Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 21

Thread: Video editting software?

  1. #1
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992

    Video editting software?

    I have nero ultra and it can edit videos but after shrinking a 3gig video down by cutting out commercials it was 12 gigs lol

    I really just need something to allow me to chop parts out.

  2. #2
    TV Fanatic
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,815
    TMPGenc
    .

  3. #3
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    what about freeware stuff

  4. #4
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    What's the video format (ie MPEG, DivX, WM, etc.)?

  5. #5
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,148
    try virtualdub, freeware.

    *edit* and what Jim asked
    4930K@4.3~32GBGskill~asusX79deluxe~r9-280x~240GB-SSD-OS drive~500GB-SSD-scratch~240GB-SSD-thrash~2TB storage~Windows 7 pro
    *~ SG stats ~my stats

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    4,717
    Based on size, I'd guess it's MPEG.
    anything is possible - nothing is free


    Quote Originally Posted by Blisster
    It *would* be brokeback bay if I in fact went and hung out with Skye and co (did I mention he is teh hotness?)

  7. #7
    Junior Member zooner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    8,839
    you ccan still use nero

    just go into the opinions and change how you're doing it. make it half d1 and a lower bitrate. then it'll fit.
    Strap It On Whenever It Seems Appropriate

    http://www.tomsclan.com

  8. #8
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Quote Originally Posted by zooner
    you ccan still use nero

    just go into the opinions and change how you're doing it. make it half d1 and a lower bitrate. then it'll fit.
    half d1 and lower bitrate?

  9. #9
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim
    What's the video format (ie MPEG, DivX, WM, etc.)?

    Mpeg.

  10. #10
    Junior Member zooner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    8,839


    that'll do what you're looking for.
    Strap It On Whenever It Seems Appropriate

    http://www.tomsclan.com

  11. #11
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    I dont have those options in mine.

  12. #12
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    4,717
    Gotta buy the DVD plugin
    anything is possible - nothing is free


    Quote Originally Posted by Blisster
    It *would* be brokeback bay if I in fact went and hung out with Skye and co (did I mention he is teh hotness?)

  13. #13
    Junior Member zooner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    8,839
    Quote Originally Posted by cyberskye
    Gotta buy the DVD plugin
    yes, you need the full nerovison express 2. You could be attempting to launch the wrong program, check in your program files.

    you can purchase the full nero 6.3 with mpeg2 and all features enable for less then $8 online.
    Strap It On Whenever It Seems Appropriate

    http://www.tomsclan.com

  14. #14
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    ok nevermind I didnt select to make a dvd, just make a new movie, and I had it on custom, not DVD, see all that now. I have the full version of nero 6.3 ultra, trying different bitrates now, thanks, whats that half d1 thing do?

  15. #15
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    nm, half d1 is the res. LOL

  16. #16
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    so annoying, i guess the problem is that its in the leadtek codec which is at 720x480 res, 6000kbps video and 224 audio, 2 hours fills up 6 gigs.

    I just wish nero would leave the compression or codec or whatever alone and cut out the few parts.

  17. #17
    Junior Member zooner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    8,839
    Quote Originally Posted by YARDofSTUF
    so annoying, i guess the problem is that its in the leadtek codec which is at 720x480 res, 6000kbps video and 224 audio, 2 hours fills up 6 gigs.

    I just wish nero would leave the compression or codec or whatever alone and cut out the few parts.
    it should re-encode it exactly as you choose.

    if you want to cut some sections out, I'd suggest tmpgenc dvd author. First, encode the dvd with tmpgenc.

    then, it's INCREDIBLY easy to cut scenes and build a custom menu with tmpgenc dvd author.
    Strap It On Whenever It Seems Appropriate

    http://www.tomsclan.com

  18. #18
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    MPEG1 or 2?

  19. #19
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,992
    Quote Originally Posted by Jim
    MPEG1 or 2?

    2

    I dont wanna encode o decode or anythign, why do I have to, bah!

  20. #20
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    Bottom of the page here:

    http://www.pegasys-inc.com/en/download/te3xp.html#trial

    If not, try the older version here: http://www.tmpgenc.net/e_download.html

    The free versions should still allow you to do a simple cut & paste.

    In the older version that I still use, you'd go to File>MPEG Tools> Merge & Cut.

    Select the MPEG-2 type of the source file, and adjust the timers to where you'd like the files to be cut.

    Select an output file to save, and you're all set. It should remove the parts you specified, while skipping the recompressing/re-encoding steps.

Similar Threads

  1. Free Antivirus Software From CA And MS
    By §I€MFKR™ in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-19-03, 09:22 PM
  2. lan party video....frag-o-ween!!!!!
    By thechemgeek in forum Digital Media and Photography
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-13-03, 08:28 AM
  3. video conferencing software????
    By nightowl in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-21-02, 02:49 PM
  4. Need video capture and ftp software
    By RoundEye in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-16-01, 05:09 PM
  5. Whats the name of some Video Editing and Movie Making Software?
    By Altema in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-14-01, 01:38 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •