Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Linksys BEFW11S4 User Control

  1. #1
    Junior Member delphi17857's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Susquehanna Valley,PA
    Posts
    20

    Question Linksys BEFW11S4 User Control

    Hello. I have 3 computers hooked up to my Linksys BEFW11S4 Router. I want to be able to have the control of whether a user of the computer upstairs can access the internet or not. As of now, I am pulling the that connection out of the back of the router to achieve this. There has to be a way of controlling access to internet for that computer besides pulling that connection plug out of the router.Can someone explain in simple terms if this is possible using the router settings? Thank you for your help!
    Dell 2350 1.8 Pentium 4 512DDR- (2)60HDD- Win XP & Toshiba V3100 500 Celeron 512SDRAM-15HDD/6HDD Win XP
    :2cool:

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,585
    Quote Originally Posted by delphi17857
    Hello. I have 3 computers hooked up to my Linksys BEFW11S4 Router. I want to be able to have the control of whether a user of the computer upstairs can access the internet or not. As of now, I am pulling the that connection out of the back of the router to achieve this. There has to be a way of controlling access to internet for that computer besides pulling that connection plug out of the router.Can someone explain in simple terms if this is possible using the router settings? Thank you for your help!
    Very easy... go to linksys and update the firmware to 1.50.14 if you havent already

    Then go into the control panel by entering the address http://192.168.1.1 with NO username and the password 'admin' unless you changed the login.

    Go to the status tab.. then click 'local network' then DHCP table. View the IP of the computer upstairs and then go to the SECURITY tab.
    ]
    Under the IP filter enter the ip in the range.. just use the same ip for the start and end so you dont block any other users.

    That should do it.. remember to clear the filter when the user wants back on the net.. i take it youve got a bandwidth hog upstairs? lol

    ииии



    ииии

  3. #3
    Junior Member delphi17857's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Susquehanna Valley,PA
    Posts
    20

    Thumbs up

    Awesome! I now need to know if the IP address on the upstairs computer will ever change? If so, does that mean I will have to go through the same process to enter the new IP number to control it? Thanks a million
    Dell 2350 1.8 Pentium 4 512DDR- (2)60HDD- Win XP & Toshiba V3100 500 Celeron 512SDRAM-15HDD/6HDD Win XP
    :2cool:

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    8,585
    Quote Originally Posted by delphi17857
    Awesome! I now need to know if the IP address on the upstairs computer will ever change? If so, does that mean I will have to go through the same process to enter the new IP number to control it? Thanks a million
    it will only change if its turned on in a different order than it was before.. as in the first PC on gets the first ip and so on.. so as long as you either leave it on or make sure it is tunred on in the same order

    ииии



    ииии

  5. #5
    aquahogisaclam
    Guest

    this is easy...

    I have to do this at my home, because i run my website from my home server. I have an XP so if you have a different operating system then it's just a little different. It's all in the control panel, just the names are different.

    Go to the PC with the internet you want to control
    Go to your control panel.
    Navigate to Network Connections
    Click on the network that you are connected to. (this step is for XP)
    Click Properties (Also XP)
    There should be a list of things (if you are on win98, you might have to click on a tab. dont remember what its called though)
    Click on "Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)"

    (For win98, there are a few tabs you have to click on to do all of this, so try you best to do this right
    IP Address: 192.168.200 (Make sure that in your router control panel you have your gateway set to 192.168.1.1 (if you know what you're doing, then you dont have to do that)
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0 (thats the one i seen used the most, choose which ever your router uses)
    Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1 (Once again, make sure your routers default gateway is 192.168.1.1 too)

    If these instructions aren't understandable, i will reexplain them better. i just didnt feel like typing a whole lot. if the internet stops working on the computer that you changed all these settings, you messed up somewhere.

Similar Threads

  1. Have you ever dealt with a control freak?
    By Debbie in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 08-18-03, 06:38 PM
  2. Linksys BEFW11S4 v2 how to host games?
    By Maverick-DBZ- in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-08-03, 02:18 AM
  3. Linksys BEFW11S4 & SBC DSL
    By Unholy in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-25-02, 04:36 AM
  4. Beld And Linksys And Toshiba Cable Modem
    By CampRyenWater in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-16-01, 04:56 PM
  5. Linksys BEFW11S4 firmware 1.37.9b is out
    By richjt in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-01, 06:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •