Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: overclocking software

  1. #1
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    28,157

    Question overclocking software

    I'd like to get a modest oc on a P3 500 chip in a Zida BX98-3D running XP with 384 MB RAM.

    If the clock ratio is locked on P3's my only option is to change the FSB, no?

    The next jump up from 5x100 is 5x112...it'll reach the splash screen but then puckers.

    Question: Can anyone suggest programs similar to SoftFSB or CPUFSB?

    I've tried both of them, one doesn't have the correct motherboard or PLL IC...the other has a similar PLL IC but not quite the same.

    I have a Cypress/ICW W127H and it lists W127x, but it doesn't seem to work.

    If anyone has any ideas on similar programs I'd be grateful. Thanks

  2. #2

  3. #3
    Mac Master Mehmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley CA, The home of the hippies
    Posts
    4,764
    what are you options through the bios humby?

    if you can hit 112 and still reach the splash screen, i think if you raise the voltage to the chip a tad, you could hit it. i think..
    "They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
    - Benjamin Franklin

    "Weapons of Ass Destruction"

  4. #4
    R.I.P. 2022-05-29 Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    12,209
    Humby,
    Overclocking software is a toughy...
    First, unplug the power source, then strip off a molex connector and skin the plastic coating coating off the wires. Next, you will need to lay the hard drive on the floor of the case. Take the striped wires and insert them into the screw holes on the harddrive. (*tip* some tape will help to hold them in place!) Next, go to your electrical breaker box and throw the switch to turn off power to the electrical outlet that you will be plugging you computer in to. Then head back to computer and plug it into wall. Grab a cellphone (*tip* You must have a cellphone in hand!) then go back to breaker box. Press 911 on cellphone, then throw the breaker back on and at the same time hit send on your cellphone. When they ask you what is your emergency, tell them you need some firetrucks immediately...
    WARNING-This method is for 100% IDIOTS! Do not try this at home!

  5. #5
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    28,157
    Originally posted by Mehmet
    what are you options through the bios humby?

    if you can hit 112 and still reach the splash screen, i think if you raise the voltage to the chip a tad, you could hit it. i think..
    That's what I was thinking too...it'll get to the desktop even, then freeze.

    Any idea where I could find the information on how to change the voltage? I assume it's motherboard specific.

    Ken...

  6. #6
    R.I.P. 2022-05-29 Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    12,209
    Humby,
    Increasing the voltage was the only way I could think of to overclock software... Just a problem with getting the extra voltage inside the harddrive! Now I have heard of tweaking software!

    (Sorry bud, just being a SA! )

  7. #7
    Mac Master Mehmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley CA, The home of the hippies
    Posts
    4,764
    Originally posted by Humboldt
    That's what I was thinking too...it'll get to the desktop even, then freeze.

    Any idea where I could find the information on how to change the voltage? I assume it's motherboard specific.

    Ken...
    um... it should be near the clock adjustments in the BIOS.

    if not, pick up your manual and look for Core voltage adjustment..
    "They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
    - Benjamin Franklin

    "Weapons of Ass Destruction"

  8. #8
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    28,157
    Originally posted by Mehmet
    um... it should be near the clock adjustments in the BIOS.

    if not, pick up your manual and look for Core voltage adjustment..
    Nope and...nope.

    On my Abit it's there in the BIOS, but not this Zida.

    Could've sworn I saw something where a guy was changing it on the board itself.

  9. #9
    Mac Master Mehmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley CA, The home of the hippies
    Posts
    4,764
    Originally posted by Humboldt
    Nope and...nope.

    On my Abit it's there in the BIOS, but not this Zida.

    Could've sworn I saw something where a guy was changing it on the board itself.
    hrm, thats interesting to say the least.

    maybe there are jumpers for it? check to see if there any jumpers on your board, and try and find out what they do.

    good luck man.
    "They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
    - Benjamin Franklin

    "Weapons of Ass Destruction"

  10. #10
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    28,157
    Originally posted by Mehmet
    hrm, thats interesting to say the least.

    maybe there are jumpers for it? check to see if there any jumpers on your board, and try and find out what they do.

    good luck man.
    No jumpers, all auto


    I've given up on this, it's at 500 MHz and I do believe it's going to stay at 500 MHz

  11. #11
    Mac Master Mehmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley CA, The home of the hippies
    Posts
    4,764
    Originally posted by Humboldt
    No jumpers, all auto


    I've given up on this, it's at 500 MHz and I do believe it's going to stay at 500 MHz
    hehe, well, its probably a board like the shuttlepcs have, FSB adjustments but no voltage..


    dont worry humboldt, you probably learned a lot just by upping the FSB and messing with things.. no?
    "They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
    - Benjamin Franklin

    "Weapons of Ass Destruction"

  12. #12
    resident Humboldt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Northern CA
    Posts
    28,157
    Originally posted by Mehmet
    hehe, well, its probably a board like the shuttlepcs have, FSB adjustments but no voltage..


    dont worry humboldt, you probably learned a lot just by upping the FSB and messing with things.. no?
    Heh.........no

    I'm no hardware wiz by any means and DID learn a lot putting the system together, but it stopped there when the frustration kicked in.

    All I've been able to do is up the FSB and watch it pucker, lower it and watch it run...nothing that informational (if that's not a word then it should be).

    I get your drift though, and I guess if nothing else I learned you can't oc a Zida

  13. #13
    Regular Member Mopwr2u1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    266
    Originally posted by Ken
    Humby,
    Overclocking software is a toughy...
    First, unplug the power source, then strip off a molex connector and skin the plastic coating coating off the wires. Next, you will need to lay the hard drive on the floor of the case. Take the striped wires and insert them into the screw holes on the harddrive. (*tip* some tape will help to hold them in place!) Next, go to your electrical breaker box and throw the switch to turn off power to the electrical outlet that you will be plugging you computer in to. Then head back to computer and plug it into wall. Grab a cellphone (*tip* You must have a cellphone in hand!) then go back to breaker box. Press 911 on cellphone, then throw the breaker back on and at the same time hit send on your cellphone. When they ask you what is your emergency, tell them you need some firetrucks immediately...
    WARNING-This method is for 100% IDIOTS! Do not try this at home!
    ROFLMAO ken that was the funniest thing ive seen in a while

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •