Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Web pages open slow but connection speed is 1.5Mbps

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    24

    Web pages open slow but connection speed is 1.5Mbps

    HELP! I have a 1.5Mbps cable connection and test my speed regularly. I am getting good speed results but for the past few days web pages seem to open slow and some of them do not display the page content at all! I have updated my anti-virus ran several scans and no viruses were found. I ran ad-aware and it found nothing. I cleared out my cookies, cleared out my temporary internet files, ran defrag, and scan disk. Nothing seems to help! Any ideas?
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-7VAX
    Chipset: VT8377 Apollo KT400
    400 WATT. power supply
    Microsoft Windows XP Home
    60gig 7200rpm Maxtor HD/ 40gig 7200 rpm Western Digital HD,
    AMD Athlon 1800+ XP ~1540MHz
    512MB DDR RAM (256+256)
    NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 64MB.
    VIA (AC'97) on board sound
    50X CD ROM
    3 1/2" 1.44 meg floppy
    10/100 Fast Ethernet On Board Network Adapter
    Motorola SB4101 SURFboard Cable Modem,
    1.5Mbps Internet Connection,
    Monitor:FuturePower 17" flat screen 1152x864res. (32 bit)

  2. #2
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    Welcome to Speedguide, please read here so that we can properly help you, please read it carefully since it will most likely answer any questions you may have. If after reading it you still need help please post the answers to the questions at the top.

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    24
    Ok, I am still having problems. Sometimes it is just fine. I click the link or enter the URL and hit enter and POP! there it is. Sometimes it is very slow. I click the link or enter the URL and hit enter and it just sits there for a while and then pops open the page. Like here at Speedguide.net I click a link or enter the URL and it pops open, and sometimes it takes a while to open. Time of day, internet traffic, and speed do not seem to be part of the problem. I continue to use several speed tests and get very close to my 1500k.
    Sometimes it still does not display the page at all! Here is an example:
    I go to the MSN speed test page and it displays just fine, a little slow but it does display. I enter my area code, check my connection type and click test it. The test is performed and then it just displays the top bar of the web site. The majority of the page where the results are supposed to be displayed is blank! And many web pages have been doing this for a few days now.

    I downloaded Spybot S&D, and SpywareBlaster. I already had Ad-Aware. I ran them all and cleaned everything up and immunized. I used the Speedguide TCP/IP Analyzer and TCP/IP Optimizer. Again I updated my anti-virus ran several scans and no viruses were found. I clear out my cookies, and temporary internet files every day or more. I ran defrag, and scan disk.

    I completed the following:

    Select "Every visit to the page" and set the amount of disk space to use: to no more than 80MB.

    "Override automatic cookie handling" and for First-party Cookies - Accept, Third-party Cookies - Block and check "Always allow session cookies. Now NO MORE SPYWARE COOKIES!

    I used the tweak for faster page downloading:

    For XP & 2K

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic
    es\Tcpip\ServiceProvider

    On the right for ALL OS's change these entries: (ALL values are HEXIDECIMAL)


    Class = 1
    DnsPriority = 1
    HostsPriority = 1
    LocalPriority = 1
    NetbtPriority = 1
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    ---------------------------------------------------------

    I had some difficulty on exactly wich values to use when finding my latency. So I was unable to use the formula or calculator to find my "Perfect (RWIN)".
    I have posted the results of my tracert here. Maybe you could explain wich values to use or have a look and let me know what my perfect (RWIN) is.


    Tracing route to yahoo.com [66.218.71.198]

    over a maximum of 30 hops:



    1 11 ms 7 ms 7 ms 10.154.16.1

    2 8 ms 7 ms 11 ms 172.23.34.1

    3 8 ms 11 ms 6 ms 172.23.33.33

    4 31 ms 25 ms 25 ms 12.119.93.53

    5 32 ms 33 ms 32 ms tbr2-p013102.wswdc.ip.att.net [12.122.3.62]

    6 30 ms 32 ms 32 ms ggr2-p390.wswdc.ip.att.net [12.123.9.85]

    7 33 ms 32 ms 33 ms so-2-0-0.edge1.Washington1.Level3.net [209.244.219.141]

    8 32 ms 34 ms 34 ms so-5-0-0.gar2.Washington1.Level3.net [209.244.11.13]

    9 107 ms 107 ms 107 ms so-0-0-0.mp1.SanJose1.level3.net [64.159.1.133]

    10 103 ms 104 ms 104 ms gige9-0.ipcolo3.SanJose1.Level3.net [64.159.2.9]

    11 107 ms 108 ms 108 ms unknown.Level3.net [64.152.69.30]

    12 104 ms 103 ms 104 ms w1.rc.vip.scd.yahoo.com [66.218.71.198]



    Trace complete.

    --------------------------------------------------------
    --------------------------------------------------------

    Here are the answers to the questions you requested:

    1. Internet Connection: Cable

    2. ISP: Charter Communications advertised speed 1500/128

    3. TCP properties for IP = XX.XXX.XXX.XXX ()
    Browser/OS = Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
    Notes: Read the Analyzer FAQ if the above is not your IP address.

    TCP options string = 020405b40103030201010402
    MTU = 1500
    MTU is fully optimized for broadband.
    MSS = 1460
    Maximum useful data in each packet = 1460, which equals MSS.

    Default Receive Window (RWIN) = 256960
    RWIN Scaling (RFC1323) = 2 bits
    Unscaled Receive Window = 64240

    RWIN is a multiple of MSS
    Other values for RWIN that might work well with your current MTU/MSS:
    513920 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 8)
    128480 (MSS x 44 * scale factor of 2)
    64240 (MSS x 44)
    bandwidth * delay product:

    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 10278.4 kbps (1284.8 KBytes/s) @ 200ms
    Your RcvWindow limits you to: 4111.36 kbps (513.92 KBytes/s) @ 500ms
    MTU Discovery (RFC1191) = ON
    Time to live left = 52 hops

    TTL value is ok.
    Timestamps (RFC1323) = OFF
    Selective Acknowledgements (RFC2018) = ON
    IP type of service field (RFC1349) = 00000000

    4. Operating System: Windows XP Home



    So now what?

    Thanks.
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-7VAX
    Chipset: VT8377 Apollo KT400
    400 WATT. power supply
    Microsoft Windows XP Home
    60gig 7200rpm Maxtor HD/ 40gig 7200 rpm Western Digital HD,
    AMD Athlon 1800+ XP ~1540MHz
    512MB DDR RAM (256+256)
    NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 64MB.
    VIA (AC'97) on board sound
    50X CD ROM
    3 1/2" 1.44 meg floppy
    10/100 Fast Ethernet On Board Network Adapter
    Motorola SB4101 SURFboard Cable Modem,
    1.5Mbps Internet Connection,
    Monitor:FuturePower 17" flat screen 1152x864res. (32 bit)

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    24
    Well? Was the info I provided enugh?

    Just checking.

    Thanks.
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-7VAX
    Chipset: VT8377 Apollo KT400
    400 WATT. power supply
    Microsoft Windows XP Home
    60gig 7200rpm Maxtor HD/ 40gig 7200 rpm Western Digital HD,
    AMD Athlon 1800+ XP ~1540MHz
    512MB DDR RAM (256+256)
    NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 64MB.
    VIA (AC'97) on board sound
    50X CD ROM
    3 1/2" 1.44 meg floppy
    10/100 Fast Ethernet On Board Network Adapter
    Motorola SB4101 SURFboard Cable Modem,
    1.5Mbps Internet Connection,
    Monitor:FuturePower 17" flat screen 1152x864res. (32 bit)

  5. #5
    Dr Tweak mnosteele52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Chesapeake, VA
    Posts
    11,912
    OK for your caps and latency try the following settings in the TCPOptimizer:

    Download the TCP Optimizer and try the following settings.

    Settings tab:

    select - cable modem
    check - custom settings
    network adapter selection - your NIC
    check modify all adapters
    maxmtu - 1500
    TTL - 64
    TCP Receive Window - 17520 or 37960
    MTU Discovery - yes
    Black Hole Detect - no
    Selective Acks - yes
    Max Dup ACKs - 3
    TCP 1323 Options - uncheck both boxes

    Other Settings tab:

    Max Connections per Server - 10
    Max Connections per 1.0 Server - 20
    Lan Browsing Speedup - optimized

    Then select "Apply Changes" and reboot to take effect.



  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    WV
    Posts
    24
    I tried the TCP Receive Window of 17520 and 37960 and it improved sability but I took a hit in display speed so I tried a TCP Receive Window of 128480 with the other settings you sugested and things seem fine now! If you think the 128480 setting is going to be a problem then let me know. Otherwise many thanks to you!
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-7VAX
    Chipset: VT8377 Apollo KT400
    400 WATT. power supply
    Microsoft Windows XP Home
    60gig 7200rpm Maxtor HD/ 40gig 7200 rpm Western Digital HD,
    AMD Athlon 1800+ XP ~1540MHz
    512MB DDR RAM (256+256)
    NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 440 64MB.
    VIA (AC'97) on board sound
    50X CD ROM
    3 1/2" 1.44 meg floppy
    10/100 Fast Ethernet On Board Network Adapter
    Motorola SB4101 SURFboard Cable Modem,
    1.5Mbps Internet Connection,
    Monitor:FuturePower 17" flat screen 1152x864res. (32 bit)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •