Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: So I am getting a PC built...

  1. #1
    IROC-Z Man CoolJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    6,825

    So I am getting a PC built...

    And one of the tech's was telling me I would bearly be able to play doom 3 on these specs...


    P4 - 3.2 Ghz
    1 GB ram
    ATI - 9800 Pro



    He was telling me I would need a WAY better card to even play it on medium settings. Ive done my homework on Doom III and there are alot of people with way worse systems playing it on decent quality.


    Any comments? I would like to buy a video card for around $350 or less.
    ** Speed 3370(down)/425(up) kbps **
    My IROC-Z28

  2. #2
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,164
    i play at 1024 x ? at high settings with the PC in my signature and it runs fine for the most part, i am going to upgrade my video card maybe after half-life 2 comes out, will first see how it runs though.

    your system will play it fine
    4930K@4.3~32GBGskill~asusX79deluxe~Vega64~240GB-SSD-OS drive~500GB-SSD-scratch~240GB-SSD-thrash~4TB storage~6.4TB-ioMemorycard~Windows 7 pro
    *~ SG stats

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    8,073
    I have a
    P4 2.4c
    Gig o ram
    ATI 9800 Pro
    and Im playing it at 1024x768 high setting and its golden. My next Video Card will be a 6800GT though
    She's presenting like a mandrill!

  4. #4
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,252
    u should be fine
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    51,001
    <==2.6C running at 3.38
    1.5 gigs RAM
    9800 Pro 256 megger

    Play Doom 3 at High Quality, at 1280x1024, and she averages low to mid 40 FPS, sometimes dipping into the 30s, sometimes hitting the 50s.

    Perhaps this so called "tech" can't read the dozens of articles out there which talk about how well Doom 3 scales on various system hardware. You should print out a few of the articles, and give them to him.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    Jen's Best Friend RoscoPColtrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    6,153
    It will work great! Mine runs smooth as can be now that i have 1gig of ram!
    ****************************************************************************************
    Abit NF7-S 2.0, Barton 2500+ @ 2.2 Ghz, 2 Gig ddr3200, 80gig Seagate HDD, ATI x850 PRO @ 550/600, WinXP Pro

    J B K M

    Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl XL Champions!!!!!

  7. #7
    IROC-Z Man CoolJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    6,825
    Ok guys, I really need your help now!


    My dad and I were going to split the computer price down the middle and each pay half. Well my dad just came up to me and said all I have to pay is for the graphics card


    So ive been talking to some buddies and one of them showed me this card (Works good with doom 3):

    http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...130-202&depa=1


    Is that one better then the 9800 pro? I am looking at a bunch of cards and benchmarks and am getting confused.


    I am not sure if I should dish out $400 + for a card...
    Last edited by CoolJ; 08-11-04 at 07:45 PM.
    ** Speed 3370(down)/425(up) kbps **
    My IROC-Z28

  8. #8
    Jen's Best Friend RoscoPColtrane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Fort Worth, Texas
    Posts
    6,153
    Check the hardware forum there is a post right now comparing the two. If you ONLY have o pay for video card then take all the money you had and get the best one you can...
    ****************************************************************************************
    Abit NF7-S 2.0, Barton 2500+ @ 2.2 Ghz, 2 Gig ddr3200, 80gig Seagate HDD, ATI x850 PRO @ 550/600, WinXP Pro

    J B K M

    Pittsburgh Steelers Super Bowl XL Champions!!!!!

  9. #9
    Tortoises R0cks :D Rivas's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,252
    Quote Originally Posted by CoolJ

    I am not sure if I should dish out $400 + for a card...
    do it its gonna last longer
    To be human is to choose.


    It is better to die on your feet
    than to live on your knees.

    - Emiliano Zapata

  10. #10
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,232
    Quote Originally Posted by CoolJ
    And one of the tech's was telling me I would bearly be able to play doom 3 on these specs...


    P4 - 3.2 Ghz
    1 GB ram
    ATI - 9800 Pro



    He was telling me I would need a WAY better card to even play it on medium settings. Ive done my homework on Doom III and there are alot of people with way worse systems playing it on decent quality.


    Any comments? I would like to buy a video card for around $350 or less.

    I play with a 3.0c, 1 gb ram and a 9700 pro...800x600 and high quality works great and looks great.

  11. #11
    SG Enthusiast Joel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    F.WV
    Posts
    2,981
    A video card is one of the things that will last you a while, perhaps longer than your system, depending on which you buy.

    Spend as much on it as you can.
    Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.6GHz on Water | 8GB DDR2 | 2x 74GB Raptor RAID0 | 250GB Storage | P5E | 2900XT @ 850 Core | DVD-RW | 2x 24" Widescreen LCD | Saitek Eclipse | Logitech G5

  12. #12
    IROC-Z Man CoolJ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Buffalo,NY
    Posts
    6,825
    Dammit the 6800 gt's arent in stock
    ** Speed 3370(down)/425(up) kbps **
    My IROC-Z28

  13. #13
    Junior Member zooner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Buffalo, NY
    Posts
    8,839
    if you do get the vanilla 6800, check out the leadtek.
    Strap It On Whenever It Seems Appropriate

    http://www.tomsclan.com

  14. #14
    Imperial Impotentate brembo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    crawlspaces
    Posts
    18,725
    That tech is a MORON. The 9800 Pro will do fine with high settings on D3, granted not at 1600x1200. A 3 GHZ chip and a gig of ram combined with that vid card is a potent rig. I think IRS has a similar chip, 2 gigs of ram and a 9800 of some sort and he said that it plays great.
    Tao_Jones Cult Member since 2004
    I gave Miss Manners a Dirty Sanchez, and she LIKED it.

  15. #15
    Certified SG Addict Indy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    25,529
    Blog Entries
    24
    Quote Originally Posted by brembo
    That tech is a MORON. The 9800 Pro will do fine with high settings on D3, granted not at 1600x1200. A 3 GHZ chip and a gig of ram combined with that vid card is a potent rig. I think IRS has a similar chip, 2 gigs of ram and a 9800 of some sort and he said that it plays great.



    My system, which is an AMD 3000/400 MHz FSB/1 gig ram/9600 pro, runs Doom³ with no problems at all...

  16. #16
    Senior Member Blisster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    9,668
    yeah, he was just trying to upsell I'm sure.


    Quote Originally Posted by Edward Abbey
    A patriot must always be ready to defend his country against his government.

Similar Threads

  1. Two NICS in a PC
    By Gort9k in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 07-30-04, 01:29 PM
  2. Can't ftp to my pc from the net
    By chermesh in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-04, 07:21 PM
  3. CB user accessing our pc
    By Suzie in forum Network Security
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-08-04, 03:17 PM
  4. IBM TP 770 & PC cards (pcmcia)
    By joey in forum General Discussion Board
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-23-04, 09:05 AM
  5. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 04-20-04, 02:55 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •