Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Tweak XP

  1. #1
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124

    Tweak XP

    TCP properties for IP Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.

    TCP options string = 020405b401010402
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.
    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 17520
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 17520

    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    256960 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product (Note this is not a speed test):

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 700.8 kbps (87.6 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 280.32 kbps (35.04 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    Consider increasing your RWIN value to optimize TCP/IP for broadband.
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 118 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000


    Here are my settings. I'm running XP on Cox cable, speed is advertised at 3000/256. My speed at present showed 2511/189. I was much closer to 3000/ 256 on ME. I know I'm leaving something out. Do I need a different version of cablenut? Since I had ME, sorry for the dumb questions.Replies are appreciated. It's way late here

    reeo

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    no you don't need a new version of cablenut you need to goto options menu of cablenut and choose operating systems.


    DefaultReceiveWindow =384000
    DefaultSendWindow = 32768
    DisableAddressSharing = 1
    InitialLargeBufferCount = 200
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 480
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 640
    LargeBufferSize = 819200
    MaxFastTransmit = 64000
    MediumBufferSize = 150400
    PriorityBoost = 0
    SmallBufferSize = 12800
    TransmitWorker = 32
    FastSendDatagramThreshold = 1024
    EnableFastRouteLookup = 1
    EnablePMTUDiscovery = 1
    IgnorePushBitsOnReceive = 0
    GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize = 64240
    MaxFreeTcbs = 8000
    MaxHashTableSize = 16384
    MaxNormLookupMemory = 5000000
    SackOpts = 1
    SynAttackProtect = 1
    Tcp1323Opts = 0
    TcpLogLevel = 1
    TcpMaxDupAcks = 2
    TcpMaxHalfOpen = 100
    TcpMaxHalfRetried = 80
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpTimedWaitDelay = 30
    TcpUseRFC1122UrgentPointer = 0
    TcpWindowSize = 64340k
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server = 20
    MaxConnectionsPerServer = 10
    DefaultTTL = 64
    DisableUserTOSSetting = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 6
    DefaultTOSValue = 240

    1. Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need.



    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections -

    LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.



    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer. Set your NIC duplex mode to 10mb half duplex for Cable, for DSL it is ISP dependent unless you are using a router, if so then set it to 100mb full duplex for both Cable & DSL (the instructions are in my Help & Tips link). If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.



    4. Clear your temporary internet files.



    5. Power cycle your modem, unplug it for atleast 15 seconds.



    6. Download and update then do a scan with SpyBot 1.2 http://beam.to/spybotsd & Ad Aware 6.0 http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster to stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES.



    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in Read1st link.



    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it then visit Zonelabs.com for further instructions on removing it's left over junk.



    9. Install Outpost Firewall http://www.agnitum.com\ or Sygate Firewall http://www.sygate.com/ , both have FREE and Pro versions and are heads above ZA.



    10. Scan for viruses with your antivirus app, if you do not have one get one IMMEDIATELY, AVG 6.0 http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_dwnl_free.php is an excellent FREE AV app.



    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124
    Thanks, that should give me someting to do for a while. I did install an older version of zone alarm, too bad. I have the instructions on how to delete it though. Thanks again

    reeo

  4. #4
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124
    Humm, The reg tweak in your first post on the main tweaking forum page says to navigate here for faster web page loading.

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\ServiceProvider

    There isn't any Services after current control set. Not in my XP reg. I found service provider but of course that isn't right. I did it manually, but I searched for the key using find and come up dry. Is there a typo or something in that post? I did everthing else and it did speed up. Well, 2790 and 224. Not the best but it's better. Thanks for the help.

    reeo

  5. #5
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by mccoffee


    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in Read1st link.

    For this faster web page tweak, where does the 1 go in win XP? Here is 1 reg setting. Appreciate the help.


    DnsPriority REG_DWORD 0X000007do (2000)

  6. #6
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    YOu change thease in this key you are in the right place
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\ServiceProv ider

    On the right for ALL OS's change these entries: (ALL values are HEXIDECIMAL)

    Class - 1
    DnsPriority - 1
    HostsPriority - 1
    LocalPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1
    Comptia a+ n+

  7. #7
    Regular Member reeo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Phx, AZ
    Posts
    124
    Quote Originally Posted by mccoffee
    YOu change thease in this key you are in the right place
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\ServiceProv ider

    On the right for ALL OS's change these entries: (ALL values are HEXIDECIMAL)

    Class - 1
    DnsPriority - 1
    HostsPriority - 1
    LocalPriority - 1
    NetbtPriority - 1

    Yes I know it is on the right. My example shows one of the of numbers at the right of the registry key you listed above. The question is where does the 1 go? Does it replace the first zero the third zero or what? Thanks

    reeo

  8. #8
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    I think Your asking about the windows me comptuer but i might not be sure xp is below this. sorry about any confusion

    For 98 & ME they should look like:

    01 00 00 00


    If you are asking about xp you just delete the old value in there and put in a 1

    here is a patch that will make it eaiser if you want to see for your self
    http://www.j79zlr.com/reg/FasterPageLoading.reg for 2k/xp
    Comptia a+ n+

Similar Threads

  1. An awesome tweak for WinXP
    By Brandon_k_W in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-01-03, 05:24 PM
  2. System.ini tweak analysis...Important...plz read this...
    By Freddy in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-19-03, 02:10 PM
  3. Interesting
    By Lobo in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 49
    Last Post: 09-13-02, 06:44 AM
  4. alcatel adsl tweak, some body have this modem with tweak working or hack
    By tommycoins50 in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-07-02, 05:58 PM
  5. tweak assessment
    By nigel docherty in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-20-01, 03:15 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •