Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can Online Port Scans Be Trusted?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2

    Can Online Port Scans Be Trusted?

    I've been running a firewall (Norton 2002/2003 and Free Kerio 2.5) for the past 3 years and never had any problems with port scans. Suddenly, about 3 months ago, I began to get reports of "closed only" ports, Later, still using the same Sygate Online Scans, I even showed "open" ports.

    Now I use 4 or 5 different scanners and get pretty much 4 or 5 different sets of scan data.. some of them showing totally opposite results.

    This also applies to the Free Kerio 5.1, Free ZoneAlarm, and Free Sygate firewalls, all of which have been tried out in the last 3 weeks.

    I scan often with regularly updated AV and pest scanners.

    I know these firewalls are plenty capable of stealthing the ports on my computer, so what can it be? Could there be something on my system that is designed to screw up any firewall that might be installed?

  2. #2
    Regular Member stevejrc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    England, Surrey
    Posts
    126
    with sygate, unclicking "act as server" for every application (applications>advanced) stealths all ports. this is recommended on the sygate forums. worked for me.....
    Steve Win XP, Wanadoo Broadband 2mb

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    2

    Can Online Port Scans Be Trusted?

    Thanks a lot, stevejrc - I'm now getting the term "stealthed" on all online scan reports.

    Btw, do you have any trouble with Smc.exe? It apparently is the Sygate engine, gui, and updater all balled into one exe. Problem is: it runs at 2 to 3 % constantly and uses anywhere from 15 to 45MB of RAM. Have you had any problems with this? Thanks.

  4. #4
    Regular Member stevejrc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    England, Surrey
    Posts
    126
    same here, no problems - its normal.
    Steve Win XP, Wanadoo Broadband 2mb

  5. #5
    Canadian, eh... you hoser lewis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    480
    Wow! And everyone complains about Zonealarm being a resource hog.

  6. #6
    Regular Member darlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by lewis
    Wow! And everyone complains about Zonealarm being a resource hog.
    Not me.
    Looking for a superior web host? Try the one I've used for 3years, LunarPages

  7. #7
    Regular Member stevejrc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    England, Surrey
    Posts
    126
    Im not bothered by its "hogness", it doesnt slow me down. You might as well take out half your RAM and sell it, if your not going to use it. lol
    Steve Win XP, Wanadoo Broadband 2mb

  8. #8
    Regular Member darlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    250
    Quote Originally Posted by stevejrc
    Im not bothered by its "hogness", it doesnt slow me down. You might as well take out half your RAM and sell it, if your not going to use it. lol
    It's not the ram that it consumes much of, but rather systen resources (user.exe and GDI.exe).
    Looking for a superior web host? Try the one I've used for 3years, LunarPages

Similar Threads

  1. Does Roadrunner Port Block?
    By Rulzar in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-18-10, 12:54 AM
  2. How do I close my open ports?
    By EvilAngel in forum Network Security
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 07-06-06, 01:04 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-18-04, 08:37 PM
  4. Trusted Online Shops
    By headshot! in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-04-01, 10:33 PM
  5. Port Probes
    By @homecableguy in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-19-00, 02:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •