Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 57

Thread: Questions Must Be Answered!

  1. #1
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206

    Questions Must Be Answered!

    Ok... im doing a little touch up on my computer... Video card, Audio card and case...

    Lets start out with my system specs:

    Pentium 3, 600 MHZ
    256 MB SDRAM
    Dell constructed machine with:
    Diamond Viper video card
    SoundBlaster Live!
    115 Watt POWERSUPPLY?!?!?!
    Normal Drives (CD-Rom, Zip, Floppy)

    So... Naturally, i want only the newest and greatest right?

    Well, ive outgrown my case, so i bought a new one, DUE TO ARRIVE TOMORROW...
    It will come with a 430 Watt PSU that i ordered with it...

    now, the first question is, will THAT psu (which says it is compatable with the processor type) be incompatable due to Dell fixings?

    So, i also want to get a Radeon 9700 Pro... Ive heard on this forum that it requires 400 Watts or more of power...

    Is that true? or can i run it with MY (current with 115 wattage?!?!?!) PSU...

    NOW... if the first question is a NO, and that last question was answered with a NO, then what am I to do about it?

    Get a NEW processor/motherboard (setting me back too much money to buy the new video card) or stick with my system now?

    Now: DIFFERENT QUESTION LINE

    I have a PSU on my computer, with 115 wattage... i can "flip a switch" that changes it to double, or 230 Watts... BUT my computer will not start up under that setting...

    So... PLEASE help me... i do need it so sorely... i want to transfer stuff to the new case TOMORROW ...
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  2. #2
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    really stupid question..

    why do you want a Radeon 9700 Pro with a P3 600?

  3. #3
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206
    because im lazy and i dont want a new MOBO or Processor cause i know nothing about it...
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  4. #4
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    you wont be able to fully utilize all the power (at least that's what I think not 100% sure)

  5. #5
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206
    fully utilize the power of the radeon?
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  6. #6
    Mac Master Mehmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley CA, The home of the hippies
    Posts
    4,764
    Originally posted by Hopeful
    fully utilize the power of the radeon?
    yeah.. almost everything in your current pc will be a bottleneck.. CPU, RAM, maybe HDDs too.
    "They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
    - Benjamin Franklin

    "Weapons of Ass Destruction"

  7. #7
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206
    cheap solution?
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  8. #8
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206
    cheap as in 300 dollars or less
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  9. #9
    Mac Master Mehmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley CA, The home of the hippies
    Posts
    4,764
    the cheapest i see..

    is, get an amd athlon XP.. and then get a mobo (ask for recommendations).. and get some DDR ram too..

    Now, heres the prob.

    Your gonna need to get a new vid card probably.. right? so.. either get a ti4200, or an 8500.

    ALSO!! case, PSU, and HDD's are a factor too. also, Heatsink/fan
    "They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
    - Benjamin Franklin

    "Weapons of Ass Destruction"

  10. #10
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206
    can you say... SHIZNIT?
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  11. #11
    Mac Master Mehmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley CA, The home of the hippies
    Posts
    4,764
    Originally posted by Hopeful
    can you say... SHIZNIT?
    yes, i am physically and mentally able to do so.. but, did i miss something? bad thing/good thing?
    "They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
    - Benjamin Franklin

    "Weapons of Ass Destruction"

  12. #12
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206
    ok... can you help me PUT THAT TOGETHER IN SOME THING THAT MAKES SENSE:

    IE: give me product names and links to the cheapest products to fufill what i would need?... lol... i just am mentally unable to summon such courage to do it on my own...
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  13. #13
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206
    dont just give me the newegg site... i know where it is
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  14. #14
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    hmmm

    touch over $300

    Thermaltake VOLCANO 7 15
    CRUCIAL MICRON 256MB 32x64 PC 2700 DDR RAM - OEM 64
    EPOX Motherboard for AMD Athlon/Athlon XP/Duron Processors, Model #EP-8K9A 87
    AMD Athlon XP 1700+ Thoroughbred /266 FSB Processor CPU 1700+/ 1.47GHz -OEM 49.99
    ATI OEM Sapphire ATI RADEON 9000 Atlantis PRO 128MB DDR 97


    damn re-read the thread and I forgot PSU/Case

    save another month then get it
    that would be a pretty good setup..

    not a lot of RAM (only 256) and slow proc (XP1700)
    but you have 256mb RAM now and a 600mhz Proc..so..

  15. #15
    Mac Master Mehmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley CA, The home of the hippies
    Posts
    4,764
    Originally posted by BaLa
    hmmm

    touch over $300

    Thermaltake VOLCANO 7 15
    CRUCIAL MICRON 256MB 32x64 PC 2700 DDR RAM - OEM 64
    EPOX Motherboard for AMD Athlon/Athlon XP/Duron Processors, Model #EP-8K9A 87
    AMD Athlon XP 1700+ Thoroughbred /266 FSB Processor CPU 1700+/ 1.47GHz -OEM 49.99
    ATI OEM Sapphire ATI RADEON 9000 Atlantis PRO 128MB DDR 97
    thanks bala.. was sorta tied up at the moment..

    might wanna change the crucial to samsung, and also, maybe change the radeon 9000 to an 8500 or a ti4200.
    "They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
    - Benjamin Franklin

    "Weapons of Ass Destruction"

  16. #16
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206
    you shure on all that? should i go and order it tonight>
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  17. #17
    Mac Master Mehmet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Location
    Berkeley CA, The home of the hippies
    Posts
    4,764
    Originally posted by Hopeful
    you shure on all that? should i go and order it tonight>
    NO. NEVER impulse buy (ithink thats what you call it)..

    sit on it for like a couple of days...

    Do you have a case and what not?i know you have a PSU.
    "They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
    - Benjamin Franklin

    "Weapons of Ass Destruction"

  18. #18
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206
    i'll have the case tomorrow
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  19. #19
    SG Enthusiast Hopeful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Sunny California
    Posts
    2,206
    i dont have a PSU compatable with Athlon....

    *edit* SHIZNIT again
    Originally posted by Burke
    eBay is like Terra Eleven, a vast wasteland that not even Peter Strauss could tame.
    P IV Processor 2.4 gHZ, ECS p4 motherboard, Windows XP, 512 MB of Ram, Radeon 9500 Pro, 60 GB WD HD, 20 GB IBM HD, Verbatim CDRW,

  20. #20
    Elite Member BaLa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    3MW5+WC Temple, Texas
    Posts
    14,382
    I'm sure but not that sure..LOL

    have patience wait for other ppls recommendations

    Mehmet; reason I went with 9000 PRO is b/c it's a pretty good price for the card and the TI4200 starts @117

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •