Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: boot problems

  1. #1
    Junior Member techman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    california
    Posts
    19

    boot problems

    My son and I had a strange thing happen. His computer was working fine the night before. The next morning he tried to boot and the fans came on but no post beep. After trying new memory and a new power supply, we took the board out of the case and set everything up on my work bench. It booted once. The second time gave 3 beeps but refused to boot. Pulled the plug out of the PS. Put the plug back it would boot. As long as we remove power to the board between boots it works fine. If you try to shut it down and reboot without removing the power, nothing but the fans. I have inspected for Case shorts and all the other usual. Set bios to both optimal and default settings. By the way, he did not have the troubleshooting leds that come with the board installed. I told him to do that, we will see when he does.

    Computer AMD xp 1800, MSI k266a pro board, geoforce 2 64 meg video, 40 gig HD. 400 watt PS.

    Bios problem?

  2. #2
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,231
    Could be a bad psu or mb going bad. what kind of psu do you have and is it old?

  3. #3
    R.I.P. 2022-05-29 Ken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 1969
    Location
    Tampa
    Posts
    12,209
    Yes, give some more power supply details... If you can get into BIOS, post what the rails are doing...

  4. #4
    Junior Member techman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    california
    Posts
    19

    power problem

    brand new power supply 400 watt atx.... old one was 250 watt atx. Replacing the power supply did not change the problem.

  5. #5
    Idolized Industry Killer §I€MFKR™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Asphalt Wasteland
    Posts
    3,567
    I've seen bad CMOS batterys do stuff like that. For the couple dollars i would toss one in there and see what happens. It looks like you already cut out alot of the hardware from the mix.
    Bone, Brain, And Co*k
    Silence For My Revelry

  6. #6
    Junior Member techman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    california
    Posts
    19

    rails?

    Ken, I am not familiar with the term "rails". By the way I talked to a fellow with the same problem but different mb and setup. Could this be a cpu problem? It runs fine once it is booted but you must shut down power by total disconnect. Any electrical engineers out there? I was wondering about some ground loop kind of thing.

  7. #7
    Junior Member techman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    california
    Posts
    19

    batteries

    Thanks, Hybrid, We will do that. The battery tested 3.4 volts. But who knows, worth a try.

  8. #8
    Idolized Industry Killer §I€MFKR™'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Asphalt Wasteland
    Posts
    3,567
    Yeah, You never know, It would make sense why the rig runs good after its running. And they only way to get it to boot is to remove all power.
    Bone, Brain, And Co*k
    Silence For My Revelry

  9. #9
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,231
    Im thinking the power phase contoller on the mb could be bad too.

  10. #10
    Forum Techie terrancelam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Toronto, Canada Computers Built and Fixed personally: 720
    Posts
    5,465
    hmmm..firstly Try clearing the c-mos. Maybe you enabled something that should have been. Usually when a motherboard won't turn on even though the fan spins, usually on of three things,

    A.) Cpu is dead/cpu fan plug isn't working; thus it doesn't allow the computer to run at all.

    B.)Videocard is dead/ not inserted properly.

    B.)Ram is not compatible, Dead or Not inserted fully.
    Intel Core 2 Duo Q8300 2.55Ghz (1333mhz)
    Asus P5N-D
    OCZ Platinum 8gb (2x2gb) PC8000 1000mhz 5-5-5-18
    EVGA 460GTX 1gb PCIE 2.0
    Western Digital Black 640gb x 2 Raid 0
    Coolermaster 1000W Modular PSU
    Antec NSK4480B
    Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

    ----------------------------------------------------------
    HP TC5700 (Thin Client) 1ghz, 512mb 80gb 1x1000mb NIC 1x100mb NIC running PFSense 1.22
    Linksys WRT-150 running DD-WRT V.24 (Access Point)

    "SG Techies rule!" - Sig Buddies with Amro

  11. #11
    Junior Member techman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    california
    Posts
    19

    re: dead motherboard

    CPU and motherboard can't be dead because if we reboot after shutting down power, it works ok.
    Hey, loop2kill, what does the power phase controller do?

    techman

  12. #12
    Senior Member loop2kil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    5,231

    Re: re: dead motherboard

    Originally posted by techman
    CPU and motherboard can't be dead because if we reboot after shutting down power, it works ok.
    Hey, loop2kill, what does the power phase controller do?

    techman
    M/b can be 'going bad' meaning its just a little flakey...but the power phase controller is what the uses to control what comes from the psu(i could be wrong here). But if that is going bad then the issues they are having would make sense.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •