Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Creating a Web Server?

  1. #1
    Regular Member 3v1l807's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    194

    Post

    Well you need webserver software...
    What OS do you have?

  2. #2
    tio2k
    Guest

    Post

    Originally posted by 3v1l807:
    Well you need webserver software...
    What OS do you have?
    win2k

  3. #3
    Regular Member 3v1l807's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    194

    Post

    Well it has a simple webserver packaged with it, I've never used that one or set it up, but I know it's there because I also have Win2k. To install it(if it's not already), pop in your Win2k CD and then find it under one of the component categories. I have a web server running under linux tho.

  4. #4
    Certified SG Addict Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,163

    Post

    it's called IIS in win2k, Internet Information Server

    you can also run an x86 version of Apache on Win2k, Apache is MUCHOS better

    the absolute best way though is run Apache on Linux
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  5. #5
    Super Good Guy! dannjr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,233

    Post

    Apache Absolutely cool..
    Heres a simple option that works well as long as you dont serve the world fast simple setup. http://www.analogx.com/contents/down...work/sswww.htm
    Point to the html file done open port 80.
    Personally I use both

  6. #6
    tio2k
    Guest

    Post Creating a Web Server?

    Hi,

    I already know how to make a ftp server, wicked! But How would I run a webserver off my comp?

  7. #7
    Advanced Member g-c0de's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    834

    Exclamation

    well if you run apache on linux, and you know nothing about linux, i guarantee your box will get 0wned

  8. #8
    Regular Member 3v1l807's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    194

    Post

    Yeah Apache for Linux is nice if you know how to set-it up The W32 version sux0rs from what I hear tho'

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •