PDA

View Full Version : RAID Benchmark...?



BMED
09-10-02, 12:17 AM
Is this any good for a Raid Benchmark?

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/bmed/ata133_c.bmp

Two Maxtor, ATA133, 7200rpm, 80GB, on an ASUS A7V133 with Promise FastTrak TX200 controller running under the 66MHz PCI max. @33MHz. room for improvment, of course!

SCSI seems to be left behind...

terrancelam
09-10-02, 01:18 AM
usually PCI based RAID cards give the best performance compared to their onboard brethern.

onetrueday
09-10-02, 02:26 AM
Originally posted by terrancelam
usually PCI based RAID cards give the best performance compared to their onboard brethern.

hardware pci raid cards do I agree, however after a lot of research I have learned that software raid cards really arent worth it.

Mark
09-10-02, 05:49 AM
BMED, you may want to try diskspeed 32 and atto for benchmarks get them here (http://home.tampabay.rr.com/snakepit/tools/benchmark%20tools/)

YARDofSTUF
09-10-02, 08:29 AM
looking good, never ram a sisoft test on my radi, will do now tho.

YARDofSTUF
09-10-02, 09:17 AM
i got 45124, so i'd say yes u have a good score!

gieslel
09-10-02, 09:46 AM
Nice marks.

BMED
09-11-02, 01:04 AM
This Promise controller is set-up for a 66MHz PCI bus, my ASUS (A7V133) is only at 33MHz...which is holding me back!!!

Does the ASUS A7V333 have a 66MHz PCI bus? Do you have any recommendations for a new MB that will give me the full potential of the Promise card?

When I run ATTO or HDTach, they show me at 50% of my 133MB/sec. potential...need/want a better MB!


The Need for Speed,

BMED

onetrueday
09-11-02, 02:21 AM
Originally posted by BMED
This Promise controller is set-up for a 66MHz PCI bus, my ASUS (A7V133) is only at 33MHz...which is holding me back!!!

Does the ASUS A7V333 have a 66MHz PCI bus? Do you have any recommendations for a new MB that will give me the full potential of the Promise card?

When I run ATTO or HDTach, they show me at 50% of my 133MB/sec. potential...need/want a better MB!


The Need for Speed,

BMED

Actually... it isnt your pci bus that's holding you back. The fact that you're using a software based raid card is holding you back. That's why your score are only a little better then an onboard setup. So, instead of spending 150 on a new mobo spend it on a hardware based raid card and you'll see the scores you want.

UnitedWeStand
09-11-02, 02:23 AM
you want a board with Raid 133 ATA right?
http://www.ocworkbench.com/2002/asus/a7v333/a7v333p1.htm
You read the review..
now here is a decent price...
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2051929109#BID1


$15 Shipping (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2052018630#BID1)


take a look at this one.. Its a Abit MOBO. (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2051916493)

YARDofSTUF
09-11-02, 05:29 AM
i dont see where he's being held back...

Mark
09-11-02, 05:54 AM
BMED,

can you post a screen shot of atto and diskspeed 32 for comparrison ?

YARDofSTUF
09-11-02, 05:55 AM
snake whats ur sandra score?

Mark
09-11-02, 05:58 AM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
snake whats ur sandra score?

every time i go to run it , it just stops, how long does it take you to run sandra ????

i let it run once for 15 minutes and never finished :confused:

HongKongPolice
09-11-02, 08:24 AM
Uhh.... a normal 33Mhz 32bit PCI bus can transfer upto 133MB/sec, even a Raid0 setup with the FASTEST IDE drive out there right now (WD Special editions) will only substain a transfer of around 90MB/sec, and only on the OUTER tracks.

As for the software/hardware Raid remark. If you're using a Raid Card, then its HARDWARE raid, software raid is something done @ the OS level, Windows2k can do software raid.

Now there are better raid cards than these cheap Promise and Highpoint POSes, professional Raid cards can cost over a few grand, and doesn't require any CPU usage, those might give you an extra 1MB/sec or something, but thats about it.

Whats limiting you are the HARD DRIVES. Maxtors aren't known for the best performance. If you have the $, you can try a 4 drive Raid0 setup, but then that WILL be limited by the PCI bus, because substained transfers could go upto 160MB/sec.

Truth is, substained transfer rates doesn't help THAT much in overall drive performance, cuz most of the time, its the seeking that is slowing you down.

YARDofSTUF
09-11-02, 09:19 AM
Originally posted by the snake
every time i go to run it , it just stops, how long does it take you to run sandra ????

i let it run once for 15 minutes and never finished :confused:

dl teh newest one, i dunno i leave it adn go do somethign for 30 mins or so and come back

Mark
09-11-02, 10:44 AM
finally got it to run, i have seen higher scores on my system with other tools..............
http://files.joako.com/sandrabeforedefrag.jpg

YARDofSTUF
09-11-02, 12:28 PM
all 3 of us about the same

Scott
09-11-02, 07:51 PM
You probably want to try running it thru the windows disk cache..............

BMED
09-11-02, 11:51 PM
Originally posted by the snake
BMED,

can you post a screen shot of atto and diskspeed 32 for comparison ?

I haven't ran diskspeed yet...

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/bmed/ata133_b.bmp

http://mywebpages.comcast.net/bmed/ata133_a.bmp


I don't feel as though I am going to notice any real change unless I start video editing or some other appz that require a faster throughput.

The reason I purchased the Promise raid controller card is because I plan on upgrading my MB & RAM. I don't what another on-board RAID controller for my new MB...why? just because! I am looking for one that has a 64bit/66MHz PCI bus, just haven't found it yet!

BaLa
09-12-02, 01:44 AM
BMED I don't think you will find a reg board w/64bit 66mhz PCI Slots

you will need to look for server (dual proc boards)

BMED
09-12-02, 03:03 AM
Originally posted by BaLa
BMED I don't think you will find a reg board w/64bit 66mhz PCI Slots

you will need to look for server (dual proc boards)

after tonight's research, I think you're correct...I may just go with the ASUS, A7V333.

Thanks,

BMED

Thor Walez
09-12-02, 03:47 AM
Who needs serial ata ... got burst of 150 with my raid0 *loves it*
http://img1.ranchoweb.com/images/666pandur666/hdtach.jpg

I need to defrag it ... but it is 16k/16k ntfs ... what program is needed ?!?!
-Thor :cool:

Mark
09-12-02, 05:10 AM
wow Thor Walez, how did you get such a high burst rate ? the highest i have ever got was about 103MB.

YARDofSTUF
09-12-02, 06:37 AM
its his IBM drives taht will fail on him some day :p

Thor Walez
09-12-02, 10:00 AM
Originally posted by YARDofSTUF
its his IBM drives taht will fail on him some day :p

:p :p triple Xtra cooled :p :p

working 4 me nearly 2 years :cool: :D

-Thor

Thor Walez
09-12-02, 10:04 AM
Originally posted by the snake
wow Thor Walez, how did you get such a high burst rate ? the highest i have ever got was about 103MB.

I do not know it...
After I got the PCI 32/64bit Promise FT-TX2000 it jumped...

I need to defrag the drive but it is 16k/16k :o :(

-Thor