Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: default tos value

  1. #1
    seventoglory
    Guest

    default tos value

    win2kserver roadrunner (3000DL/320UL I think?)


    Ok, Im a neophyte to a lot of the in's and out's of tweaking and I seemed to get more than one opinion of where I should set my default TOS value one person said 90 one said 92 I tried them both and I noticed a difference on the side of 92, So I said to myself why not try 93? Now that I have it on 93 im getting burst speeds of 5000 kbs and a stable speed around 2700-3000
    where as before my speed was around 2400-2600kbs. Is this just a fluke and the tos value has nothing to do with it or what? Also can setting it to 93 make my connection unstable as no one that I see here sets it that high?

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,371
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,107
    vvvvv.good Q : TOS value - settings or fashion ?
    IMO can be added to thread 'Tweaking can change anytime' by dannjr
    http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=140509

    ad REM
    so 'as short as possible' for me hehe

    evry IP packet (IPv4 or IPv6) has TOS byte.
    - used for contol & solution mainly trafic problems (also path & several sophisticeded ... ect)
    - impotrance of mentioned problems solution increased if exist ISP botle neck gate(s)
    eg gate to internet in Eutopean cableISP = similar to campus net
    two CAPS: to intrinsic net vs to internet
    or transAtlantic gate
    ect

    - acctually used mainly for LANside or campus like net than for WANside
    - on WANside vvvvv. often TOSsettings not aplicable - depends on ISP & used TOSmodel

    pay attention that 'TOS byte' is not 'TOS field'
    exactly : 'TOS byte'(8bits) consist of 'IPprcedence field'(3bits) + 'TOS field'(5bits)
    the last one 'TOS field'(5bits) has optional
    (depends on TOSmodel) 'IP TOS' setings 3or4bits & 'Reserve' 1or2bits


    there are several models (interpretations; applications) of TOS settings
    unfortunately for us - existing in the same time
    eg explained in mentioned by mccoffee above link(strongly recomended)
    in last post of thread by Plox : RCF 1349 vs RCF 2474 two models
    BTW near future use of TOS settings are sugested in RCF 3168

    [b]instead of TOS values summmary[\b]
    for internet connections use TOS settings are still contoversial.
    so you can use it - if you want.
    or if it work for you. + hehehehehehe
    but depends to TOSmodel used (or not) by ISP
    same settings can be intrinsic contradictive

    so you can try : default TOS=0
    -|+ for previous TOSmodel all values are aplicable(rage 0-255): 90,92,240 ect
    + |- but for latest TOSmodel only a few values are aplicable
    eg the best 46 (the worst : 14,22,30,38) - compare both hehehehehe
    ~ for future model GOK

Similar Threads

  1. Default connection
    By satyre in forum Software Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-19-04, 11:58 AM
  2. My Cablenut settings
    By Cypher in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-20-03, 03:26 PM
  3. why did mnosteelechange the default tos
    By Aznboy in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-09-03, 07:56 PM
  4. Win2k and default settings
    By SnotRocket in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-17-02, 10:28 PM
  5. help a newbie pls?
    By curtcohbain in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-18-01, 09:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •