Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Question about flash and html

  1. #1
    Moderator Roody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    30,761

    Question Question about flash and html

    My site is working on a flash intro. My question is how do I code this into html to have the intro played when someone goes to a index.htm or index.php?

  2. #2
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,337
    Why is this a problem if the intro page is named index.php or index.html as it should be?
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  3. #3
    Moderator Roody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    30,761
    The problem is that I wasn't sure if that is how you did it? So all I do is create a index.htm or index.php page and drop in a link to the flash intro and it will appear when people go to a index.htm?

    Its the coding that I dont know how to do.

  4. #4
    Moderator Roody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    30,761
    DO you have any coding examples for me to look at Tony?

    If so that would be really helpful.

  5. #5
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,337
    You do not 'drop in a llink' to the flash object. The flash object is embedded in the index page using the <object> tag.

    <html>
    <head>
    <title>Title</title>
    </head>
    <body>

    <OBJECT classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
    codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0" WIDTH=320 HEIGHT=180 hspace=0 vspace=0 salign=l>
    <PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="Sample.swf">
    <PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE="#000000">
    <PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high>
    <PARAM NAME=loop VALUE=true>
    <PARAM NAME=menu VALUE=true>
    <PARAM NAME=play VALUE=true>
    <PARAM NAME=scale VALUE=exactfit>
    <EMBED src="Preview2.swf"
    pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"
    type="application/x-shockwave-flash"
    swLiveConnect=true width=320 height=180 hspace=0 vspace=0 salign=l bgcolor="#000000" quality=high loop=true menu=true play=true scale=exactfit</EMBED>
    </OBJECT>

    </body>
    </html>
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  6. #6
    Moderator Roody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    30,761
    Ok so let me ask you something. Forgive my ignorance, but its easier to see as an example. Lets say the flash file was in a directory called "downloads" and was called "gamegenflash". How would I code that in accordance with what you had in here?

    Thanks again for the help Tony.

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    4,717
    <EMBED src="Preview2.swf"
    changes to

    <EMBED src="downloads/gamegenflash.swf"

    the direction of the slash in the path will be different if you are, ugh, on a windows server

    You always make the path relative to the document root.

    EDIT - do you use dreamweaver as well? I'm assuming no...
    anything is possible - nothing is free


    Quote Originally Posted by Blisster
    It *would* be brokeback bay if I in fact went and hung out with Skye and co (did I mention he is teh hotness?)

  8. #8
    Moderator Roody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    30,761
    Ok thanks Cyberskye

  9. #9
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,337
    In response to PM:
    set path to file, <valu=, and dimensions

    <OBJECT classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000"
    codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0" WIDTH=320 HEIGHT=180 hspace=0 vspace=0 salign=l>
    <PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="[B}NAME OF FILE{/b}">
    <PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE="#000000">
    <PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high>
    <PARAM NAME=loop VALUE=true>
    <PARAM NAME=menu VALUE=true>
    <PARAM NAME=play VALUE=true>
    <PARAM NAME=scale VALUE=exactfit>
    <EMBED src="PATH TO FILE"
    pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash"
    type="application/x-shockwave-flash"
    swLiveConnect=true width=320 height=180 hspace=0 vspace=0 salign=l bgcolor="#000000" quality=high loop=true menu=true play=true scale=exactfit</EMBED>
    </OBJECT>
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  10. #10
    Moderator Roody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    30,761
    Im getting the exact same problem Tony. When you get a chance can you take a look at the link I gave you so you can see what I mean?

    Thx

  11. #11
    Moderator Roody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    30,761
    Can someone here take a look at my code and tell me why this flash intro isnt loading correctly?

    Thx

    -Link info removed by Roody-
    Last edited by Roody; 02-24-04 at 03:53 PM.

  12. #12
    Moderator Roody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    30,761
    in the code above it is taking the following ": D" and making it into a smiley. Just push the two together and it will resolve it for you.

  13. #13
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    4,717
    Your EMBED src tag is good - I copied the code into Dreamweaver and can preview the Flash piece are you sure you put this code in the right place?

    Again, I can't see what you see - just the flash movie.
    anything is possible - nothing is free


    Quote Originally Posted by Blisster
    It *would* be brokeback bay if I in fact went and hung out with Skye and co (did I mention he is teh hotness?)

  14. #14
    Moderator Roody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    30,761
    No worries I actually fixed it just a moment ago. Ill send everyone links to this stuff when we launch the new frontpage tomorrow night

  15. #15
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    DC
    Posts
    4,717
    Not enough - you asked. Tony and I responded. We deserve to get the answer, too
    anything is possible - nothing is free


    Quote Originally Posted by Blisster
    It *would* be brokeback bay if I in fact went and hung out with Skye and co (did I mention he is teh hotness?)

  16. #16
    SG Enthusiast FunK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Posts
    2,721
    One thing I didn't see was a "skip" button to allow someone to ggo straight to the e107 page.

    it's always nice to have a skip button. No matter how much you may want folks to look at your intro, some people will just close the browser and leave your site if they hve to wait for an intro to play..

    Just a suggestion to add that feature..
    Simply run adaware, spybot, ZoneAlarm, HijackThis, AVG, update windows daily, have a router, don't open e-mail, turn off action scripting, don't use P2P networks, don't violate EULAs, and wear a condom to get Windows secured.

    People say Linux is alot of work!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •