Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Need some advice for tweaking system...

  1. #1
    SG Elite Indy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    25,529
    Blog Entries
    24

    Need some advice for tweaking system...

    Ok, here is the 3dmark2k1 results for my system: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=6568482

    Any suggestions with the hardware that I have that I can do to improve that benchmark?


    Here is the system at present:

    Gigabyte GA-7VAX mobo
    AMD XP2000
    768meg pc2100 ram
    120 gig 7200 maxtor h/d
    Creative Labs Live!
    ATI Radeon 8500LE/128 meg


    For some reason, the benchmark is showing that the video card isn't utilizing the agp rate...the motherboard bios is set to auto detect the agp rate of the card, and it did so when I tried an nvidia 5200 (agp 8x) in the system the other day...
    ------
    “The most beautiful thing we can experience in life is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: for his eyes are closed.” - Albert Einstein

  2. #2
    SG Elite Indy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    25,529
    Blog Entries
    24
    Anyone?
    ------
    “The most beautiful thing we can experience in life is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: for his eyes are closed.” - Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    resident plumber Mark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    .
    Posts
    13,192
    crank up the fsb some.
    4930K@4.3~32GBGskill~asusX79deluxe~Vega64~240GB-SSD-OS drive~500GB-SSD-scratch~240GB-SSD-thrash~10TB storage~6.4TB-ioMemorycard~Windows 7 pro
    *~ SG stats

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    413
    To get a really good score in 3Dmarks you need to increase your FSB. My good ol Gforce 3 gained over 2000 pts when I went from a 133 to 222 FSB.
    Rig 1: Abit NF7-S 2500+ 2530@230
    Water Cooled System
    "Cather" LR White Water #87/Eheim 1250
    2x 256 corsair pc3500c2
    Softmodded 9500NP
    Rig 2:ASUS A7N8X XP2400+ 2387@217
    Gforce 3 250/560 12950 3dmarks

  5. #5
    SG Elite Indy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    25,529
    Blog Entries
    24
    Thanks guys...I'll play around with the fsb later today when I get back
    ------
    “The most beautiful thing we can experience in life is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: for his eyes are closed.” - Albert Einstein

  6. #6
    Second Most EVIL YARDofSTUF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    70,013
    thats a good score for ur system.

  7. #7
    SG Elite Indy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Amarillo, TX
    Posts
    25,529
    Blog Entries
    24
    Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
    thats a good score for ur system.
    Maybe I'm just not looking at the comparisons over on futuremark right...seems like there are a lot of comparible systems to what I have that are getting 1k and 2k higher scores on their benchmarks...
    ------
    “The most beautiful thing we can experience in life is the mysterious. It is the source of all true art and science. He to whom this emotion is a stranger, who can no longer pause to wonder and stand rapt in awe, is as good as dead: for his eyes are closed.” - Albert Einstein

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •