PDA

View Full Version : Motherboard suggestions (preferable with RD RAM)



Indiebands
12-02-02, 10:31 PM
I'd like to get a new semi cheap mobo and processor and a new case with a power suply and fans. Then use everything else I have. I have the orginal RD RAM of the 600-800 variety and would like to still be able to use that. Then use my existing cd drive, floppy, hard drive, sound card ect... if I can.

Now I did some research on my own and found an Abit TH7II mobo that works with p4 478 processors from 1.4-2.0 as well as my existing RAM. I also found a TH7II 1.5 P4 combo on pricewatch for $215 which includes the shipping. First of is that a good board? Is that combo a good price? Any other recomendations? I'd like to keep the total at bellow 300. I figure $215 then I can spend like $75 on a case or something.

Thanks in advance for any help given!!!

Qwijib0
12-03-02, 12:32 AM
Originally posted by Indiebands
I'd like to get a new semi cheap mobo and processor and a new case with a power suply and fans. Then use everything else I have. I have the orginal RD RAM of the 600-800 variety and would like to still be able to use that. Then use my existing cd drive, floppy, hard drive, sound card ect... if I can.

Now I did some research on my own and found an Abit TH7II mobo that works with p4 478 processors from 1.4-2.0 as well as my existing RAM. I also found a TH7II 1.5 P4 combo on pricewatch for $215 which includes the shipping. First of is that a good board? Is that combo a good price? Any other recomendations? I'd like to keep the total at bellow 300. I figure $215 then I can spend like $75 on a case or something.

Thanks in advance for any help given!!!


The th7II is a great board, though I believe it only works with PC800 RIMMS, limiting you to a 2.4. If that's all you're after, then great.

As for the processor, you WANT the northwood core. That means a 1.6a, 1.8a, 2.0a, 2.2, 2.4.

:)

Indiebands
12-03-02, 06:32 AM
Yea the website showed it to work with 600-800 which is fine with me. It also says it'c a 850 Based Pentium 4 478 ATX Mainboard. I've seen the 478 processors on Pricewatch, but does 478 mean it's the Northwood core? How can I know if it is??

Oh and yea it says it works up to 2.4 GHZ in the description of the mobo combo on pricewatch and that it comes with a 1.5. Looking I don't think the 1.5 is a northwood so I'd be better of buying seperate then?

Thanks again!

A_old
12-03-02, 10:54 AM
you should go 850e based so as to support pc1066.

Brk
12-03-02, 12:20 PM
Not to crap on the thread at all, ahem, ahem...

If you'd be interested at all, I have an ASUS P4T533 board and two 256 MB sticks of Samsung RIMM4200 1066 RDRAM just sitting in a box...in perfect conidtion, of course. I used a 2.53 P4 with these two and it rocked.

Mobo = $90.00
RDRAM (each) = $80.00

Or all together for $225.00 shipped. I'll even throw in a 3COM NIC and a 16x black Lite-On DVD drive as a freebie bonus.

Just to let you know...AHEM... :D

Duzmor
12-03-02, 01:35 PM
Originally posted by Burke
Not to crap on the thread at all, ahem, ahem...

If you'd be interested at all, I have an ASUS P4T533 board and two 256 MB sticks of Samsung RIMM4200 1066 RDRAM just sitting in a box...in perfect conidtion, of course. I used a 2.53 P4 with these two and it rocked.

Mobo = $90.00
RDRAM (each) = $80.00

Or all together for $225.00 shipped. I'll even throw in a 3COM NIC and a 16x black Lite-On DVD drive as a freebie bonus.

Just to let you know...AHEM... :D

That is a Good Deal !!!!

Duzmor:D :D

Duz !!

Indiebands
12-03-02, 01:51 PM
Yea but the point is I don't wanna have to buy new ram as to save me some cash. That's why this board was so attractive to me.

Qwijib0
12-03-02, 06:46 PM
Originally posted by Burke
Not to crap on the thread at all, ahem, ahem...

If you'd be interested at all, I have an ASUS P4T533 board and two 256 MB sticks of Samsung RIMM4200 1066 RDRAM just sitting in a box...in perfect conidtion, of course. I used a 2.53 P4 with these two and it rocked.

Mobo = $90.00
RDRAM (each) = $80.00

Or all together for $225.00 shipped. I'll even throw in a 3COM NIC and a 16x black Lite-On DVD drive as a freebie bonus.

Just to let you know...AHEM... :D

System failed memory test! System failed memory test!

Not to put this deal down or anything, but Brent's review of this board wasn't all that great-- and my friend used it at quakecon-- refused to boot every other time, with that lovely vocal alert. My P4T-E isn't the most stable board in the world, but I like it better than the P4T533. The P4T533C is a much better board.

Qwijib0
12-03-02, 06:48 PM
Originally posted by Indiebands
Yea the website showed it to work with 600-800 which is fine with me. It also says it'c a 850 Based Pentium 4 478 ATX Mainboard. I've seen the 478 processors on Pricewatch, but does 478 mean it's the Northwood core? How can I know if it is??

Oh and yea it says it works up to 2.4 GHZ in the description of the mobo combo on pricewatch and that it comes with a 1.5. Looking I don't think the 1.5 is a northwood so I'd be better of buying seperate then?

Thanks again!

Any chip below 2.0 without an "A" designation is NOT a northwood. The northwood runs faster and cooler than the willamette (earlier version).

You won't regret the northwood decision. They're probably making that attractive 1.5 deal to get rid of the willamettes.

Deus ex Machina
12-03-02, 07:07 PM
Originally posted by Qwijib0
Any chip below 2.0 without an "A" designation is NOT a northwood. The northwood runs faster and cooler than the willamette (earlier version).

You won't regret the northwood decision. They're probably making that attractive 1.5 deal to get rid of the willamettes.

An excellent point to heed. The Northwoods are also quite overclockable. I have personally taken 1.8a's between 2.2 and 2.4 GHz. I already have a 2.5 over 3.0, as other have on this site.

shant,
david

Indiebands
12-03-02, 08:05 PM
Ok then the only question I have left is will the Northwoods work with the Abit TH7II? If so I like the board and will be set on what to buy. I'll see where I can get a good price on the board and then just make sure I get a Northwood to go with it if they are compatable.

One other small thing. I need a case with a 350 supply and fans that won't break the bank. It doesn't have to be big as I don't need tons of bays. I'd just prefer a 350 supply with it instead of 300.

Qwijib0
12-04-02, 12:23 AM
Yep, the northwoods work fine on that board.