PDA

View Full Version : Which Mobo



Paindriver
09-07-02, 11:05 PM
I am gonna be getting the Athlon XP 1600+ and plan on overclocking. This system will be used for a little gaming and Internet Surfing.

Help me choose one of these Mobo's:

1.)Epox 8k3a w/ RAID

2.)MSI KT3 Ultra2(6380E-050) Retail

3.)ECS K7S5A SiSŪ 735 SOCKET A MOTHERBOARD - RETAIL (Is this a decent overclocker?)

4.)Soyo SY-KT333 DRAGON Lite ATX Motherboard Retail

5.) Other?

cy
09-07-02, 11:47 PM
For overclocking take away the ECS as your choice. Soyo will not do a better job than the MSI and Epox either. But one more you would want to consider is the Abit KX7-333 :)
Other than that, if you want to be able to gain some major speed from OCing, try and see whether you can get an "AROIA Y" stepping XP1600+. I've seen other people on sites able to reach 1.8Ghz from the XP1600+(Stock 1.4Ghz) and here, LT-73 have one running stable on Abit KX7-333 1.4Ghz@1.9Ghz :D:D

YARDofSTUF
09-08-02, 12:16 AM
Epox 8k5a3+

LT-73
09-08-02, 12:29 AM
Abit or Epox :D

As Cy jusr mentioned, don't bother with ECS. They're great boards but not for overclocking.

Either the Epox 8K5A+ (which is the new 8K3A) or the Abit KX7-333 (which i have) or 333r (Raid)

I give my board 5stars !! Best board i've ever had and it rocks !!!

Don't go for anything else. These 2 boards are the top players in oc'ing ! ;)

Paindriver
09-08-02, 12:33 AM
thanks guys...

Just ordered:

-AMD Athlon XP 1600+
-Abit KX7-333R
-Volcano 9
-Case Chieftec DX-01sld
-Some Rounded Cables

:)

LT-73
09-08-02, 12:36 AM
Originally posted by Paindriver
thanks guys...

Just ordered:

-AMD Athlon XP 1600+
-Abit KX7-333R
-Volcano 9
-Case Chieftec DX-01sld
-Some Rounded Cables

:)

WTG !! Lemme know when you get it and i'll help ya tweak it so it'll scream ! :nod:

(lemme know if you wanna get rid of that 8K3A ;) )

Paindriver
09-08-02, 12:47 AM
Originally posted by LT-73
WTG !! Lemme know when you get it and i'll help ya tweak it so it'll scream ! :nod:

yeah i will need help tweaking it for sure.



(lemme know if you wanna get rid of that 8K3A ;) )

Actually this AMD 1600+ will be my secondary cpu setup. The setup in my sig is just my pure gaming rig;)

LT-73
09-08-02, 02:28 AM
okey dokey :D