Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Ok I'm a Newbie and I need a bit of guidance

  1. #1
    [BB] The Jackal
    Guest

    Question Ok I'm a Newbie and I need a bit of guidance

    Ok,

    This is my first post so please hold on with me. Iím currently at work and I have been reading up on how to tweak your cable internet connection and itís my understanding that I need to do a couple of things when I get home. First I want to ensure that I have no spy ware on my computer at all; which I generally always have none since I run Spybot and Adware quite frequently. Second I could perform this little trick here in order to allow for faster browsing on web pages and such.

    1) Start > Run > Regedit [OK]

    2) Go to the key: :" \HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curr
    entVersion\InternetSettings"

    3) Look for "MaxConnectionsPerServer" and "MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server". If they're not there, go to step 4. If they are present, go to step 5.

    4) Make 'em (Edit > New > DWORD thingy). Use the exact names (no quotes) as seen in step 3.

    5) Double click one of them, and enter 16, or 32 if you want more. Note, these numbers are DEC and not HEX. Double click the other one and set it to the same value.
    So far am I on the right track?

    3rd I can run TCP IP analyzer and from there I can install Cablenut and input settings into that in order to maximize my internet connection that way as wellÖ Correct?

    I have been reading all day and it seems the more I read the more confused I become. So far am I going down the right path or not? Are the steps I have in place so far going to help maximize the use of my internet connection? If not please someone chime in and help out.


    Also I am behind a router and my ISP provider is Charter Communications. Itís supposedly a 3.0 meg connection and I have a Motorola Surfboard SB5100. My downloads average about 520 - 575.

    What do you guys think; am I on the right track so far? Are there other steps I need to do once this is all done.

    Also Iím confused as to where I would get my numbers to plug into the Cablenut program. I see that in these forums a few members are supply others with data to plug in. Where do I get this?

    For an example: One user posted this:
    DSL
    Bell Sympatico caps 1500/400
    behind router (if that helps)

    TCP properties for IP = 65.93.210.212 ()
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 5.01; Windows NT 5.0)
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.

    TCP options string = 020405ac01010402
    MTU = 1492
    MTU is optimized for PPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for optimal throughput.
    MSS = 1452
    MSS is optimized for PPPoE DSL broadband. If not, consider raising MTU to 1500 for maximum throughput.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 17424
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 0 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 17424

    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    511104 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    255552 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 4)
    127776 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    63888 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product:

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 696.96 kbps (87.12 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 278.784 kbps (34.848 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    Consider increasing your RWIN value to optimize TCP/IP for broadband.
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 120 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000

    OS: Windows 2000
    Then another user responded with this.
    DefaultReceiveWindow =192000
    DefaultSendWindow = 76800
    DisableAddressSharing = 1
    InitialLargeBufferCount = 200
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 480
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 640
    LargeBufferSize = 81920
    MaxFastTransmit = 64000
    MediumBufferSize = 15040
    PriorityBoost = 0
    SmallBufferSize = 1280
    TransmitWorker = 32
    FastSendDatagramThreshold = 4096
    EnableFastRouteLookup = 1
    EnablePMTUDiscovery = 1
    IgnorePushBitOnReceives = 0
    GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize = leave blank
    MaxFreeTcbs = 8000
    MaxHashTableSize = 16384
    MaxNormLookupMemory = 5000000
    SackOpts = 1
    SynAttackProtect = 1
    Tcp1323Opts = 1
    TcpLogLevel = 1
    TcpMaxDupAcks = 3
    TcpMaxHalfOpen = 100
    TcpMaxHalfOpenRetried = 80
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1460
    TcpTimedWaitDelay = 30
    TcpUseRFC1122UrgentPointer = 0
    TcpWindowSize = leave blank
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server = 20
    MaxConnectionsPerServer = 10
    DefaultTTL = 64
    DisableUserTOSSetting = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 6
    DefaultTOSValue = 92
    Where is the first user getting that information from and where is the 2nd getting his information from? Is the first user getting that information from TCP IP Ananlyzer?

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Try the following in cablenut

    DefaultReceiveWindow =384000
    DefaultSendWindow = 76800
    DisableAddressSharing = 1
    InitialLargeBufferCount = 200
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 480
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 640
    LargeBufferSize = 81920
    MaxFastTransmit = 64000
    MediumBufferSize = 15040
    PriorityBoost = 0
    SmallBufferSize = 1280
    TransmitWorker = 32
    FastSendDatagramThreshold = 4096
    EnableFastRouteLookup = 1
    EnablePMTUDiscovery = 1
    IgnorePushBitOnReceives = 0
    GlobalMaxTcpWindowSize = leave blank
    MaxFreeTcbs = 8000
    MaxHashTableSize = 16384
    MaxNormLookupMemory = 5000000
    SackOpts = 1
    SynAttackProtect = 1
    Tcp1323Opts = 1
    TcpLogLevel = 1
    TcpMaxDupAcks = 3
    TcpMaxHalfOpen = 100
    TcpMaxHalfOpenRetried = 80
    TcpRecvSegmentSize = 1452
    TcpSendSegmentSize = 1452
    TcpTimedWaitDelay = 30
    TcpUseRFC1122UrgentPointer = 0
    TcpWindowSize = leave blank
    MaxConnectionsPer1_0Server = 20
    MaxConnectionsPerServer = 10
    DefaultTTL = 64
    DisableUserTOSSetting = 0
    TcpMaxDataRetransmissions = 6
    DefaultTOSValue = 92





    Co/o manosteele52

    . Under your LAN connection - properties - general tab, uninstall all the protocols there that you do not need.

    2. Open IE and select tools - internet options - connections -
    LAN settings, make sure NOTHING there is checked.

    3. ALWAYS connect your modem via ethernet (NIC) and make sure you have the latest drivers for your NIC from the manufacturer. Set your NIC duplex mode to 10mb half duplex for Cable, for DSL it is ISP dependent unless you are using a router, if so then set it to 100mb full duplex for both Cable & DSL (the instructions are in my Help & Tips link). If you are using a router make sure you have the latest firmware.

    4. Clear your temporary internet files.

    5. Power cycle your modem, unplug it for atleast 15 seconds.

    6. Download and update then do a scan with SpyBot 1.2 http://beam.to/spybotsd & Ad Aware 6.0 http://www.lavasoftusa.com/support/download to remove any spyware then install and update SpywareBlaster to stay spyware FREE. YOU MUST USE BOTH AD AWARE & SPYBOT TO ENSURE YOU ARE SPYWARE FREE SINCE ONE FINDS WHAT THE OTHER MISSES.

    7. Make sure you do the faster web page tweak in Read1st link.

    8. If you have Zone Alarm as a firewall uninstall it then visit Zonelabs.com for further instructions on removing it's left over junk.

    9. Install Outpost Firewall http://www.agnitum.com\ or Sygate Firewall http://www.sygate.com/ , both have FREE and Pro versions and are heads above ZA.

    10. Scan for viruses with your antivirus app, if you do not have one get one IMMEDIATELY, AVG 6.0 http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_dwnl_free.php is an excellent FREE AV app.

    11. Make sure you have ALL of the latest Windows Updates.
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    [BB] The Jackal
    Guest
    Awesome thanks a lot!! I'll try this when I get home.

    BTW how did you know to use those settings? Or are they just some standard ones that more often then none they will work with most users?

  4. #4
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    Standard with the afd parameters that work well with most

    There is some variations of it

    InitialLargeBufferCount = 100
    InitialMediumBufferCount = 240
    InitialSmallBufferCount = 320
    Comptia a+ n+

  5. #5
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Hi [BB] The Jackal, just got your PM , thanks for the compliments. Looks as if mccoffee has got you straight, enjoy.




Similar Threads

  1. Bit of newbie network help please
    By Humboldt in forum Networking Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-31-03, 01:37 AM
  2. newbie
    By uk rider in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 06-03-03, 05:14 PM
  3. Newbie seeking guidance
    By PerryA in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-06-01, 12:32 PM
  4. Newbie settings can you help?
    By Bigdood in forum General Broadband Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-24-01, 04:47 AM
  5. newbie !!!!!!!! (plz help me )
    By barak-kl in forum Broadband Tweaks Help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-30-01, 03:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •