Thread: the right database for the right job, help!

i hate you. no really. thechemgeek's Avatar

the right database for the right job, help!

first off, i'm a chemist. heh. i prob know a bit more than the average joe about computers/networks. i can normally pick up new software and learn it quite quickly...but for the life of me i'm having trouble with learning MS-Access.

i could give a lot of background on my project, but it can be summed up by saying i've been using Excel to record "data", but it's getting quite BIG and i just found out from my manager that i need to give access to it to others. the problem is i need to give them limited access to it and i don't want them editing the tables/forms/queries/etc.

basically, i need to create a database for which only i will be entering data, others will view and comment, making the entire thing searchable for keywords, and have it be a bit more user-friendly than MS-Access seems to be at the moment. also, it would be nice to have a good, clean interface for those not familiar with it, so that they can search/view it, etc.

any ideas??? other database programs i can check out??

A lot of it depends on what kind of access they need to the database. Do you need to generate input or query forms for them? Does it only need to be flat file, or should it be relational?

I agree and understand your frustration with Access. I've worked with databases since DBaseII, and I find it annoying and superficial. I hate the way it stores its files and indexes, and the whole table structure- bah!

If you only need super-simple flat file databases, File-Maker Pro works well.