Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: I wrote a guide for setting static IP's on a router LAN

  1. #1
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,892

    I wrote a guide for setting static IP's on a router LAN

    I'll sticky this for a while, so the regulars know it's here for linking to people asking help on this subject....how to setup your LAN with static IP's when behind a router.

    http://www.speedguide.net/read_articles.php?id=177
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  2. #2
    fem the retarded rabbit mccoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    13,365
    nice it's hard to keep typing that step over and over again
    Comptia a+ n+

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    1,107
    good text
    agree with your thesis
    I prefer to leave DHCP enabled on the router.
    This is good for a safety net, in case you mess something up,
    you can simply set your computers TCP/IP to obtain IP automatically and you're back in business.
    Also helps out for other computers to connect quickly and easily - a perk if you host LAN parties.


    but my actual settings is
    ADVANCED SETTINGS | Main menu | DHCP SERVER SETTINGS
    DHCP SERVER SETTINGS
    [off]Enable DHCP Server Functions
    IP Address Pool Range
    From:192.168.2.[2]
    To: 192.168.2.[5]


    BTW what is you opinion about router settings:
    LAN FILTER SETTINGS ?
    WAN FILTER SETTINGS ?


    actual my router settings exactly as below
    ADVANCED SETTINGS | Main menu | FILTER SETTINGS | LAN FILTER SETTINGS
    LAN FILTER SETTINGS
    [off] LAN Side Filter Enabled
    Default LAN Side Filter: [CHECKED]Block; [no]Pass

    ADVANCED SETTINGS | Main menu | FILTER SETTINGS | WAN FILTER SETTINGS
    WAN FILTER SETTINGS
    [ON] WAN Side Filter Enabled
    Default WAN Side Filter: [CHECKED]Block; [no]Pass

  4. #4

    I'm Soooooooo Confused.......Speedstream 6520 Router

    I Have A Speedstream 6520 Router, made by Siemenns....

    I'm trying open ports on this thing so I can play at a particular gaming site called MYSTIC ISLAND... www.mysticisland.net

    Wife and I Play there...It's a Card Playing Site, Euchre, Spades, Hearts, etc...

    Problem is: Wife can HOST on a table, to open up a game and people can join her table...
    I am unable to HOST a table where people can join me to play...
    We both want to be able to HOST tables and play, thats our problem....

    We need to open up ports on our router, so that both of us are abe to HoST games on this site...Thats actually why we got this Router...lol

    If anyone Can help, it would be appreciated...

    Thanks

    www.mysticisland.net

  5. #5
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,892
    Can you change ports for say...the second game? With basic NAT, you can forward a port to only 1x IP. The port gets directed here...OR there...but not both.

    Lets take a game server for example...if I wanted to run 2x servers from the same IP address, I'd take the first one of the default port, say 14,567 then change the second game to run on another port. like 14,577. People still connect fine since the in game browser redirects the ports.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

  6. #6
    SG Enthusiast The Dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    CYQY
    Posts
    3,125
    Quote Originally Posted by YeOldeStonecat
    I'll sticky this for a while, so the regulars know it's here for linking to people asking help on this subject....how to setup your LAN with static IP's when behind a router.

    http://www.speedguide.net/read_articles.php?id=177
    Nice, article YeOldeStonecat
    No matter how careful I am I usually make a mistake somewhere when trying to explain how to do that, and end up with egg on my face.

  7. #7
    Moderator YeOldeStonecat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Somewhere along the shoreline in New England
    Posts
    50,892
    Wow old thread, gotta update that article.
    MORNING WOOD Lumber Company
    Guinness for Strength!!!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •