :)
    By Bouncer in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-09-03, 12:15 PM
  3. coax cable q
    By A_old in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-26-02, 07:16 PM
  4. Ultraband update
    By dannjr in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-11-01, 12:30 AM
  5. Charter Pipeline Blows
    By lizard_boy in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 10-04-00, 02:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •