Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Tivo Call Through PC?

  1. #1
    Machine
    Guest

    Tivo Call Through PC?

    Hi everyone, great forums. I was wondering if you could point me in the right direction. I have Tivo/DirecTV and Tivo needs a phone line to make it's updates, me and my wife both use our cell phones and have absolutely no use for a landline. I remember seeing hardware that accepts a phone line in one end and I believe connects via USB. Can anybody point me in the direction to what I would need (Hardware/Service) so I can lose the landline and make my weekly Tivo update through my broadband? I appreciate any help,

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Junior Member zooner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    8,839
    Strap It On Whenever It Seems Appropriate

    http://www.tomsclan.com

  3. #3
    Machine
    Guest
    Thanks but that will only work for NON DirecTV Tivos. The usb ports on the DTV/Tivo boxes are not availible for Tivo. Anybody knowof some hardware that will allow you to make calls from a phone and your broadband connection?

  4. #4
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    69,987
    could u buy a modem, hook it up and plug the tivo in there, set it up as a network and allow tv to use the net from the PC? dunno if that would work, need someone to confirm that or tell me i'm full of crap

    its kinda just a theory.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    349
    Nope dont beleive you can update Tivo through a broadband connection yet... Tivo plans on making it possible in the near future but as of right now it is not.....

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    349
    Also they have what is called VoiP which is Voice over Internet Protocol and it does not work with it either...

  7. #7
    Machine
    Guest
    Thanks for the help. I currently have VOIP service through ATT but it won't work with Tivo. Directv is working on updates through the dish but for now I'm trying to work with without it. I ended up finding the hardware in the link so we'll see f it works or not. Thanks

    Phone to PC

Similar Threads

  1. Annalysa gets a tech support call from carl....
    By Silver in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 07-14-05, 12:58 PM
  2. National Do Not Call Registry
    By mwkirchner in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 06-25-03, 06:50 PM
  3. Anyone Good w/ DOS?
    By lance-tek in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-17-01, 04:34 PM
  4. Call back
    By bodyglove in forum Network Security
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-03-01, 06:53 AM
  5. Call back
    By bodyglove in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-03-01, 06:53 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •