Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Can I use a wireless PC as a hub or access point?

  1. #1
    WendelLives
    Guest

    Can I use a wireless PC as a hub or access point?

    I have a PII box with 98se on it which is connected wirelessly to my network with a D-Link router. (Cablevision broadband, I believe itís a static address.) I want to move this PC downstairs to the basement where I'm rebuilding some other old machines... can I use the PII box down there as second router or access point or hub for those other PCs?

    And... I found something online called an "Asound 4-Port Internal 10/100 PCI Router Card" Will that help me?

    Thanks much for any insight!

  2. #2
    Elite Member ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,599
    Quote Originally Posted by WendelLives
    I have a PII box with 98se on it which is connected wirelessly to my network with a D-Link router. (Cablevision broadband, I believe itís a static address.) I want to move this PC downstairs to the basement where I'm rebuilding some other old machines... can I use the PII box down there as second router or access point or hub for those other PCs?

    And... I found something online called an "Asound 4-Port Internal 10/100 PCI Router Card" Will that help me?

    Thanks much for any insight!
    If you can connect wirelessly from the basement to the D-Link, just get an extra wireless card or two for the old boxes. If what you're saying is that you cannot connect wirelessly from the basement, then you need a wireless access point plus the wireless cards or just get one of these:

    http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...id=35&prid=615

  3. #3
    Advanced Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Posts
    835
    Quote Originally Posted by ghost
    If you can connect wirelessly from the basement to the D-Link, just get an extra wireless card or two for the old boxes. If what you're saying is that you cannot connect wirelessly from the basement, then you need a wireless access point plus the wireless cards or just get one of these:

    http://www.linksys.com/products/prod...id=35&prid=615
    Not Really a Wireless card connected to a PC can be connected to another card in Ad-Hoc (some cards might connect to more then one). However it is not functioning as an Access Point.

    May be this can Help: Wirelessly Bridging Home / SOHO Network.

    Jack.
    Microsoft MVP - Networking.

  4. #4
    Elite Member ghost's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    11,599
    Quote Originally Posted by JackMDS
    Not Really a Wireless card connected to a PC can be connected to another card in Ad-Hoc (some cards might connect to more then one). However it is not functioning as an Access Point.

    May be this can Help: Wirelessly Bridging Home / SOHO Network.

    I know about Ad-Hoc mode, that's why I suggested what I did. Otherwise he wouldn't be able to access the router upstairs.

  5. #5
    Quote Originally Posted by WendelLives
    I have a PII box with 98se on it which is connected wirelessly to my network with a D-Link router. (Cablevision broadband, I believe itís a static address.) I want to move this PC downstairs to the basement where I'm rebuilding some other old machines... can I use the PII box down there as second router or access point or hub for those other PCs?

    And... I found something online called an "Asound 4-Port Internal 10/100 PCI Router Card" Will that help me?

    Thanks much for any insight!
    yes you can.


    PII 98se box is wirelessly connected to D-link router.

    1)install a second NIC in PII98se box.
    2)setup ICS on PII98se box. -----> http://www.practicallynetworked.com/...icsinstall.htm
    3)purchase very cheap hub or switch.
    4)plug all comps. into hub/switch.

    access internet, utilizing PII98se box as a ICS access point.

    i do this right now with all upstairs comps. in my house.

Similar Threads

  1. wireless headset for pc?
    By Ajsie in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-18-04, 08:45 PM
  2. Wireless access point or router?
    By srbarnes4ever in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-03-04, 09:31 AM
  3. need tips on wireless access point
    By Faust in forum Hardware & Overclocking
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11-29-03, 11:54 AM
  4. Wireless networking help.
    By Grummpy in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-23-03, 10:24 AM
  5. Cable Modem network setups
    By jkajfes in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-23-00, 09:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •