Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: PSU - ECS mobo question

  1. #1
    Elite Member mountainman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    15,451

    PSU - ECS mobo question

    Have any of you guys heard that ECS boards won't run very well with less than 400w of power ?

    A buddy of mine told me that and I find it VERY odd. That seems like an awful lot of of power for a mobo to run stable.

    Thoughts ?

  2. #2
    Elite Member mountainman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    15,451
    The reason I ask is because I think I'm going to buy an Abit board for my new system instead of using this ECS, but it's too late to return via RMA.

    I am thinking of making a game/file server for BF1942 !



    What do you think ?

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Jstyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The Swamp
    Posts
    2,822
    No way just the mobo needs that much power. The peripherals and drives actually eat up most of the power I believe.
    spec-
    Rig #1- AMD XP 2400+, A-Bit KR7A/266, Gainward Geforce3 ti200 64mb Golden Sample, 1GB Crucial DDR, 40 gig WD HDD (7200), XP PRO, Vantec Stealth 420 PSU, Soundblaster Live 5.1
    Rig #2- P4 2.4c, Abit IC7 800 FSB /w onboard sound, Radeon 9700 Pro 128, 1 Gig Corsair 3200 XMS, Dual (SATA) 36GB WD Raptor's in RAID 0, XP Pro, Antec Truepower 400
    Rig #3-AMD Barton 2500+, Albatron KX600 (via), 1 gig Corsair 3200, Radeon 9600 Pro 128, Seagate 80 gig HD, Antec Truepower 400

  4. #4
    SG Enthusiast Jstyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The Swamp
    Posts
    2,822
    ***Cough*** Army operations ***Cough***
    spec-
    Rig #1- AMD XP 2400+, A-Bit KR7A/266, Gainward Geforce3 ti200 64mb Golden Sample, 1GB Crucial DDR, 40 gig WD HDD (7200), XP PRO, Vantec Stealth 420 PSU, Soundblaster Live 5.1
    Rig #2- P4 2.4c, Abit IC7 800 FSB /w onboard sound, Radeon 9700 Pro 128, 1 Gig Corsair 3200 XMS, Dual (SATA) 36GB WD Raptor's in RAID 0, XP Pro, Antec Truepower 400
    Rig #3-AMD Barton 2500+, Albatron KX600 (via), 1 gig Corsair 3200, Radeon 9600 Pro 128, Seagate 80 gig HD, Antec Truepower 400

  5. #5
    Cybernetic Interloper ub3r_n00b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Rivendel, East of The Ford of Bruinen
    Posts
    2,086
    thats bull Sheyat... im using an ASUS mobo ( far better than the jumper overclocking nightmare ECS ) and a 300 watt PSU and im running FINE!!!

    but 300 watt is the bare minimum

    -Preet

  6. #6
    Fraternized Set's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    4,095
    Id say no but keep in mind if ya wanna build a server thers gonna many HDS and etc on it maybe RAID etc so id go at lest 400W

    The last place ya wanna cut corners is at your PSU
    Cancer Baaaaaad! Folding Goooood!

  7. #7
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Re: PSU - ECS mobo question

    Originally posted by mountainman
    Have any of you guys heard that ECS boards won't run very well with less than 400w of power ?

    A buddy of mine told me that and I find it VERY odd. That seems like an awful lot of of power for a mobo to run stable.

    Thoughts ?
    This is not true, no motherboard on the market needs a 400w to be stable. Some are asking that you get a 350W at the standard to get maxium stability, but 400W and + is pretty much for server related stuff.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •