Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: 200 Gigabyte Hard Drive

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phoenix Az
    Posts
    115

    200 Gigabyte Hard Drive

    My buddy is having trouble with his hard drive. Its a 200 gigabyte hard drive , but its only detecting it at 127...

  2. #2
    Intense, lacks ambition iaus10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,419
    most likely a limitation of their bios. I just dealt with this at work... let me find you a link.


    EDIT: found on Western Digital's website

    http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc....cGFnZT0x&p_li=
    Abit NF7, 2500+ o/c'd to 3200+, 1GB 3200 DDR, 9800Pro 128M, DVDrw, 80GB 8M, XPpro

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phoenix Az
    Posts
    115
    thx ill check it out.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phoenix Az
    Posts
    115
    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;303013



    this is where it leads me , but thats complicated..

  5. #5
    SCSI Dude Faust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Huntington Beach, CA
    Posts
    8,725
    mind if i express a wee bit of irritation here?
    "Today is a black day in the history of mankind."

    - Leo Szilard

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phoenix Az
    Posts
    115
    umm , im already a little mad..cant use like 70 gigs of my hd

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phoenix Az
    Posts
    115
    can anyone help?

  8. #8
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    Originally posted by Gibbs
    can anyone help?
    Originally posted by iaus10
    most likely a limitation of their bios. I just dealt with this at work... let me find you a link.


    EDIT: found on Western Digital's website

    http://wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc....cGFnZT0x&p_li=

  9. #9
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,191
    did the hard drive come with an ATA controller card because my 160GB drive did.

    if so use that card to get around the issue, i didn't need to though.

    what motherboard is he using ?
    4930K@4.3~32GBGskill~asusX79deluxe~Vega64~240GB-SSD-OS drive~500GB-SSD-scratch~240GB-SSD-thrash~10TB storage~6.4TB-ioMemorycard~Windows 7 pro
    *~ SG stats

  10. #10
    Intense, lacks ambition iaus10's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    1,419
    You should try to learn how to read technical articles and knowledge base bulletins. I'll try to translate what those pages said.

    Either you(your buddy) have an older motherboard or older version of windows.

    As Mark said, an updated ata controller card will help... or any of the following could also work:

    If it's Windows XP make sure it's Service pack 1,
    If it's 2000 Make sure it's Service pack 3 or later.

    Check the motherboard website and see if there is an updated BIOS available. You can tell what version you're currently using as it's listed when your system is starting up.
    Last edited by iaus10; 11-21-03 at 01:39 PM.
    Abit NF7, 2500+ o/c'd to 3200+, 1GB 3200 DDR, 9800Pro 128M, DVDrw, 80GB 8M, XPpro

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Phoenix Az
    Posts
    115
    ok i got it figured out.

    ok it DOES come with a ata controller , that didnt work , so i plugged it straight into motherboard, stil lnothing. I fiddled with it for like 4 more hours , couldnt get it working , some guy said get Partition Magic 8 , so i got it , resized it , now its at 186 which i hear is the max for a 200 gig hd , for filing and such. Thanks for your help though guys!

  12. #12
    I got mine to work on a old 440bx chipset...so anythings possible.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •