PDA

View Full Version : Need Recommendations on OC'ing...

HawaiianGhost
09-07-02, 10:28 AM
I've never used a mobo with "jumperless mode" before and I don't want to "fry" anything just yet. My last mobo was a Giga-byte 7IXE4 that had no OC'ing ablities whatsoever but FSB dipswitches.

Now I upgraded to the ASUS A7V333 and a stick of Samsung DDR333 defaulting @ cl2.5-3-3-6. Everything is still set@default in BIOS as far as voltage/clocks go. I am still stuck with an Athlon T-bird 1.1Ghz CPU (L1-unlocked w/pencil trick) that's showing a multiplier of 11 as default. Stuck with this until the Athlon XP 2200-2600 have a decent price.

So what do you suggest or where (sites) can I go to see some good examples of OC'ing this T-Bird on this mobo. Thanks in advance....

LT-73
09-07-02, 10:37 AM
Its pretty easy once the cpu is unlocked.

Why don't you drop the multi to say around 10
Then start raising the fsb in increments of 5

Also you might want keep an eye on the vcore and vdimm. If you start to get lock ups, not bsod's, then raise the vcore up a notch and the vdimm as well.

If you get bsod, then back off a little bit. that's pretty much it.

Once you've got the max from the cpu, and fsb, try your memory timings a bit more agressive.

Run Toast or 3Dmark to see if it's stable and that's it !

I dunno about examples, you just gotta feel the board out. Don't go crazy upping the fsbs and voltages too fast !. Just go alittle bit at a time, 5 increments at a time until you've reached the peak.

Good luck and have fun ! :D

HawaiianGhost
09-07-02, 10:49 AM