Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 21 to 40 of 56

Thread: Installing Win2000 --- problems

  1. #21
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133

    Thumbs up

    Originally posted by torsten
    OMG, it works!

    copying files now.

    thanks Norm
    Let us know how it goes. Interested in how it works out re: speed.

  2. #22
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    I agree 2K is awesome on a good machine.

    Torsten, just for your info, smartdrv.exe is used to help disk access. It speeds up the file copying to a HD when in Dos. Without it running the install would take about 10 hours (no *****, I tried it once lol) Keep that info in mind when/if you ever have to do some disk intensive work while in Dos.

  3. #23
    Army of one torsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    55414
    Posts
    2,366
    another question:
    I'm at the partitioning screen. It says:

    c: FAT 2012 MB (1795 MB free)
    Unpartitioned space 2 MB

    I thought it was already partioned (1 primary) so what's with the big unpartitioned space?

    I only want 1 primary for the whole disk. I have to select one of the above 2 lines and set up 2000 on it, or create a partition in the unpartitioned space or delete a partition.

    That's confusing.

  4. #24
    SG Enthusiast twwabw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    LeRoy, NY, USA
    Posts
    2,472
    Delete the existing partition, then install into the new free space (aka: the entire disk)
    Observe everything...focus on nothing..

  5. #25
    Army of one torsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    55414
    Posts
    2,366
    a new one doesn't have to be created?

  6. #26
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    Select c:
    You'll be asked later if you want to format it.

    Don't worry about the 2mb, it's not enough to get worked up over.

    You realize that with a 2 GB drive win2k will just barely fit, and there won't be much room for any programs etc?

  7. #27
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    Originally posted by twwabw
    Delete the existing partition, then install into the new free space (aka: the entire disk)
    That'll work.

    Don't worry about formatting, it will be the next question in the install.

  8. #28
    SG Enthusiast twwabw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    LeRoy, NY, USA
    Posts
    2,472
    Sorry I hadn't checked back sooner- you could have saved yourself all this aggrevation by creating the four bootable install floppies from the win2K CD. Take the CD to another PC, browse to the "makeboot" folder, and run "makeboot.exe". It'll create four bootable install floppies, like the old NT set.
    Observe everything...focus on nothing..

  9. #29
    SG Enthusiast twwabw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    LeRoy, NY, USA
    Posts
    2,472
    No- don't select c:- DELETE the existing partition, and create a new one!
    Observe everything...focus on nothing..

  10. #30
    Army of one torsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    55414
    Posts
    2,366
    a little too late....
    I first selected c, but it said the unpartitioned space was required for Windows so... I went back and selected install in the existing space.

    Now I've gotten an error:
    "setup cannot copy the file: cdosys.dll"

    to skip press ESC
    to quit setup press F3

  11. #31
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    Yeah, sorry. I hope you followed TW's advice re: DELETE
    It makes more sense.

  12. #32
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    You can always start over

    If you have any CD cleaner it would be a good idea to clean that CD before you start.

  13. #33
    Army of one torsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    55414
    Posts
    2,366
    I quit setup and am gonna start over

    [edit] Back at the partitioning screen now. It says "D" for delete is an option, but pressing "D" does nothing. When the 1st line is highlighted, the only options at the bottom of the screen are install and quit.

    I checked the CD in sunlight. It's clean as can be.

  14. #34
    SG Enthusiast twwabw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    LeRoy, NY, USA
    Posts
    2,472
    IMHO, do yourself a favor, and make the boot disks, and start over. When you get to this point again, delete the c: partition, and install to new (whole drive) free space. It really will save you a lot of grief.
    Observe everything...focus on nothing..

  15. #35
    SG Enthusiast twwabw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    LeRoy, NY, USA
    Posts
    2,472
    2000 can be finnicky when installing to old pc's. That's why it's always best to use 2K's own boot disks, if you can't boot from CD.

    Norm's point is valid too- make sure the cd is clean, and blow the dust bunnies out of the floppy and CD drives before you start- if it's that old, I bet it's full.
    Observe everything...focus on nothing..

  16. #36
    Army of one torsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    55414
    Posts
    2,366
    OK, it's off to make the boot disks. Afterward, does that mean start without the Win 2k CD?

  17. #37
    SG Enthusiast twwabw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    LeRoy, NY, USA
    Posts
    2,472
    No- put the CD in the drive- the floppies will load temporary drivers to run the CD for the install process. Floppy No. 1 and CD in drives, then boot. Make sure Bios is set to boot from floppy first, if you changed or disabled that.
    Observe everything...focus on nothing..

  18. #38
    SG Enthusiast twwabw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    LeRoy, NY, USA
    Posts
    2,472
    Originally posted by Norm
    Personally, I'd go with 98 on that machine. 2k says a P233 is minimum, but ok to try it I guess.
    Me too- I agree with you. Actually MS says P166 is the minimum, but you're right.... it'll be a real dog. And, with minimum ram and a SLOW hard disk that it'll be paging to non-stop, it will probably be almost unbearable.

    But, hey........
    Observe everything...focus on nothing..

  19. #39
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    TW, it's a good learning experience if nothing else. I'm curious as to how it works out. I have a P166 as well and haven't tried 2k on it.

    btw - What will the difference be using the 2k boot disks? Won't they just end up running winnt.exe and take the user to exact same pages during the install?

  20. #40
    Army of one torsten's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    55414
    Posts
    2,366
    I made the disks and booted into disk 1. It copied all through disk 4 and then gave me a blue screen with an error:
    STOP: c0000221 Unknown Hard Error
    \SystemRoot\System32\ntdll.dll
    IF this is the first time you've seen this Stop error screen, restart your computer. If this screen appears again..... etc. etc.

    even Ctrl-Alt-Del did not work at that point, so I had to power down. I then booted without the floppies (but CD in). Now I'm back at the partition screen, but nothing's different. It still says I have the option to press "D" to delete a partition, but "D" produces no result. Again, at the very bottom of the screen it only lists "install" and "quit" as options. When I select "unpartitioned space" with the up/down arrows, my options change to "install" "create partition" and "quit"

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •