Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: How can I get rid of the 16bit subsystem error?

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast smidley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    P-Town Oregon baby!
    Posts
    1,138

    How can I get rid of the 16bit subsystem error?

    After I installed windows XP pro with service pack 2, I was able to run older programs fine... such as Procom Plus 3.0.
    But after installing a couple programs (nero, norton antivirus, and doing windows update), I am unable to run any older software that I need. Here is the error I get:

    Error title: 16 bit Windows Subsystem

    what it says: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windwos applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application.

    Then it gives me the options to Close or Ignore. It doesn't matter which one I pick, because either way it won't let me run the programs.
    She looked at you and she said to your face it's over
    -Mest

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,877
    Hmmm...it's odd...far as I know, nothing in Windows Updates for NT should affect its functionality of running older applications.

    As you might know, DOS/Win9X use autoexec.bat, and config.sys, to set DOS environments for older programs. Both of those files sit in the root of C. Win9X does not need any of them to run, only needed for setting the environment for legacy apps.

    In Windows NT, the files which fill those roles, are autoexec.nt, and config.nt, which reside in the C:\%system%\system32 directory. %system% being whatever directory you installed it to, such as C:\Windows, or C:\WinNT.

    What version of Norton Antivirus did you install? Is Nero a fairly new version also?

    Have you worked with the "compatiblity" modes in your legacy apps, like ProComm?

    Can you edit your autoexec.nt and config.nt, copy 'n paste the contents of them here?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    I've seen the same error a few times and the fix posted HERE worked for me.


Similar Threads

  1. 16 bit windows subsystem error
    By wareagle in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-18-02, 04:45 PM
  2. Compatibility Problem - Config.nt. - 16-Bit Subsystem for XP Error?
    By MartialArtist12 in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-15-02, 08:29 PM
  3. Error messages
    By Humboldt in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-01, 05:15 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-29-01, 06:29 PM
  5. AT&T RoadRunner Atlanta Congestion Problems.
    By megabit in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-21-01, 09:56 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •