Thread: BFV Server

slyguyoh

BFV Server

Hey guys,

I'm a little new to on-line gaming. I'm a networking professional who is trying to set up a killer BFV server in my datacenter. I understand that low latency is the key to a real-time playing experience. What kind of response time is considered low-ping? 70ms, 60ms? I set my server up as gs.buckeyenetgames.com if you'd like to take a look.

Thanks for your help.

Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Several things factor in.

Obviously the bandwidth that the server is on. Ours can push 4-5 megs up and down when it's crowded. Besides the actual bandwidth that the server is co-located on...when you're talking a T-3 or some variety of OC-3...obviously what else are you sharing that connection with? A Battlefield server can push a full T-1 all by itself once it gets around 20 - 24 players. Not many people can afford a full T-1 just for one server, so what else are you sharing that bandwidth with? You mention data-center, I'll assume it's perhaps a fractional OC-3 that feeds the datacenter. Ours sits on a 15 meg chunk of OC-3. A few months ago, it enjoyed that full bandwidth with only 1x other server which did a radio internet show several days out of each month. Now it's sharing that 15 megs with quite a few other things, and the bandwidth will increase to 20 megs soon to accomodate the larger load. Also many data centers will "meter", or "cap" the bandwidth available to each server via the port it's plugged into on a managed switch. Meaning, say your data center has a full OC-3, I doubt all 155 megs if available to you, a common cap is 2 megs per port.