Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Random Game Shutdown

  1. #1
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,943

    Random Game Shutdown

    Hey guys, well finnaly im going to ask this after many months of playing madden 2004 on my PC. For some reason it will just randomly kick me to the dektop, or shut down. What can this be.

    This is with a new format, a new vid card, a gig of ram, and a computer with ok temps. Any input?

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,947
    Drivers fully updated?
    Windows updated? (including Direct X)
    Depending on which antivirus app you're using, try disabling real time file protection while playing the game. Just remember to enable it when you're done playing.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,943
    they all seem to be updated. Yeah i have real time checkin on, i guess that will have to go... Thanks

  4. #4
    Venge This!
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    2,394
    memtest86 your mem
    Rob

  5. #5
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,943
    Originally posted by SLK
    memtest86 your mem
    dont have a floppy drive

  6. #6
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,232
    hmm, memory seems like a viable culprit...also have you made sure to get all the updates/patches for the game itself?

  7. #7
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,943
    Originally posted by loop2kil
    hmm, memory seems like a viable culprit...also have you made sure to get all the updates/patches for the game itself?
    Game is up to date...
    Ran the test actually, well the memory part, got too impatient... all passed. I have 2 512mb crucial sticks in there, not oc'd... I turn of all backround programs, and still getting it, well actually its worse now... bah

  8. #8
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,232
    does it do this with other games too, or just this one?
    checked ur psu rails?
    made sure ur video card is seated properly?
    disabled ur sound card to rule it out?

  9. #9
    SG Enthusiast colour's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawai'i
    Posts
    1,597
    this happens to me with Medieval: Total War. almost the same situation, new vidcard, newl formatted HD, scandisked, up to date drivers, moderate temps.

    my first thought was infact the AV but that fix only worked for a while then its starting to happen again.
    asdf?

  10. #10
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,149
    Originally posted by aagiants
    dont have a floppy drive
    they have an ISO that you can burn to disc on their site.
    4930K@4.3~32GBGskill~asusX79deluxe~Vega64~240GB-SSD-OS drive~500GB-SSD-scratch~240GB-SSD-thrash~4TB storage~6.4TB-ioMemorycard~Windows 7 pro
    *~ SG stats

  11. #11
    Reigning Genious aagiants's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    5,943
    i have a new vid card, and it happened with both of them, one gf4ti4200 one with my 9800 pro, but it happens a LOT mroe with this card. maybe i'll see if there are any sound card updates

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •