Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Linksys Question

  1. #1

    Linksys Question

    Anybody know the difference between the Linksys WRT54G wireless router and the one they ship with their "wireless G kit for notebooks" (WKPC54G)? The obvious difference I see is that the notebook one has only one antenna and I'm wondering why they would manufacture a new router design just for the purpose of bundling it with a wireless card. From what I see all the other similar products have two antennas. It is stripped down in other ways?

    Here's the link on that kit:
    http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...id=35&prid=614

  2. #2
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759
    I would stay away from the WKPC54G. I set one up for someone and it has been nothing but problems. And the firmware is up to date ...

    Get the WRT54G. If you are up to it, get one of the "aftermarket" (Sorry, I drag race ) firmwares. I run a WAP54G with one of the "aftermarket" firmwares and I dont have a problem.
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  3. #3
    actually, i already have a wrt54g, i was just curious.

    where can i download a copy of this firmware?

  4. #4
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759
    http://www.hyperdrive.be/portal/

    Im using the HyperWAP firmware. You will need the HyperWRT firmware.

    ***USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!*** If something goes wrong, Linksys WILL NOT help you...
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    26
    thanks for the link crazy, but i dont notice any better speeds/reception once i turn the antenna settings up

    did you?

  6. #6
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759
    Yes, I did actually. How high did you turn up the power? Im running at 48...
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  7. #7
    Advanced Member crazyjw1971's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Clinton MD, USA
    Posts
    759
    Also, you might wanna try Netstumbler and see if you have a lot of noise in your signal...
    U.S. Department of Agriculture I.T. Specialist
    Ducks, chickens, pigs, and mad cows need computers too!
    A+, Net+, MCDST

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    26
    I'm having some trouble with Netstumbler, dunno what/how it is supposed to work.

    Do I have to broadcast my SSID? Currently, I do not have it broadcasted.

Similar Threads

  1. Linksys HPRO200 HPNA Router question
    By Bluesky in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-10-04, 01:14 PM
  2. Linksys Router question
    By tanyet in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-22-01, 05:44 PM
  3. Linksys router question?
    By weareborg2 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-16-00, 04:22 PM
  4. Linksys BEFSR41 with Static LAN IPs Question
    By DaBoosh in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-07-00, 09:51 AM
  5. Linksys router question
    By LANMAASTTERRRR in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-22-00, 10:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •