PDA

View Full Version : Shut down ???? Just Restarts



Cameron203
09-14-02, 12:23 AM
Ok guys need some help. I got a comp that I just stuck a mobo in and hooked up threw win 2000ntpro on it and when I shut it down it restarts after being shutdown for about 3 sec. Any suggestions???

cy
09-14-02, 12:26 AM
More specs?
Did you make sure all the connections are secure?

Cameron203
09-14-02, 12:30 AM
I think you misunderstood me the computer doesn't just restart on its own. When I go to start menu shut down and and then select shut down the computer shuts down (turns HD off and everything) then restarts. What could be making it do this?

I thought there was a setting in the registry I.E. changing value to like 1 or something to fix this ?????

LT-73
09-14-02, 05:46 AM
Try resetting the cmos. Happend to me with an FIC board. After i reset the cmos, it would shut down properly.

Hope this works for ya

Cameron203
09-14-02, 01:44 PM
I just disable ACPI screw it. I have xp on my other comp and with ACPI enabled it would idle at like 21% w/o it it idles at 1%

Disabling ACPI I think is actually better because it clears up IRQ piggy backing

LT-73
09-14-02, 05:59 PM
As long as it werks ;) Great job !

A_old
09-14-02, 06:17 PM
i would have removed doubles from device manager..and let windows reinstall (doubles of system devices, cdroms, etc.)

A_old
09-14-02, 06:18 PM
but what the hell do i know?

LT-73
09-14-02, 06:42 PM
Originally posted by Amro
but what the hell do i know?


Hey amro, you're still the big kahuna of techs ! :nod: :D ;)