Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Problem with a western digital HD

  1. #1
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,793

    Problem with a western digital HD

    Good day.

    I have a WD HD in a 98 machine that is supposedly 13 GB in size (according to the label on the HD and it is detected as 13 GB on startup)


    However....


    When in Winblows 98 and right clicking on the drive it shows up as 2 GB

    I have run scandisk and it claims the amount of free space was being reported incorrectly (you don't say?).

    So I had scandisk fix it and it still shows up as 2 GB.

    I have even used WD's Data Lifeguard Tools and it didn't find any problems.

    Anything else I can look at?

  2. #2
    SG Elite Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,161
    you have it formatted in fat16

    fdisk the partition, create a new one, then format it in fat32
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  3. #3
    SG Elite Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,161
    that was too easy btw

    give me somethin harder
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  4. #4
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,793
    Originally posted by Brent
    you have it formatted in fat16

    fdisk the partition, create a new one, then format it in fat32

    How in the world did I make that mistake????


    I'm gonna do the fdisk thing tomorrow and see what it's formatted at.


    Thanks Brent.

  5. #5
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,187
    Originally posted by Brent
    you have it formatted in fat16

    fdisk the partition, create a new one, then format it in fat32
    Either the above, or it has other partitions on it. Possibly hidden ones that 98 won't detect, like NTFS, or a Linux file system.

    Fdisk, and use the option to display partition info.

  6. #6
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,793
    Originally posted by Brent
    that was too easy btw

    give me somethin harder

    Ok, know of any good free memory test programs. I use memtest86 3.0 http://www.memtest86.com/

    It found lots of errors on a 128 mb stick (same machine with the screwy Hard Drive)

    What about something to test the processor etc.

    Free of course

  7. #7
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,793
    Originally posted by Norm
    Fdisk, and use the option to display partition info.
    That's the plan. As long as I don't get interrupted with paper jams and toner low messages.



    And I'll report back my findings too.

  8. #8
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,187
    Originally posted by CableDude
    How in the world did I make that mistake????
    Did you use a Dos 6.22 boot disk to partition and format it?

  9. #9
    SG Elite Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,161
    Originally posted by CableDude
    Ok, know of any good free memory test programs. I use memtest86 3.0 http://www.memtest86.com/

    It found lots of errors on a 128 mb stick (same machine with the screwy Hard Drive)

    What about something to test the processor etc.

    Free of course
    heres a neat link: http://www.nukleon.pl/pliki.php

    under Benchmarki there is some stuff

    try CPU Rightmark, i know thats good

    maybe bench'emall or benchmarx, never tried those though, don't know what they are like

    some stuff here: http://www.pchardware.ro/Download/index.php?catid=2

    I know CliBench is a good cpu test

    old stuff here: http://www.volny.cz/v.reif/low-download.htm

    some good stuff here: http://www.extremetech.com/category2...1,14187,00.asp

    that should tide you over
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

  10. #10
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,793
    Originally posted by Norm
    Did you use a Dos 6.22 boot disk to partition and format it?
    Norm,

    I used a Win 98 startup disk to fdisk. Then believe I set the CD-ROM as the first boot device and booted off of the Win 98 CD, to allow 98 to format the drive.

  11. #11
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,793
    Originally posted by Brent
    heres a neat link: http://www.nukleon.pl/pliki.php

    under Benchmarki there is some stuff

    try CPU Rightmark, i know thats good

    maybe bench'emall or benchmarx, never tried those though, don't know what they are like

    some stuff here: http://www.pchardware.ro/Download/index.php?catid=2

    I know CliBench is a good cpu test

    old stuff here: http://www.volny.cz/v.reif/low-download.htm

    some good stuff here: http://www.extremetech.com/category2...1,14187,00.asp

    that should tide you over
    Brent,

    Thanks I'll look these over in the morning.

  12. #12
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,187
    Originally posted by CableDude
    Norm,

    I used a Win 98 startup disk to fdisk. Then believe I set the CD-ROM as the first boot device and booted off of the Win 98 CD, to allow 98 to format the drive.
    Odd, 98 formats with fat32 by default. Must have already been formatted fat 16 or has some other partitions left on it.

    You'll find out when you check with fdisk. If there are some other file systems on it you may need to wipe the mbr with something other than fdisk. If you need to, let me know. I have a nice machine code mbr/bootsector wiper.

  13. #13
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,793
    Norm and Brent

    Here is what I found out...

    Partition C:1

    Status A

    Type PRI DOS

    Volume Label: None

    Mbytes 2016

    System Fat 32

    Usage 100%





  14. #14
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,187
    Originally posted by Brent
    that was too easy btw

    give me somethin harder
    There ya go, something harder. I knew it wouldn't be that easy. It never is.

    Download This unzip it, put it on a 98 boot disk and bootup into it.

    Type hdwipe then hit enter. When the A:> prompt comes back, you're done.

    Notes:
    1. Your anti vi will think this is a virus, because it's going to wipe out your mbr, and your bootsector. Do what you gotta do to get it on that floppy, but DO NOT left click the hdwipe.com file.

    2. You will lose all data on the drive. So save anything important before you start.

    3. Unplug any other hardrives from power, just to be safe from wiping their bootsectors.

    Start fresh with fdisk, and recreate the primary using all space on the drive, etc etc , blah blah. And format it right away after rebooting.

  15. #15
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    26,793
    Ok Norm, I'll give it a shot in a day or two. Might have to deal with more politics tomorrow.


    Thanks for your help.

  16. #16
    SG Elite Brent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    42,161
    maybe someone just partioned it as 2GB and just created one partition

    just fdisk the partition away, and create one large one for the drive, maximum size

    and format it

    this isn't rocking science
    "Would you mind not standing on my chest, my hats on fire." - The Doctor

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •