Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: n00b Ram question

  1. #1
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231

    n00b Ram question

    I currently have 1 stick of Corsair CMX 3200 ram (512MB), Cas 2.5. I believe its running at 2700 speeds, at Cas 2.5.

    I haven't seen the exact same type of ram at places like GoogleGear or Newegg lately, so if I do add another stick in the near future of the Cas 2 variety, would it work at the slower 2.5 timing? Assuming my other stick is running at 2700 (I believe it is, but I'd have to checK), would I be fine getting something like this?

    </caffine-high-starting-to-wear-off-on-this-noob>
    Last edited by Jim; 04-09-03 at 10:56 AM.

  2. #2
    SG Enthusiast Jstyr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    The Swamp
    Posts
    2,822
    Well your RAM should run fine..it will just run at 2.5 CAS rather than 2.0

    I'm having an issue with my Crucial however...I run pc 2700 and pc2100 and the 2100 isn't getting recognized. I've yet to sort this problem out.
    spec-
    Rig #1- AMD XP 2400+, A-Bit KR7A/266, Gainward Geforce3 ti200 64mb Golden Sample, 1GB Crucial DDR, 40 gig WD HDD (7200), XP PRO, Vantec Stealth 420 PSU, Soundblaster Live 5.1
    Rig #2- P4 2.4c, Abit IC7 800 FSB /w onboard sound, Radeon 9700 Pro 128, 1 Gig Corsair 3200 XMS, Dual (SATA) 36GB WD Raptor's in RAID 0, XP Pro, Antec Truepower 400
    Rig #3-AMD Barton 2500+, Albatron KX600 (via), 1 gig Corsair 3200, Radeon 9600 Pro 128, Seagate 80 gig HD, Antec Truepower 400

  3. #3
    Elite Member Jim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    13,231
    Bump for a confirmation.

  4. #4
    SG Elite
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    29,517
    Yep, it'll run at whatever the slower CAS is.

  5. #5
    Mac Master Mehmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley CA, The home of the hippies
    Posts
    4,764
    why not just drop the cas settings to 2?

    my xms 3000 is supposed to run at 2.5 with slower timings, but, it runs at cas 2 with all turbo timings..
    "They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
    - Benjamin Franklin

    "Weapons of Ass Destruction"

  6. #6
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465

    Re: n00b Ram question

    Originally posted by BIGJIMSLATE
    I currently have 1 stick of Corsair CMX 3200 ram (512MB), Cas 2.5. I believe its running at 2700 speeds, at Cas 2.5.

    I haven't seen the exact same type of ram at places like GoogleGear or Newegg lately, so if I do add another stick in the near future of the Cas 2 variety, would it work at the slower 2.5 timing? Assuming my other stick is running at 2700 (I believe it is, but I'd have to checK), would I be fine getting something like this?

    </caffine-high-starting-to-wear-off-on-this-noob>
    unless you get different branded sticks, shouldn't be an issue (from what I've know, Cosair is basically Samsung that built a bit better and tested.)

    So no worries.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •