Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Is it possible to dial into my friends dsl using dial up?

  1. #1
    v3rm
    Guest

    Post Is it possible to dial into my friends dsl using dial up?

    Yeah, just wondering if its in any way possible, if so is it leagle?. Windows connection wizard has the abiltiy to "connect to a netwrok at my workplace", either using dial-up connection, or VPN connection. Which one of these would i use(if possible) to connect to my friend. Id really like to know if there is any way at all to do this.

  2. #2
    Advanced Athlete AceFireball's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Greenville, NC
    Posts
    2,530
    where is your friend in relation to you?

    also this should be in the General cable/dsl fourm or the Networking fourm
    Member - Redneck Yacht Club

  3. #3
    v3rm
    Guest
    thx 4 your reply and i will take this to the cable/dsl forum

    he lives not 2 far away in same area code. dsl is avaible not in my area but less than 3miles down the road... wtf

  4. #4
    SG DC Team Member lance-tek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Posts
    5,601
    and the point would be? you will still be limited to the speeds of your modem ....
    A mistake does not become an error until one refuses to correct it

    Folding for the future

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,867
    The answer is "Yes"...but as noted, you're still limited by your dial up speeds. "A chain is only as strong as its weakest link!" Your dial up entry to his will have a setting to "User remote gateway" which you'll want to check.

    His computer would have to have RAS running and a dial up modem to accept your calling him. Hopefully it's a local call for you to him. Then if it's legal or not depends on his contract with his ISP.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Binghamton, NY
    Posts
    259

    Additional info

    3Mbps/386Kbps DSL PPPoA via local phone company, Speedstream modem/wireless.

Similar Threads

  1. Crazy ass DSL!
    By ziGx in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-27-02, 09:25 PM
  2. Optimizer and new DSL con. (lobo)
    By irongutz in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-27-02, 08:22 AM
  3. Requesting max DSL speed from provider? (long)
    By Mpegger in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-20-02, 09:01 AM
  4. Please, Please help with DSL router, DSL modem problem/query
    By Wytefang in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-28-02, 02:54 AM
  5. How to install dsl... please help.
    By Brent_212 in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-06-00, 05:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •