PDA

View Full Version : Help me Please

extreme
11-28-02, 09:05 PM
hey everyone, I just got done building my new rig:D but i have one issue. It says my harddrive is drvie G. Is there a way i can cahnge that to drive C. I need to change it so i can run some dedicated server:D

Please Reply

Thanks

oh my AIM is Extremex1212

cy
11-28-02, 09:10 PM
is that your only partition of the HD? or you got couple partition?

LT-73
11-28-02, 09:12 PM
Yep, sounds like you've got more than one partition.

Welcome to speedguide :D

Norm
11-28-02, 09:15 PM
You say "It says my hd is G.

What is "It"
Dos? Windows? Linux? A boot disk? What?

extreme
11-28-02, 09:19 PM
When I look in my computer is says that my HardDrive is G I am running win xp i dont know if it has only 1 partition (can you tell i am a noob lol) Do I need to change Some thing in BIOS. This is annoying the crap outa me:D

extreme
11-28-02, 09:21 PM
Oh how do i make more then 1 partition i am running win xp

Norm
11-28-02, 09:24 PM
You better list the Motherboard you used to make this rig, and any other parts, like how many harddrives you put in, and if they were new or used parts.

When you installed XP, did the install ask what partition you wanted to install to, and was there other options(partitions) than the one you picked?

Norm
11-28-02, 09:26 PM
Also, what other (if any) drives and letters are there in "My Computer"

extreme
11-28-02, 09:47 PM
It never asked me how much partitions i wanted

Here are the specs of my Rig

1.Wester digital hard drive 80gb 7200 rpm
2.Hi-val 56x cd-rom
3.AMD athlon xp 1900 (1.6ghz)
4.Floppy drive
5.Cd-rw 48x write 16x re-write 48x read
6.Netgear 32bit NIC
7.GeForce 4 Ti 4200 64ddr ram
8.PNY 256ddr DIMM (dual inline memory module)
9.Windows xp home edition
10.Soyo kt 333 dragaon Ultra (platinum edition)

The other Drives are
A=floppy disk drive
c=removeable disk drive flash media
d=removeable disk drive scandisk
e=cdrom drive
f=cd-rw drice
g- hdd(hard drive)

I think that is about it