Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Having trouble with a few Compaq Evos

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast koldchillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,611

    Having trouble with a few Compaq Evos

    some of them just will not fold. I install it, it starts, it picks up a WU and the proteins fold away on the right side (or at least they appear so) but the left side counter remains at 0/400 or 0/300 etc. etc. I've tried deleting the work project and restarting as well as re-installing folding but it just grabs a different WU and the same thing happens. Its happening on about 4 compaq evo d310's. I've also tried w/ flags and without flags.. no go either way. I just checked on a couple of PC's that I started folding a week ago and they are all still on 0/400 with no WU's completed.

    Any ideas?

    I can't post the log files right now, but maybe if I go back over there I can sit down at one of them long enough to do so..
    "Nobody's invincible, no plan is foolproof, We all must meet our moment of truth." - Guru

  2. #2
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,941
    Hmm...I'm not a fan of the 310's....but I've setup a few of them, not had any issues. They seem like a "presario" with an Evo name of them, kinda like the Proliant 310 and 330 servers.

    Anyhew....man, Dave an I have over 30 new 510's folding, rock solid.

    Any add on RAM?

    These the P4's or AMDs'?

    Any installs to the OS yet? Or fresh from the first boot to desktop?

    You just doing the Folding console?
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast rickoic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    North Mississippi
    Posts
    2,169
    Only suggestion I would make was to use the -local flag on each instance of folding.

    Not fimular with that pc type, but sounds like a dual processor. So one instance would have to be cpu 1 and the other cpu 2 in your install.

    Hope you get them working.

    Rick
    Prostate Cancer survivor, too late for me with a cure, but maybe I can help save others just like me. Wife brest cancer. Cured.

  4. #4
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,941
    Originally posted by rickoic

    Not fimular with that pc type, but sounds like a dual processor. So one instance would have to be cpu 1 and the other cpu 2 in your install.
    They're single CPU...just entry level desktops. Evo's are the business line of workstations, 310's are the basic entry level models of the Evo's.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast rickoic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    North Mississippi
    Posts
    2,169
    If they are workstations, the lan maybe set up to download programs from the server instead of storing them on the workstation. If thats the case, then you will deffently have to use the -local flag to force FAH to use the local pc for storing files as it may be trying to store everyting on the mainframe(server).

    Tks
    Rick
    Prostate Cancer survivor, too late for me with a cure, but maybe I can help save others just like me. Wife brest cancer. Cured.

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast koldchillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,611
    thanks for the replies guys.. these are celerons w/ 128MB RAM runnin' win2k.. very basic PC's for some of the offices we had next door. The offices were abandoned but they still want us to keep the PC's over there until they figure out whats going to happen with those offices. In the meantime I thought I'd let 'em fold a bit. They are joined to the domain, but so are the other PC's I have folding on the 2nd floor and over in this building I have a few folding and they don't have problems, just the ones on the 4th floor next door. I'll try the -local flag when I get the chance and we'll see how that goes, although there shouldn't be any server interaction going on that I can think of.. Thanks again guys..
    "Nobody's invincible, no plan is foolproof, We all must meet our moment of truth." - Guru

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast koldchillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,611
    Originally posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Hmm...I'm not a fan of the 310's
    I'm not either, but what can I do. this place is so ghetto, everything is done at the drop of a hat without planning. If they want to setup a call center.. they are so stupid that they would rather have us drive around and pick up all the PC's from the local Best Buy's etc.. rather than putting in a good order, cutting costs, and keeping things uniform on the network.. Instead we've got emachines, evos, HP boxes, presarios, gateways, etc. etc..

    I just finished moving around 5 or 6 execs, several assistants, routing phone extensions, tearing down cubicles.. all since 8am this morning and here I am still here on break probably be here another hour or so finishing up with some phone work.
    "Nobody's invincible, no plan is foolproof, We all must meet our moment of truth." - Guru

  8. #8
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,941
    Originally posted by koldchillah
    this place is so ghetto, everything is done at the drop of a hat without planning.
    Plenty of those places around. The place where Dave's World does a lot of work, which ordered those 34 Evo 510's and a pair of really nice Proliant DL380's which I just built...they're now closing the plant. And they just finished installing some multimillion dollar equipment out in the plant.

    http://www.emersonprocess.com/fisher/

    He does a lot of work at the North Stonington CT plant, and they're gonna shut the doors of this plant, move the manufacturing to China.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  9. #9
    SG Enthusiast koldchillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,611
    Here's a log file from an evo PC that I just sat down and installed it on. It appears it can't connect to the servers but I don't understand why not.. The firewall should allow basic outbound http communications, or at least they do on the computer downstairs from here. I may have to go into the server room up here and see if there is anything between downstairs and the patch panel up here.

    log file:

    --- Opening Log file [July 14 19:13:33]


    # Windows Graphical Edition ###################################################
    ###############################################################################

    Folding@home Client Version 3.24

    http://foldingathome.stanford.edu
    email:help@foldingathome.stanford.edu

    ###############################################################################
    ###############################################################################

    Arguments: -forceasm -local

    [19:13:55] - Ask before connecting: No
    [19:13:55] - User name: koldchillah (Team 15)
    [19:13:55] - User ID not found locally
    [19:13:55] + Requesting User ID from server
    [19:14:19] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [19:14:19] + Could not connect to Primary Assignment Server for ID
    [19:14:19] - Machine ID: 1
    [19:14:19]
    [19:14:19] Work directory not found. Creating...
    [19:14:19] Could not open work queue, generating new queue...
    [19:14:19] Initialization complete
    [19:14:19] + Benchmarking ...
    [19:14:23] + Attempting to get work packet
    [19:14:23] - Connecting to assignment server
    [19:14:46] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [19:14:46] + Could not connect to Assignment Server
    [19:14:47] - Successful: assigned to (171.64.122.143).
    [19:14:47] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
    [19:14:47] Loaded queue successfully.
    [19:14:48] + Closed connections
    [19:14:48]
    [19:14:48] + Processing work unit
    [19:14:48] Core required: FahCore_65.exe
    [19:14:48] Core not found.
    [19:14:48] - Core is not present or corrupted.
    [19:14:48] - Attempting to download new core...
    [19:14:48] + Downloading new core: FahCore_65.exe
    [19:14:48] + 10240 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:48] + 20480 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:48] + 30720 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:48] + 40960 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 51200 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 61440 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 71680 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 81920 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 92160 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 102400 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 112640 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 122880 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 133120 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 143360 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 153600 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 163840 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 174080 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:49] + 184320 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 194560 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 204800 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 215040 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 225280 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 235520 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 245760 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 256000 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 266240 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 276480 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 286720 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 296960 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 307200 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 317440 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 327680 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 337920 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 348160 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:50] + 358400 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 368640 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 378880 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 389120 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 399360 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 409600 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 419840 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 430080 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 440320 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 450560 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 460800 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 471040 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 481280 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 491520 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 501760 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 512000 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 522240 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 532480 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:51] + 542720 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:52] + 552960 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:52] + 563200 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:52] + 573440 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:52] + 583680 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:52] + 592641 bytes downloaded
    [19:14:52] Verifying core Core_65.fah...
    [19:14:52] Signature is VALID
    [19:14:52] Created: Wednesday April 10, 2002 00:01:22 UTC
    [19:14:52] Signed: Friday June 14, 2002 00:00:16 UTC
    [19:14:52]
    [19:14:52] Trying to unzip core FahCore_65.exe
    [19:14:52] Decompressed FahCore_65.exe (1732608 bytes) successfully
    [19:14:52] + Core successfully engaged
    [19:14:57]
    [19:14:57] + Processing work unit
    [19:14:57] Core required: FahCore_65.exe
    [19:14:57] Core found.
    [19:14:57] Working on Unit 01 [July 14 19:14:57]
    [19:14:57] + Working ...
    [19:14:57] Folding@Home Client Core Version 2.47 (June 14, 2002)
    [19:14:57]
    [19:14:57] Proj: work/wudata_01
    [19:14:57] Done: 15880 -> 100014 (decompressed 629.8 percent)
    [19:14:57] nsteps: 5000000 dt: 2.000000 dt_dump: 250.000000 temperature: 296.000000
    [19:14:57] xyzfile:
    [19:14:57] " 220 p667_TZ2_EXT_VISC9
    [19:14:57] 1 N3 -14.544905 16.574379 76.401203 124..."
    [19:14:57] keyfile:
    [19:14:57] "parameters ./proj667.prm
    [19:14:57] NOVERSION
    [19:14:57] ARCHIVE
    [19:14:57]
    [19:14:57] printout 1000
    [19:14:57] writeout ..."
    [19:14:57]
    [19:14:57] - Couldn't get size info for dyn file: work/wudata_01.dyn
    [19:14:57] Starting from initial work packet
    [19:14:57]
    [19:14:57] Protein: p667_TZ2_EXT_VISC9
    [19:14:57] - Run: 27 (Clone 41, Gen 1)
    [19:14:57] - Frames Completed: 0, Remaining: 400
    [19:14:57] - Dynamic steps required: 5000000
    [19:14:57]
    [19:14:57] Writing local files:
    [19:14:57]
    [19:14:57] parameters work/wudata_01.prm
    [19:14:57] - Writing "work/wudata_01.key": (overwrite) successful.
    [19:14:58] - Writing "work/wudata_01.xyz": (overwrite) successful.
    [19:14:58] - Writing "work/wudata_01.prm": (overwrite) successful.
    [19:14:59] - Writing "work/wudata_01.key": (append) successful.
    [19:14:59]
    [19:14:59] PROJECT="work/wudata_01", NSTEPS=5000000, DT=2.0000, DTDUMP=25.000000, TEMP=296.00
    [19:14:59] TINKER: Software Tools for Molecular Design
    [19:14:59] Version 3.8 October 2000
    [19:14:59] Copyright (c) Jay William Ponder 1990-2000
    [19:14:59] portions Copyright (c) Michael Shirts 2001
    [19:14:59] portions Copyright (c) Vijay S Pande 2001

    Folding@home Client Shutdown.


    --- Opening Log file [July 14 19:15:31]


    # Windows Graphical Edition ###################################################
    ###############################################################################

    Folding@home Client Version 3.24

    http://foldingathome.stanford.edu
    email:help@foldingathome.stanford.edu

    ###############################################################################
    ###############################################################################

    Arguments: -forceasm -local

    [19:15:31] - Ask before connecting: No
    [19:15:31] - Use IE connection settings: Yes
    [19:15:31] - User name: koldchillah (Team 15)
    [19:15:31] - User ID = 352E51DF2B80D5FB
    [19:15:31] - Machine ID: 1
    [19:15:31]
    [19:15:31] Loaded queue successfully.
    [19:15:32] Initialization complete
    [19:15:32] + Benchmarking ...
    [19:15:35]
    [19:15:35] + Processing work unit
    [19:15:35] Core required: FahCore_65.exe
    [19:15:35] Core found.
    [19:15:35] Working on Unit 01 [July 14 19:15:35]
    [19:15:35] + Working ...
    [19:15:35] + Working...
    [19:15:36] Folding@Home Client Core Version 2.47 (June 14, 2002)
    [19:15:36]
    [19:15:36] Proj: work/wudata_01
    [19:15:36] Done: 15880 -> 100014 (decompressed 629.8 percent)
    [19:15:36] nsteps: 5000000 dt: 2.000000 dt_dump: 250.000000 temperature: 296.000000
    [19:15:36] xyzfile:
    [19:15:36] " 220 p667_TZ2_EXT_VISC9
    [19:15:36] 1 N3 -14.544905 16.574379 76.401203 124..."
    [19:15:36] keyfile:
    [19:15:36] "parameters ./proj667.prm
    [19:15:36] NOVERSION
    [19:15:36] ARCHIVE
    [19:15:36]
    [19:15:36] printout 1000
    [19:15:36] writeout ..."
    [19:15:36]
    [19:15:36] - Couldn't get size info for dyn file: work/wudata_01.dyn
    [19:15:36] Starting from initial work packet
    [19:15:36]
    [19:15:36] Protein: p667_TZ2_EXT_VISC9
    [19:15:36] - Run: 27 (Clone 41, Gen 1)
    [19:15:36] - Frames Completed: 0, Remaining: 400
    [19:15:36] - Dynamic steps required: 5000000
    [19:15:36]
    [19:15:36] Writing local files:
    [19:15:36]
    [19:15:36] parameters work/wudata_01.prm
    [19:15:36] - Writing "work/wudata_01.key": (overwrite) successful.
    [19:15:37] - Writing "work/wudata_01.xyz": (overwrite) successful.
    [19:15:37] - Writing "work/wudata_01.prm": (overwrite) successful.
    [19:15:37] - Writing "work/wudata_01.key": (append) successful.
    [19:15:37]
    [19:15:37] PROJECT="work/wudata_01", NSTEPS=5000000, DT=2.0000, DTDUMP=25.000000, TEMP=296.00
    [19:15:38] TINKER: Software Tools for Molecular Design
    [19:15:38] Version 3.8 October 2000
    [19:15:38] Copyright (c) Jay William Ponder 1990-2000
    [19:15:38] portions Copyright (c) Michael Shirts 2001
    [19:15:38] portions Copyright (c) Vijay S Pande 2001
    "Nobody's invincible, no plan is foolproof, We all must meet our moment of truth." - Guru

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast rickoic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    North Mississippi
    Posts
    2,169
    Your using the graphical version which shouldn't be a problem but it uses the screen saver.

    However, it did download a work unit and then the core that it needed and started folding, so looks like its working alright.

    Rick
    Prostate Cancer survivor, too late for me with a cure, but maybe I can help save others just like me. Wife brest cancer. Cured.

  11. #11
    SG Enthusiast koldchillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,611
    Originally posted by rickoic
    Your using the graphical version which shouldn't be a problem but it uses the screen saver.

    However, it did download a work unit and then the core that it needed and started folding, so looks like its working alright.

    Rick
    thanks Rick.. I'm not sure what you mean by screen saver, I thought the screen saver version was something that appears under the display properties' screen saver tab.. this does not.. I've got all screen savers turned off and no power features enabled so the computer is always on, always running & folding.

    IT IS working now on the computer from which i posted the log and I went to the other PC's that were having probs and left it locked and logged in with my admin profile and I'm about to go check on them in a minute or so. .
    I just noticed that it works as long as I remain logged in with the admin profile in which I installed it. As soon as I log off and log on with a basic user account, it stops working, even though I've placed the same shortcut from the admin startup folder to the other users. Anyways, I'll post back if the other rigs continue to be troublesome.. thanks!
    "Nobody's invincible, no plan is foolproof, We all must meet our moment of truth." - Guru

  12. #12
    SG Enthusiast rickoic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    North Mississippi
    Posts
    2,169
    If you look on the first line you posted of the log file you'll see it says graphical version. If you have manually turned off the screensaver then there is basically no difference between it and the console version.

    That's a problem with installing it when logged in as admin and then changing to another profile/user. I think you need to set it up where it shows up on all profiles/users or else you will have to restart it under which ever profile/user you plan on leaving the pc in.

    As soon as another user logs on the pc it will stop folding unless that user restarts it.

    If you are running it as a service, I think there's a switch or check box that makes it run on all profiles/users.

    Tks
    Rick
    Prostate Cancer survivor, too late for me with a cure, but maybe I can help save others just like me. Wife brest cancer. Cured.

  13. #13
    SG Enthusiast koldchillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,611
    Originally posted by rickoic
    If you look on the first line you posted of the log file you'll see it says graphical version. If you have manually turned off the screensaver then there is basically no difference between it and the console version.
    I think I understand now.. I've always downloaded the graphical version and then disabled the screen savers b/c when the screen saver kicks on it takes cpu cycles away from F@H, unless of course the screen saver IS F@H, but I don't have it setup that way on any of my PC's.. My folding rigs that ONLY fold, have the F@H set in full screen mode and no screen savers enabled, hence, folding is LIKE a screen saver except it doesn't have priority over the other "real" screensavers had I enabled them.

    If I ran the console version instead, would it help my weaker PC's (ie, PII-266) fold any faster with less overhead?

    thanx Rick

    - Matt
    "Nobody's invincible, no plan is foolproof, We all must meet our moment of truth." - Guru

  14. #14
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,941
    Ahh...more clues.

    1) Always get the console/text version. First of all it's faster, second of all...less problems.

    2) Always download it to a consistant, equal rights folder. I always do C:\Download\Folding. If you do it to "My Documents" on 2K or XP, guess what...it's not C:\My Documents, it's C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\yada yada.

    And it runs fine when workstation is "locked"...never "log off", logging off will kill it.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  15. #15
    SG Enthusiast koldchillah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Posts
    4,611
    Originally posted by YeOldeStonecat
    Ahh...more clues.

    1) Always get the console/text version. First of all it's faster, second of all...less problems.

    2) Always download it to a consistant, equal rights folder. I always do C:\Download\Folding. If you do it to "My Documents" on 2K or XP, guess what...it's not C:\My Documents, it's C:\Documents and Settings\<user name>\yada yada.

    And it runs fine when workstation is "locked"...never "log off", logging off will kill it.
    Thanks Stonecat.. looks like I have a lot of re-installing to do, but if it means more output then I'll do it.. I'll miss lookin' at the proteins folding though.. lol

    What I had been doing was downloading the install file to my desktop (domain admin profile), then installing it, then once it was folding I would log off and log back on as the intern profile (which I'm folding on intern PC's btw) and I noticed that it would go out and reset the WU, but thats when I would never see progress.. oh, and I always lock and never log off.... I've been using win2k too long to let that one get me..

    thanx for the tips Stonecat..
    we'll have to get together for some BF'42 action sometime soon.. I keep forgetting to add your new ICQ to my trillian PC at home..
    "Nobody's invincible, no plan is foolproof, We all must meet our moment of truth." - Guru

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •