Thread: building system, need help :P

i hate you. no really. thechemgeek's Avatar

Question building system, need help :P

well, time i jump into the whitebox race. a friend asked me to build a computer. after explaining that i've never done that before...he said he didn't care. uhm...ok. well, it can't be that hard...so i'm going to try. like so many before me, i'm here to ask for your advice on hardware...vendors...etc.

actually, this is quite weird. my friend recently purchase a new computer (dell)...giving his old one to his daughter (in college). his new system has xp and frustrates the crap out of him. so, he wants another system to put old programs and games...with win95 or win98. also, for whatever reason he wants them networked. so, no option of dual boot with his current system...and the xp "win9* emulate" isn't working with the old software. mostly, he also wants a second system. he told me he'd spend a few hundred.

my thought is to get a piii 800...or so. he doesn't need the power system...but these old chips can't be that much anymore. i was also thinking to get a motherboard with everything on it, vidio....sound....network...usb...etc. he has no intention of upgrading anything on it...so these built on componets are ok. i believe i also need a modem, memory, hard drive, CD-ROM, floppy, case/power supply. ok, monitor, keyboard and mouse...but anything else? would a combo motherboard/cpu be the best deal? he already has a copy of win95 and win98. there won't be any overclocking, so no need to worry about that stuff.

i'd rather get everything online at one place. i recognize some names/vendors....i'm not a complete noob. i'm mostly looking for help on the motherboard...combo....thing. thanks!!!!

It depends, on what games he is going to play. He would probably be better off with an AGP video card, they are 45 dollars right now, for a tnt2... so that would be fine. You could get him the combo's like this: