PDA

View Full Version : Question about flashing the Bios



Cameron203
09-04-02, 11:02 PM
Here is the Motherboard it is a Tekram P5T30-B4 http://www.tekram.com/Hot_Products.asp?Product=P5T30-B4

Ok I am upgrading the processor in it but the compatibility chart here http://support.tekram.com/support2.nsf/c521b34a1d4c33298825684c007fadf2/4a19f0adf5c2f4b28825684d00110faa?OpenDocument says that it is compatible with the AMD 366mhz only with the 1.4 Bios update but the only Bios update featured for that computer is the 1.12 here http://www.tekram.com/updates.asp?Product=P5T30-B4 Can someone tell me If i am overlooking something here

Norm
09-04-02, 11:22 PM
Originally posted by Cameron203
Here is the Motherboard it is a Tekram PT530-B4 http://www.tekram.com/Hot_Products.asp?Product=P5T30-B4 Probably just a typo on your part, but I did notice you said "Here's the mobo it's a PT530-B4, and then you link to a P5T30-B4.

Just a typo, or is that what you may have overlooked?

Cameron203
09-04-02, 11:53 PM
Sorry norm just a typo

Norm
09-05-02, 12:15 AM
Hey, no need to be sorry. It was only a typo :D
It was worth a shot.

I don't know that mobo so I can't really help you. I didn't notice anything more than what you already mentioned from those links. Be careful though, you don't want to flash a bios with a file that doesn't suit it, or wasn't made for it.

Someone may have more info for you later, be patient.

Cameron203
09-05-02, 12:45 AM
Hey norm i found the problem the mobo was revision 1.4 not the bios anyway i upgraded the bios to the newest version and the computer would not shut down so i went back to old version

Hey another question it says the mobo supports
System Memory:
(4) 72-pin SIMM Sockets
(2) 168-pin DIMM Sockets
Maximum 256MB RAM
EDO DRAM, Fast Page Mode SIMMs and SDRAM DIMMs

But when i put two 64 mb dimm sdram 168 pin in it will boot up but will not load the OS any thoughts?

Norm
09-05-02, 12:52 AM
What error did you get?
Was it a windows protection error ?

Probably one bad ram stick, try one, then the other and see if one is bad.

Cameron203
09-05-02, 01:24 AM
That was it the ram was bad. Sh*t that sucks. The ram I was testing was pulled from a computer that was suspected of being hit by lightening so I am wondering if everything is bad in it. Only one way to check I guess.