Intel P4 2.8gig 512kb cache
Asus P4S533 mobo
Western Digital 100gb HD w 8mb cache
512mb of memory ( 2 - 256)
ATI Radeon 8500 128mb video card
Lite on 48x24x48 burner
Lite on 16x 117 dvd
19" LG monitor

Powered it on...here the beep for no error during post, see the asus screen then the set up screen with the time at the top but then it shuts down??

Not sure where to look....thanks:)

downhill
11-27-02, 06:57 PM
Read my pm yet?

Suzie
11-27-02, 07:08 PM
Originally posted by downhill
Read my pm yet?

I'm there, check yours:)

SLK
11-27-02, 08:59 PM
oh yea, hurry and get to bios and disable Fan Alert under PC health status. U using a low rpm fan 3 pin, or 4 pin(Power Supply connector)?

mwkirchner
11-27-02, 09:17 PM
Originally posted by downhill
Read my pm yet?

Is there any way the rest of us in here might be able to know what caused this? I am just learning the ins and outs and was following this only to see "did you read my PM?"

I would very much like to know what would cause the problem she was having ... if you do not mind sharing that info.

downhill
11-27-02, 10:17 PM
Sorry and your right of course...Suzie had pm'd me some time agou about some suggestions on building a puter...how hard is it, what parts and so forth....when she powered it up, I wasn't home and had sent a pm pior to reading this thread....:)

Suzie is just starting to power her puter up..No post errors on the first power up, all fans spin but..

She can't seem to get to the bios. As soon as she boots to it, it gives her a floppy drive error.

My guess is that she has the cable backwards for the floppy. She's probably done for the night......To be continued. :)

Maybe someone else has a suggestion.

She's using the Asus P4S533-E, I believe.

The fact that it posts without errors is testimony to her attention to detail......wooohoo..Suzie!

mwkirchner
11-27-02, 10:30 PM
Thank you Downhill ... I will keep my eye on this thread. Will be interested to find out what actually happened.