Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 38 of 38

Thread: Frontpage and Quicktime help

  1. #21
    I'm using win2k pro, right now I just put all my files into the cd without creating any folders, is this what's causing the problem? I linked the autorun to the first page and just dumped the autorun.inf file into the cd together with the rest of the files, and I got that error. Please advise, thanks alot.

  2. #22
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,337
    what is content of autorun.inf?
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  3. #23
    Sorry for the late reply, was real busy with school and stuff.
    Anyway, the content was something like this:

    [autorun]
    open=start.exe page1.html

    I din know what to put for the folder name so I tried different options, none of them worked.

  4. #24
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,337
    missing the quotes.

    should be:

    [autorun]OPEN="start folder_name\page1.html"

    ONLY if page1.html is in a folder. If page1.html is in same level as autorun.inf, then it would be:

    [autorun]OPEN="start page1.html"
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  5. #25
    Ohhh ok, thanks

  6. #26
    Hmmm, it doesn't seem to work. This is the code I entered:

    [autorun]OPEN="contents.html"

    I just burnt everything onto a cd, there are no folders, what could be wrong?

  7. #27
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,337
    [autorun]OPEN="start contents.html"

    You need to specify what program OPENS. In this case, the program that opens is start.exe, but you need not use the .exe extension. You see, contents.html is not a program. And you cannot use OPEN IEXPLORE because IE is not on the CD. But because html files will be associated with a default browser, the program start.exe will execute the opening of the filetype in the associated program, the web browser that isinstalled on the users system.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  8. #28
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    [autorun]
    open=start anyname.htm

    'Anyname' can be any file in the root of the CD.

    The name of the file on the CD, and the name of the file called in autrun.inf MUST match.

    Autorun.inf itself MUST be in the root of the CD

    Use filenames 8 characters or less, with a 3 character extention.

  9. #29
    Thanks, I think I get what you're trying to say. Sorry if I sound dumb cos its sorta my first time doing this

  10. #30
    Hmmm still can't work, I tried
    [autorun]OPEN="start contents.html"

    and

    [autorun]
    open=start contents.htm

    it gives me an access to the specified device, path or file is denied. I'm sure the contents.html in autorun and the contents.html in my harddisk are the same, what could be the problem?

  11. #31
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    2 things come to mind.

    1. You need to be logged on as an admin, or power user.

    2. Possibly the start command isn't needed in XP. I don't see a start.exe in my XP installation.

    I'm going to run a test, since I haven't made a autorun.inf for XP yet. I use something alltogether different. I'll get back to you.

  12. #32
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    Ok test complete. Neither method works in XP. I get no error message, but nothing at all comes up. It works in 98 (the method I posted), but not XP.

    I took the start.exe from a win98 installation, and put it into the XP system32 dir, it works when I did that using the method I posted above. That's the best workaround I know of at the moment. Good for your own use, on your own machine, but no good on other machines unless you put the start command on them before inserting the CD.

    That's al I can tell you. XP must have did away with the start command for files other than executables. Not positive on that, but it looks that way.

    I use a different method that is a lot harder to grasp than a one line inf entry. Not something I have the time or desire to explain, sorry.

  13. #33
    Elite Member Norm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    14,133
    Another workaround that 'should' work in XP...

    Place the start.exe from a win98 installation in the root of the CD.

  14. #34
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,337
    I do believe a posted a link earlier in this thread to the MS site re autorun files. It can get complicated. If you want a 1-2-3 solution, try one of the freeware apps here:
    http://www.webattack.com/Freeware/sy...cdrtools.shtml
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  15. #35
    I don't have windows98, only have 2k and XP

    And I downloaded Autorun creator, it created an autorun file titled

    [autorun]
    open = contents.html
    icon =

    but it still doesn't work, sigh.
    Could be problem lie with the contents.html itself?

  16. #36
    Ok nevermind I sorta got it right, now I need help with a last problem: How do I link sound files to certain things in a html file?

    For example, I want this word to make a sound when I click on it; I already have the sound file in my harddisk, how do I go about doing it?

    Also, if I added background music, I need to add in a toolbar that can play/pause/stop the music, how do I go about doing this too?

    Thanks alot

  17. #37
    Elite Member TonyT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Fairfax, VA
    Posts
    10,337
    Here's my Audio Controls Code Generator:
    http://www.coolpagehelp.com/audio_controls.html

    To play a sound onClick you need to use javascript, unless you mean to launch the persons default multimedia app to stream the sound file, in which case you just link to the file.
    No one has any right to force data on you
    and command you to believe it or else.
    If it is not true for you, it isn't true.

    LRH

  18. #38
    How about if I wanna link a sound clip to a button that is already linked to another page? How do I go about doing it?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •